Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: The setting
Cons: Cleanliness and having some of the usual amenities in the room on arrival
Location: Alameda is a very cute community.
We had a check in / reservation problem (only showed one room but we booked 2 through Expedia). It may have been an Expedia error not the hotel's, but we don't know. The Front Desk agents were very polite and helpful and worked to get the problem resolved. One of the two rooms was not clean when we arrived. Toe nail clippings on the carpet and sink in the bathroom not clean. They do not clean rooms while you are in house and you have to ask for every amenity, including hair dryer and coffee maker, which was inconvenient. The setting was beautiful though. Right by the marina with a nice walking path.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are sorry to hear that you had an issue at check-in but are thankful that our staff was able to resolve it in a timely manner for you. We are sorry to hear that your room's cleanliness did not meet your expectations. We will continue working with our housekeeping staff to ensure every room is up to our standards. We are sorry for the inconvenience of having some amenities located at the front desk. We do this to make sure that everything is working properly and cleaned to our standards. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
2 out of 5
by der0bmi from Elk Grove, CA

Bad experience.

Posted May 31, 2014
Overall we had a bad experience. Stood for just one night. Didn't expect much but wow this place is just horrible. How do you shower with no complimentary shampoo, conditioner, etc. The necessary items given in any hotel was not given. Just a bar soap. The shower made a loud noise that vibrated the toilet water, the whole bathroom actually. Sounded like something was going to break down. The lamp by the bed did not work. The TV was small, positioned in a weird way. We're not much to complain or to call one of the employees so we just went through with it and left as soon as could in the morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I apologize for the issues you experienced with your shower. As well, I am sorry that the lamp in your room did not work. I will be meeting with our maintenance staff to ensure these issues are properly addressed. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better stay in the future.
2 out of 5
by Chris

i would try stay somewhere else

Posted May 27, 2014
Cons: staff and the shower
some staffs here had really bad attitude, not all of them! i remember a kind staff as well. the shower made super loud noise and i was worried if it will fall off on my head while i am taking shower. I would not like to stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Chris - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We appreciate you letting us know about the issues you were having with the shower head in your room. Please know, since your stay, we have received new shower heads to ensure this is not an issue moving forward. As well, I am sorry that some of our staff did not provide you with great customer service. This is not something that we tolerate, and has been dealt with to ensure it is not a problem moving forward. Thank you again for your feedback. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The staff was very accomodating and helpful.

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Location and nice facility
Great location and the staff was helpful through a difficult situation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that the staff was helpful through a difficult situation. As well, I'm glad that you enjoyed our convenient location during your visit. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable stay with kitchen, nice location.

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: Great location. Beautiful walking/running path along the marina right outside the door. Very nice to have a kitchenette. Free parking.
Cons: Staff seemed confused and not overly friendly. Breakfast was coffee, apples, granola bars and packaged oatmeal.
Location: Ten min drive to park&ride BART station Lake Merritt. Grocery shops close. Oakland and Berkeley close. San Fran 45 mins by transit or car
We had booked a 5 night stay to visit San Francisco and area. Loved the location. Room was clean and had a nice kitchen with stove top and full-size fridge. Exercise room tiny with one treadmill and one bike, but nice view over the water. Loved the area with the houseboats nearby, which had lovely gardens along the running/walking path. I would highly recommend a walk!! View over the water with the marina is gorgeous, and the nearby business area looks interesting. Along the path is also a 'parkour' exercise area with benches and bars, and instructions. Very convenient to reach downtown San Francisco, as well as the major highways to all of the Bay Area. Room lay out was slightly weird - massively wide bathroom door that blocked the width of the kitchen when open and felt like it opened the wrong way. Fridge door opened the wrong way (open from the left when it was pushed up against the wall on the left). The guest next door with a barking dog that kept us awake two nights in a row, and the staff were unable to do anything as they couldn't go in, and couldn't reach the occupant. Only on the 3rd night was this solved. When another guest asked for more towels they were not treated very friendly. There seems to be only one person on staff at any one time, and this person is often absent from the front desk as they also seem to do all the hotel's laundry. Breakfast 'on-the-go' was not very good. However, we got a great rate for the stay, so I was happy overall.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that the staff was not friendly and the customer service you received fell short of your and our own expectations. I have shared your comments with our staff and have retrained them to ensure your experience is not repeated. Still, we are happy to know that we were able to provide a clean and comfortable stay for you. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future, should your travels bring you back to the area.
1 out of 5
by Michael

Terrible. Moved hotels after one night.

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything
I reserved a nonsmoking room for multiple nights but when I showed up, was given a smoking room without any mention of the fact it was a smoking room. I confirmed with the front desk that I had reserved a nonsmoking room and was told there were none available and it was "no big deal". I consider it a health issue and yes, indeed, a big deal, and I don't consider it a hotel's prerogative to simply ignore my reservation on this matter. Give me two single beds instead of a king or an interior room instead of one facing out and I'm perfectly understanding but this was unacceptable to me. I found the dismissiveness of the hotel's disregard about the smoking/nonsmoking issue very insulting. It was very late, so I couldn't change hotels immediately but I did so the following day. When I checked out, I was merely told Expedia had contacted them but again, no apology for the issue. Clearly they genuinely think a smoking and nonsmoking room is no significant difference. I do & I think many others would as well. I will add that once I'd seen the room, I found it to be filthy. Extended Stay hotels often don't do cleaning on a day-to-day basis but should at least do so between guests. To my eyes, it seemed they had not. Then again, the room had such a stench about it that one could hardly tell. I moved to a cheaper Comfort Inn & THAT seemed like a huge step-up.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It was disheartening to read that we were unable to provide you with a non-smoking room due to our availability. Our guest's safety and comfort is our top priority, so to hear the attitude of our staff did not convey this is unacceptable. I have shared your comments with the staff and coached our associates to ensure your experience is not repeated. Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel or any of our other brand locations in the future to provide you with a better experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
For an extended stay this very convenient, the hotel is well kept and front desk service polite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Andrew from Idaho

Great location, poor hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
On the waterfront in a very quiet location. Have stayed there 3-4 times and will be my last. Hotel is just in poor condition and each previous time had been relatively clean, but this time was not. Dirty dishes, something gross and sticky on the blanket...thank god I didn't have a black light with me. If you are trying to save money and still want a good location, it is a decent choice but just be ready for a mediocre hotel and hope it's clean enough for you. The service staff are quite nice. The breakfast is meager, don't count on it unless you are OK with packaged muffins and granola bars because that is all you will get.