Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Royal Oak, MI

Affordable hotel with lots of perks.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Cons: Our room smelled a little. We thought it smelled like cat pee, then we realized it was a pet friendly hotel. The beds are uncomfortable.
Location: Not much to do within walking distance. You have to drive.
We really enjoyed our stay at Homewood Suites. First, the good things…. 1. The staff is very friendly. 2. Breakfast is included every day. This includes some very good hot food, as well as a variety of other choices. 3. Dinner is included Monday through Thursday! And that also includes beer and wine! And the food is actually pretty decent. I recommend if you don't already have dinner plans, this is a good last minute choice if you are tired and just want a free meal. 4. There's a pool and hot tub. We didn't use it, but it looked very nice. 5. There's coin laundry, which is nice. 6. The price. This place is extremely affordable for all it offers. The bad… 1. The location isn't ideal. It's right next to a busy freeway. However, the other side of the hotel is located right on the waterfront of a marina so that makes up for it. I would definitely say getting a waterside room is a MUST. 2. This place is also pretty far from the city, and you'll have to pay the toll ($5 or $6) every time you cross. If we go to San Francisco, I don't think we will stay in this hotel, just because of proximity. But if you plan on driving a lot and want to save money, it's really a great deal. 3. Our bed was very uncomfortable and my husband and I had back problems for a majority of the trip (and I never have back problems). Overall, this place is a great deal for a traveler on a budget, and the place itself is very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel with all of the comforts of home

Posted Jun 4, 2014
The Hilton Homewood Oakland has been our home away from home since our daughter began college at UC Berkeley in 2011. Staff like Josie and Cindy have treated us like family through the years. The rooms are always impeccably clean and spacious with kitchenettes containing coffemaker, microwave, toaster,refrigerator, and stove. The complimentary daily breakfast and breakfast crew is just awesome, and I love the fact that there is hot plain oatmeal and fresh fruit. The complimentary dinner is served hot and delicious Monday - Thursday, and my only complaint about dinner is that we do not get to dine in the hotel at night, because we are usually out and about. Also, the Hilton should consider having rubber shower mats on hand, as the showers can get a little slippery. On this past trip to see our daughter graduate from Cal, I am even further impressed by the Hilton Homewood, as accommodations for our party of four (4) were excellent. We were upgraded to studios, and my Mother's room was on the water side. Although, we were on the freeway side, the rooms are virtually soundproof, a sign of quality. I am also grateful for the diffused A/C system that is whisper quiet, as I cannot tolerate loud A/C systems that blast your face while you sleep. All in all, I am extremely picky about hotels, and after staying at at the Hilton Homewood, I do not care for even the 5-star hotels in San Francisco as they do not have the conveniences of home that I need.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Larry from MI

Nice hotel on the bay

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff and very helpful
Cons: Was very satisfied
Location: San Francisco, Golden Gate Bridge
Had a very enjoyable stay. Enjoyed the breakfast and the dinners during the week.Staff was very helpful with the planning of my stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Breakfast Staff extremely rude

Posted Feb 16, 2014
While at breakfast, I asked one of the staff about supplies (mugs & forks). Another gentleman in front of me was also asking about fruit. When asking about mugs, the staff member looked at an empty tray and sarcastically answered "Well apparently not." She then proceeded to ask my why I couldn't just use the paper cups? I mentioned they tasted like wax but that if there weren't mugs available that it would be fine. She proceeded to argue with me about how the cups didn't have wax. In an effort to stop the confrontation I repeated it was fine & I would grab a paper cup. (The mugs then magically appeared from the back after I sat down with my paper cup.) A few minutes later I went to look for a fork. There were only spoons and knives. I got in line to ask about forks behind a gentleman speaking with this same staff member. The gentleman was asking about fruit - there were just a few pieces left in the dish. This same lady proceed to snap at him with "there's fruit right there". He explained it looked looked a little bruised (which it did, it was squishy from being on the bottom of the dish). She proceeded to huff & puff at him about how she didn't see why he couldn't take what was left in the dish. The gentleman gave up & went to his seat with out any fruit. I then asked if there were forks? I was told that "they were in the dishwasher & I would have to wait." I sat down, & again the forks magically appeared along with the fruit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Robert & Betty Hightower from Homewood Suites Hilton Oakland Ca

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had an excellent stay at the Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
The office staff was very helpful, very attentive. The front desk was extremely accommodating. And the location was great - right off the water!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Barry Saiff from Philippines

Excellent value, home-like feel

Posted Nov 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed 7 nights. I got a great deal on a Queen Studio Suite. Very spacious room. Large refrigerator, microwave, 2 burner electric stovetop, kitchen sink, dishwasher. Kitchen table, couch, desk, comfy chair. I have a very restricted diet so having a full kitchen is great for me. They also have included breakfast every morning and dinner Mondays through Thursdays. I never made the dinner. Breakfast would be great for most people but had nothing I could eat. It includes hot items, such as an egg souffle the day I tried it. Tip: The best way to get to the hotel is to take 880S to the 16th/Embarcadero exit, then turn left. Or take 880N to the 23rd Street exit, then turn left at the first point where you have a choice. You can get lost easilty taking other routes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2013
Pros: breakfast
Location: the location fit our needs very well, as we had a family event close by. Oakland has many fun places to go to - like Fenton's Creamery.
Everything was very nice. The freeway view and noise was not bad. The patio areas outside the marina were very relaxing. The complimentary breakfast was delicious and substantial. The bed itself was too soft and squishy and the pillows were also squishy, so I didn't sleep well... otherwise, it was all a very good overnight stay. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay, but I don't know if I'll stay

Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was nice the only problem I had was when I book the motel thru Hotel.com I wanted to book the cheapest standard room and the sight wouldn't let me saying that it was sold out. So I had to book the studio suite to stay at this hotel ($30.00 more per night). Ok fine prepaid for the room. Upon entering room I notice that the room was a lot smaller then expected and the kitchenette no where in sight. I realized that they had placed me in a standard room. I double checked the reservation that I had booked and went down the list of missing amenities. I called the front desk to complain. The guy questioned me like I had mad the mistake. They fixed the problem by placing us in a handicap suite (#140) that was right next to the electric room. (It makes me wonder how many people do they get over on). This was the noisiest room ever. I don't know what was going on but it woke us up out of our sleep about ever half hour. SMH