Ratings based on 170 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2015
The Hawthorn is an amazing hotel. It's probably the best hotel I've ever been to!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stayed here while visiting USS Hornet and Alcatraz

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Cons: Didn't like the mandatory $100 charge when checking in even though room was prepaid. Still pending in my bank account 3 days later.
Location: USS Hornet, SF, Alcatraz
Room was awesome. Very clean and I'm picky. Not a creepy location either. Nice restaurants close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Loves the comfortable beds and cleanliness of the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Corneliafrom fresno

Covers not tucked in

Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was great except the top sheet was not tucked in and I had cold feet. I have to remember to tuck in the sheet before I lay down at your hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Donaldfrom Stockton

Below Expectations but convenient

Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were expecting a Jacuzzi, and a couple divided rooms with a bed in each, two of the reasons that we picked the suite, and two reasons we were disappointed: the Jacuzzi was being serviced, and the beds were together in the same part of the suite. They wanted to hold on our credit $100 for just in case which caught us off guard on our budget, and the note we left with hotels.com when we booked it wasn't addressed, the request for AAA discount if they had one was said to only be applicable through the main website. The rest was OK, it was a convenient location. The rating of 3 out of 5 overall, if these categories were addressed, is generous considering.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom esco, ca

pretty nice, particularly for the area it seems

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Cons: more blankets in room
room was as it should be for this type/level establishment
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ca

very very nice

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: clean and near to our visiting spot
Cons: more regulaar parking places
Location: sooo close to the alameda flea market
usually stay at hampton inns but this was so much closer to where we were visiting. nice hotel but the compact parking spots are ............
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Consistent and Adequate

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Limited options in Alameda, this hotel is consistently decent. Breakfast is decent, would be nice to have some other options for healthy food not heated up from frozen bags. Staff is friendly, hotel is clean and has gotten better since they banned smoking. Probably about the best most consistent option I've found in Alameda.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin TX

Best Hotel in Alameda

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: The convenience of location.
Cons: Alloow small dogs.
This hotel is consistently clean and welcoming. It is conveniently located to restaurants, shopping, and ferry landing. The staff goes above and beyond for its patrons; all are always polite and helpful. I always stay at the Hawthorn Suites when visiting the Oakland/Alameda area. An additional perk is that there is always fresh brewed coffee available.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good enough

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Nothing fancy. Free breakfast. Free parking. Comfortable bed.