Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Disappointed!

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: As mentioned above, the view of the marina.
Cons: It needs to be updated and cleaned. They could start with better, cleaner bedding.
Location: Nice view of the marina.
I expected a nice, clean room - something like a Holiday Inn Express. Instead, the room was run down and not very clean. I stayed one night, only because it was late, and checked out early the next morning. The only good thing I can say about the experience is that I had a nice view of the marina.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Quiet location, nice staff, towels a little too rough, had to wash the utensils before use.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Port Washington NY

Had to take out my own garbage, no clean up.

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Location, clean and quiet.
Cons: More information about extended stay hotels before booking a room. Services are limited.
Location: Location was perfect for my trip. nice area and safe. 20 min. to the city and easy access to freeways.
Had to pick up coffee maker and glasses at the desk. they would not deliver them to the room. No pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Ray - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and your clean, quiet room. Still, I apologize that our staff did not deliver your kitchen supplies to your room and that we do not have a pool for our guests to enjoy. Your comments will be helpful as we continue to improve our guest experience. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better stay in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GDL

Posted Oct 1, 2014
The hotel's rooma has bad smell, and not so clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies regarding your experience with us. I will make sure to meet with our housekeeping staff to ensure that the rooms are being maintained to our cleanliness standards. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

reasonable location, but room was musty

Posted Aug 25, 2014
We were looking for a place to stay while moving our freshman son into UC Berkeley. We booked late, so this was the best-value location we could find on the way, that was halfway between Oakland Airport and the Berkeley campus. So far so good. Though the lobby is nice, the room seemed quite old & tired in terms of furnishings and surfaces. And, there was a musty smell in the room, especially in the bathroom. We tried to air it out, but didn't seem to make that much difference. And, the breakfast included in the price was pretty sad: nothing fresh, everything pre-wrapped, and not even cream for the coffee, just artificial creamer. Overally, the room was tolerable; and overall this was a reasonable value and pretty convenient location (though a bit out of the way, since we needed to go thru tunnels under the water to get to Alameda from the freeway). Though it wasn't a terrible experience, we woudn't stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you found our location convenient. Our grab and go breakfast is designed to be something you can grab as you are going out the door and off to work, or flights, etc. and be able to carry along with you. We apologize that it did not meet your expectations. Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Smoking smell at non smoking room. Holes on blankets. White Hairs on the sheet. Not ours. Bugs... Too much noise from refrigerator ......
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am disheartened to read of the the cleanliness issues and the odor in your room. Please know that I will be meeting with my housekeeping staff to share your feedback with them and to review our cleanliness standards so that this does not happen again. As well, I will be working with my front desk staff to ensure that we are better informing all guests of our non-smoking rooms policy. Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Hotel was clean and quiet. I wish that there would have been a coffee maker in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your clean, quiet room; however, we are disappointed that you were not informed that coffee makers are available at our front desk. We store them in a sterile environment to ensure that they are clean and functioning properly. We will work with our front desk staff to make sure we are fully informing our guests of our available amenities during check-in. Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: ok
Cons: ok
Location: san francisco, sausalito, oakland
good great fantastic.............................................................................................................................................................
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to read that you had such a great stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Don't stay here

Posted Jul 30, 2014
I guess I didn't read the fine print when I booked this place. They only clean the rooms, change the sheets and change the towels once a week. I was told I had to pay an extra $10 a day for these services. They did graciously offer to "swap out" my towels if I brought them down to the front desk. (Can you imagine lugging a bunch of wet towels around a hotel?!) They did not provide shampoo! When I called about it they said I could come down to the front desk and get some. (I don't think they charged me for it, though.) The room had a musty odor to it. It's probably better to stay somewhere else
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are sorry to hear that you were not notified of our cleaning policies during check-in. We will work with our staff to make sure we are fully informing our guests of our policies during check-in. Thanks to feedback like yours, we have also recently started providing shampoo in all rooms for our arriving guest. We will meet with our housekeeping staff to address the odor issue and ensure our rooms smell fresh. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Loretta B. from Gilroy

Great Stay For A Cruise on a Commodore Cruise

Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were going to my nephew's wedding on The Merlot Ship which he booked through Commodore and this was a great location. The hotel itself is okay. The hotel staff was friendly but the door handle to our bathroom was broken and their was a strange smell in the room. The room did appear to be clean. The grab and go breakfast was muffins, fruit, oatmeal ad some granola bars. Like I said for us it was the location.We walked over to the ship from the hotel and at the end of the night when the wedding was over it was nice to have a short walk back to our room. We would stay here again if we were going to another event through Commodore.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Loretta - We want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We appreciate you letting us know that your door handle was not working correctly; we have since fixed the issue. We are sorry for this inconvenience, but are happy to read that we provided you with a convenient location for your nephew's wedding cruise. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.