Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unreasonable hidden fees

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Pillows were nice; Bed was comfortable
Cons: Front desk and manager should improve their customer service.
Location: Move-in for Berkeley
I booked and paid for this hotel via Expedia for a certain amount of money. We booked the room for two nights for four adults. However once we had arrived the first night, a the hotel staff informed us that we "exceeded the number of adults" despite having two adults and two college students above the age of 18. Apparently, the staff insisted that we pay an additional "$10 per night, per additional adult" and that this was "Holiday Inn Express Policy". We clearly requested for a room for four adults. Expedia policy states that the "reservation was non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed". Henceforth, we were forced to pay $40 during check-in. As an IHG Rewards Diamond Club Member, this has never happened to us before and was a very unpleasant experience. Would not recommend this particular hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Had a great stay. Everything was wonderful. Plan to stay there again later in July.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jennifer from california

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was very happy with my stay here. The room was clean and very comfortable. I slept well in the bed. It was so comfortable that I recently ordered a set of the holiday inn pillows for my own bed at home! Overall I felt there was everything I needed (hairdryer, additional mirror, fridge, microwave, and I loved that it came with makeup remover wipes). The service at the front desk was excellent as well. They gave us a list of good restaurants and were very helpful and courteous. There were also fresh cookies in the lobby and the breakfast was nice too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Tom from Salt Lake City

Perfect hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
As expected from other reviews, we were very pleased with this hotel. The breakfast was excellent (the cinnamon buns are MUCH better than the standard sweet rolls one gets at other complimentary breakfasts) and offered a large variety of options. The beds were excellent, the towels were soft, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the location was easy to get to. The easy access from the interstate was accentuated by the fact that we were only able to stay at this hotel for two of our three nights. Thus, our third night was at a Hampton Inn in downtown Hayward. While the comfort level between these hotels was about the same, the Hampton Inn was more difficult to get to and more expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michelle from Idaho

Visiting our son.

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Our son moved to Castro Valley and we went down to visit. He gave us names of two hotels close by and we chose the Holiday Inn Express. Our room had two double beds and a couch/sleeper. This was really handy because we could come back to the room and visit with him and not be on the beds. It felt good to have a home base. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was basic- fruit, cereal, pancakes and various muffins. And different additions each day. But it worked for us - a simple, healthy breakfast before starting out for the day. And we enjoyed the patio just outside the breakfast room. There is not the shopping and action of San Francisco or Oakland, but it was perfect for being near our son and then heading out for sight seeing. We would use it again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Local college visit from Torrance, CA

CSUEB College visit

Posted Feb 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was perfect in every way (Cleanliness, service, amenties, and location). We arrived @ 1AM and everything we had requested (allergy free room) was taken care of in advance. The front desk was very accomodating and also assisted us with directions to the university we were visiting, and recommended local restaurants. The morning breakfast had a great selection of foods to help us get on our way for the days events. Highly recommend staying here, and we will definately be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: a little noisy
Staff was very helpful and cordial.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ana from Oakland

A place to consider

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
My parents (both seniors) stayed at the Comfort Suites this weekend (October 24-27). They loved the hotel and commented on how quite and clean the room was. They were very pleased with the food and said they would definitely return. Unfortunately, I had a less pleasing experience with the Comfort Suites staff. Being that my parents are both seniors, I assisted with their check-in and check-out process. When my parents checked-in on the evening of October 24th, the staff managing the desk gave us the wrong room. We did not know it was incorrect until we walked into the guest already assigned to the room! Then during check-out on Sunday the 27th, the staff managing the desk refused to give me a receipt. I always pre-pay hotels via http://hotels.com and I always receive a receipt when checking out of the hotel to confirm any charges posted to my account. I am not sure whey Comfort Suites does not provide a receipt at check out. I was not impressed with the staff working this past weekend.