Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

An extra room in the house

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Location, quality of room, and staff.
Cons: Details...
Location: Aside from the Catholic Church next door and Shops across the street, it's 30 minutes to Oakland and less than an hour to San Francisco by BART.
My sister came down to the East Bay for three days and since we don't have an "extra" room, Econo Lodge provided a nice one. They are still in the transition from the old (whatever it used to be) to the new so there are minor issues like an unplugged VCR in the room awaiting a trip to the eCycle center but none of the little things amounted to a hill of beans, This facility is right next to a newer Catholic Church and across the street from a very nice shopping center. The staff is friendly and efficient. The location is great and access to the freeway is a snap. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because of the minor details the staff will take care of in the next few weeks.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right off of 580 and of course ok

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Micro wave and fridge in the room. Flat screen TV and HBO
Cons: A little more organization would be helpful
Location: right up the street from down town Castro valley. Also right off of 580
I stayed at the hotel and used there meeting room. The staff was not familiar with someone using there room . They where totally un prepared for even a small event like the one I held at there property. I had to help setup the room to meet my needs. The staff was at least apologetic about the matter. They did do there best with what they could do. So in the end I would use their facility again .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
If you can afford to spend a few more bucks go someplace else. This place is really shady at night
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southern CA

Not good

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Location good but not hotel.
Hotel very run down. We had to kill two spiders on the wall. Molding on tub falling off. I wouldn't even shower. Bathroom sink cracked. Floor dirty in corners. Holes in blanket and sheets very old. Furniture very beat up and very old. If I hadn't already paid for it through Expedia I would have gone somewhere else for the night. Will Never return there.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jim from Riverside

Don't bother

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our room had sticky carpets, sticky door handle on the fridge, and it was dirty (GROSS!). The service was poor or non existent. Our window screen fell off during the night and broke (very windy). I had tried to get a nicer place to stay, but because of high school graduation, we couldn't get a room elsewhere. I never want to stay there again. For what I paid don't expect more than a clean room and some semblance of caring about the place. Here I found neither. Hotels.com should remove them from your available hotel list.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Suzanne from Castro Valley, CA

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was very disappointed when I first pulled in to register seeing two "recycle sized" garbage cans OVERFLOWING with pizza boxes and with bags with left behind garbage from former guests, I would assume. The jetted bathtub was not clean and the king sized bed was "thrown" together. I always bring my own pillow so I was covered on that but truly wondered if I was getting cleans sheets or where the ones from the last client. I slept on the top sheet without a blanket. Thank God it was warm enough to sleep in my bathrobe to be warm. As this note indicates, I will never plan to stay there again and would not recommend it to any one else!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by World Traveler from Oregon

Don't Waste Your Time

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Really shabby place, even for the price. The staff didn't seem to care that the temp. in my room was 85 deg. and the air conditioner didn't work.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Stephen from San Diego

Use somewhere else

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
A non-smoking facility, my room reeked of cigarette smoke, but it was the only room available since I arrived late.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Rick from Castro Valley

Don't do it! Way over priced for conditions.

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We recently completed our stay & I must say; we are completely shocked that this hotel is even listed as an option on Hotels.com. Hotels.com is just a site for reservations & this is absolutely NOT their fault but they shouldn't be listing this place as an option to consumers.This place is absolutely terrible. First off, this must be family owned because there was a complete lack of professionalism. For pete's sake there's a rocking chair at the front desk for the receptionist to sit. The pool was out of order with no one working on it or an eta when it would be available. Temperatures were in the mid 90's during our stay. The room had a cracked sink. We ran into 2 separate issues with the toilet flooding. The TV has a built in VHS player----VHS!!! There was no parking and I was told to park in a fire lane overnight. (In a red zone) The furniture is quite dated and scratched. The maid only fixed the bed the entire time, never changed the sheets!!! It makes you wonder if they change them at all. In one of the car stalls a vehicle is out of order (flat tires) & looks like it's been sitting there for years. The layer of dust all over it was too thick to tell. My feeling is $85 a night is a rip off and I should be demanding 1/2 of my money back but instead I am going to report this further to make sure that this place should even be open at all.