Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Clovis, CA

Convenient location.

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was quite good.
Cons: The "handicap" seat in the shower was a bit awkward to move around.
Location: The location was a comfortable distance from our destination.
Very nice accommodations and convenience for visiting our grandchildren. The staff was most cordial and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unreasonable hidden fees

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Pillows were nice; Bed was comfortable
Cons: Front desk and manager should improve their customer service.
Location: Move-in for Berkeley
I booked and paid for this hotel via Expedia for a certain amount of money. We booked the room for two nights for four adults. However once we had arrived the first night, a the hotel staff informed us that we "exceeded the number of adults" despite having two adults and two college students above the age of 18. Apparently, the staff insisted that we pay an additional "$10 per night, per additional adult" and that this was "Holiday Inn Express Policy". We clearly requested for a room for four adults. Expedia policy states that the "reservation was non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed". Henceforth, we were forced to pay $40 during check-in. As an IHG Rewards Diamond Club Member, this has never happened to us before and was a very unpleasant experience. Would not recommend this particular hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Britneyfrom Las Vegas

Family Reunion

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
We came for a family reunion. Hotel was a bit pricey but it was worth it to have a comfortable, clean room to come back to. The breakfast was really yummy and saved us on eating out. We have a big vehicle and there wasn't much parking for us. Mostly compact cars. Overall we enjoyed this hotel and would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

End of Vay-K stay

Posted Jul 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rooms were clean (a must), the staff was great-very friendly, helpful, and informative
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Had a great stay. Everything was wonderful. Plan to stay there again later in July.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jenniferfrom california

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was very happy with my stay here. The room was clean and very comfortable. I slept well in the bed. It was so comfortable that I recently ordered a set of the holiday inn pillows for my own bed at home! Overall I felt there was everything I needed (hairdryer, additional mirror, fridge, microwave, and I loved that it came with makeup remover wipes). The service at the front desk was excellent as well. They gave us a list of good restaurants and were very helpful and courteous. There were also fresh cookies in the lobby and the breakfast was nice too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Tomfrom Salt Lake City

Perfect hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
As expected from other reviews, we were very pleased with this hotel. The breakfast was excellent (the cinnamon buns are MUCH better than the standard sweet rolls one gets at other complimentary breakfasts) and offered a large variety of options. The beds were excellent, the towels were soft, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the location was easy to get to. The easy access from the interstate was accentuated by the fact that we were only able to stay at this hotel for two of our three nights. Thus, our third night was at a Hampton Inn in downtown Hayward. While the comfort level between these hotels was about the same, the Hampton Inn was more difficult to get to and more expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michellefrom Idaho

Visiting our son.

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Our son moved to Castro Valley and we went down to visit. He gave us names of two hotels close by and we chose the Holiday Inn Express. Our room had two double beds and a couch/sleeper. This was really handy because we could come back to the room and visit with him and not be on the beds. It felt good to have a home base. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was basic- fruit, cereal, pancakes and various muffins. And different additions each day. But it worked for us - a simple, healthy breakfast before starting out for the day. And we enjoyed the patio just outside the breakfast room. There is not the shopping and action of San Francisco or Oakland, but it was perfect for being near our son and then heading out for sight seeing. We would use it again.