Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fresno, CA

Business trip to Oakland

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: Most everything
Location: The location is close to downtown Oakland and close to the freeway (880). Good restaurants nearby (try Ole's in Alameda for breakfast - great!)
Second time in a week I've stayed at this hotel and still very pleased with the accommodations. Room was clean, bed very comfortable and great staff. Bathroom is very spacious and clean. I loved the suite with the separate living room area with its own TV. Great when you have a husband who gets up in the middle of the night to watch TV! Would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Great Location

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Decent adequately stocked breakfast buffet.
Cons: Yipes, the price for this class of hotel!
Location: Lots of restaurants close by and a pin ball museum where you can play pin ball for $15 for all day.
My wife and often stay here at this hotel when we visit our son in Oakland. It is close to many restaurants and coffee shops that you can walk to. The Mexican restaurant across the street is worthy of your patronage. The hotel has free adjacent parking and WIFI which is always to pleasant to learn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fresno, CA

Business trip to Oakland

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Pretty much everything. Staff was very helpful and friendly.
Location: I was there on business but we did go to Jack London Square for dinner which was very close.
Hotel was great. Very nice room on the 3rd floor - very quiet. Bed was comfortable and I love the way the sheets are done so you are not touching the comforter. Bathroom large and really clean. They gave us a flyer with restaurants (with directions from hotel) that was very helpful. I would definite stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2015 by Selma B., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are glad that you liked our hotel. We hope to see you again next time you visit Bay Area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2015
The Hawthorn is an amazing hotel. It's probably the best hotel I've ever been to!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by stevenfrom Bay area

best of the lot of modest accommodations

Posted Feb 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
In comparison to the other hotels in Alameda, while a bit overpriced, it is one of the cleanest and is quiet and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 31, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stayed here while visiting USS Hornet and Alcatraz

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Cons: Didn't like the mandatory $100 charge when checking in even though room was prepaid. Still pending in my bank account 3 days later.
Location: USS Hornet, SF, Alcatraz
Room was awesome. Very clean and I'm picky. Not a creepy location either. Nice restaurants close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Loves the comfortable beds and cleanliness of the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Corneliafrom fresno

Covers not tucked in

Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was great except the top sheet was not tucked in and I had cold feet. I have to remember to tuck in the sheet before I lay down at your hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Donaldfrom Stockton

Below Expectations but convenient

Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were expecting a Jacuzzi, and a couple divided rooms with a bed in each, two of the reasons that we picked the suite, and two reasons we were disappointed: the Jacuzzi was being serviced, and the beds were together in the same part of the suite. They wanted to hold on our credit $100 for just in case which caught us off guard on our budget, and the note we left with hotels.com when we booked it wasn't addressed, the request for AAA discount if they had one was said to only be applicable through the main website. The rest was OK, it was a convenient location. The rating of 3 out of 5 overall, if these categories were addressed, is generous considering.