Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Smoking smell at non smoking room. Holes on blankets. White Hairs on the sheet. Not ours. Bugs... Too much noise from refrigerator ......
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am disheartened to read of the the cleanliness issues and the odor in your room. Please know that I will be meeting with my housekeeping staff to share your feedback with them and to review our cleanliness standards so that this does not happen again. As well, I will be working with my front desk staff to ensure that we are better informing all guests of our non-smoking rooms policy. Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Hotel was clean and quiet. I wish that there would have been a coffee maker in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your clean, quiet room; however, we are disappointed that you were not informed that coffee makers are available at our front desk. We store them in a sterile environment to ensure that they are clean and functioning properly. We will work with our front desk staff to make sure we are fully informing our guests of our available amenities during check-in. Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: ok
Cons: ok
Location: san francisco, sausalito, oakland
good great fantastic.............................................................................................................................................................
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to read that you had such a great stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Don't stay here

Posted Jul 30, 2014
I guess I didn't read the fine print when I booked this place. They only clean the rooms, change the sheets and change the towels once a week. I was told I had to pay an extra $10 a day for these services. They did graciously offer to "swap out" my towels if I brought them down to the front desk. (Can you imagine lugging a bunch of wet towels around a hotel?!) They did not provide shampoo! When I called about it they said I could come down to the front desk and get some. (I don't think they charged me for it, though.) The room had a musty odor to it. It's probably better to stay somewhere else
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are sorry to hear that you were not notified of our cleaning policies during check-in. We will work with our staff to make sure we are fully informing our guests of our policies during check-in. Thanks to feedback like yours, we have also recently started providing shampoo in all rooms for our arriving guest. We will meet with our housekeeping staff to address the odor issue and ensure our rooms smell fresh. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: The setting
Cons: Cleanliness and having some of the usual amenities in the room on arrival
Location: Alameda is a very cute community.
We had a check in / reservation problem (only showed one room but we booked 2 through Expedia). It may have been an Expedia error not the hotel's, but we don't know. The Front Desk agents were very polite and helpful and worked to get the problem resolved. One of the two rooms was not clean when we arrived. Toe nail clippings on the carpet and sink in the bathroom not clean. They do not clean rooms while you are in house and you have to ask for every amenity, including hair dryer and coffee maker, which was inconvenient. The setting was beautiful though. Right by the marina with a nice walking path.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are sorry to hear that you had an issue at check-in but are thankful that our staff was able to resolve it in a timely manner for you. We are sorry to hear that your room's cleanliness did not meet your expectations. We will continue working with our housekeeping staff to ensure every room is up to our standards. We are sorry for the inconvenience of having some amenities located at the front desk. We do this to make sure that everything is working properly and cleaned to our standards. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
2 out of 5
by der0bmi from Elk Grove, CA

Bad experience.

Posted May 31, 2014
Overall we had a bad experience. Stood for just one night. Didn't expect much but wow this place is just horrible. How do you shower with no complimentary shampoo, conditioner, etc. The necessary items given in any hotel was not given. Just a bar soap. The shower made a loud noise that vibrated the toilet water, the whole bathroom actually. Sounded like something was going to break down. The lamp by the bed did not work. The TV was small, positioned in a weird way. We're not much to complain or to call one of the employees so we just went through with it and left as soon as could in the morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I apologize for the issues you experienced with your shower. As well, I am sorry that the lamp in your room did not work. I will be meeting with our maintenance staff to ensure these issues are properly addressed. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better stay in the future.
2 out of 5
by Chris

i would try stay somewhere else

Posted May 27, 2014
Cons: staff and the shower
some staffs here had really bad attitude, not all of them! i remember a kind staff as well. the shower made super loud noise and i was worried if it will fall off on my head while i am taking shower. I would not like to stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Chris - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We appreciate you letting us know about the issues you were having with the shower head in your room. Please know, since your stay, we have received new shower heads to ensure this is not an issue moving forward. As well, I am sorry that some of our staff did not provide you with great customer service. This is not something that we tolerate, and has been dealt with to ensure it is not a problem moving forward. Thank you again for your feedback. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

beautiful parking lot

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel seems to cater to men in the trades who travel long distances and stay for weeks or so while working in the East Bay. That's fine. Unlike some other extended stay hotels the kitchen has some of the pots, pans, etc you might actually want to use if did cook there. The place seems well kept up, but isn't new. The location can be hard to get to with the looping approach required because it sits behind the tunnels that link Alameda to Oakland. I stayed in a first floor room that was perfectly acceptable, but the single window opened up right onto the parking lot. Sure, someone has to get those rooms, but you can do your best to make sure it isn't you. You have to keep the blinds shut tight or expose yourself to anyone trying to park. Also, what might have been a nice view from an upper floor was not a nice view of anything by tarmac and pickups. Very satisfied, otherwise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms with fully equipped kitchens at a great value. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and it will help us in our efforts to continually improve our hotel. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was great except for the horrible front desk guy who checked us in. Terrible slow and not customer service centric.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I’m so pleased to learn that you enjoyed our overall accommodations. Still, it upsets me to hear that the level of professionalism displayed by some of our staff members did not meet your expectations. In response to your feedback, I will meet with the entire staff to review our guest protocol to ensure your experience is not repeated. Again, thank you for the comments. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Queen Ru from California

Finally got a view!

Posted Apr 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Have stayed here several time. I arrived in the middle of the night. (VERY early am). They finally gave me a room with a view of of the water. We LOVED it!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. It's great to hear that you love our property and you have stayed with us several times. For future bookings, please know, you are always able to request a room with a view of the water. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.