Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in Oakland, Ca

Posted Nov 18, 2014
This hotel had the nicest, friendliest staff. Very courteous. I had them call me a can and the cab company was very late. So a staff member drove me in the hotel can to my destination (to meet my daughter, whom I was visiting.). The can is usually used for various hours in the morning and evening. This was outside of those hours. The front desk was super helpful in anything I needed to know or any need I had. And there plenty! Breakfast was lovely. Very clean dining area and sweet staff working on food. One morning I saw a staff meme dr cleaning all of the tables-on her knees getting every nook and cranny with a bucket of water, sponge and knife to get the crud off! I never ate the dinners there because I was out with my daughter. But what a nice service to offer. The room was very spacious and comfortable. Lovely balcony with a view of the water. Lovely patio with nice wooden tables and umbrellas for eating outside. Right near the water and walkway along edge of water. The decor is a bit dates in the room but that is the only negative. I spent hours trying to find a nice hotel in Oakland. Had stayed at the marriott convention center before and it was nice, but they were all sold out. This hotel was quieter and more personal. I was there for four nights so they got to know me. I will definitely stay there again. Nothing in the Bay Area is cheap but this.was worth the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

EXCELLENT HOTEL TO SEE SAN FRANCISCO AND NAPA .

Posted Nov 7, 2014
THE BREAKFAST WAS A BONUS. EASY ACCESS TO FREEWAY AND MUNUTES TO JACKLONDON SQUARE.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Barely OK

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Place needs to be revamped-- rooms are old and hallways are dreary and smelly. we got poorly treated because we booked through Expedia rather than through the hotels website. low class room in the worst location, overlooking a 8 lane noisy interstate highway.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth it

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Very disappointing experience. We felt like we were treated differently because we booked through Expedia. We won't make that mistake again. The hotel room was poorly laid out. Smaller than we were led to believe. Bed was comfortable. Room was clean. Very noisy from freeway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2014
I chose this hotel based on its proximity to the start of the Oakland Triathlon not expecting to become a repeat guest but I am definitely staying here for any of my Bay Area adventures. The room was clean, had everything we needed and with a Starbucks and a 24Hr Subway right next door we were set. The morning breakfast had everything you could need to start your day. The staff was very pleasant and the view from our room across to Alameda was beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Nice, accommodating management. Clean room. Only drawback was couch bed was terribly uncomfortable. Will be back
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but lacking some services

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed for a week after a longer stay in another Homewood suites. It is a nice hotel but lacking some services expected. The location on waterfront is nice, but other than that it is not in a nice neighbourhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dimitrifrom Tampa FL

waterfront Gem in Oakland

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
this was "home away from home" experience! We absolutely loved this place, its located on a waterfront facing Alameda island across the waterway. Even though its located close to shady Oakland neighborhoods, immediate surrounding area is very clean and safe, there is major reconstruction of the waterfront all around, so it will be even better in the future. I think there is a police station next door since we always saw cops hanging around, adding even more to sense of security in the area. Access to I-880 is very easy, which leads to all Bay Area destinations. Ferry access at Jack London square is 2 min away, park the car and take a ferry to SF, better and cheaper than driving to SF in a car. Hotel has fresh good quality breakfast every morning and even free dinners on some days, although I never had a chance to try those. Plenty of places to eat around Oakland, especially if you like authentic Vietnamese food, which is abundant in this area. Overall, the say was fantastic, would do it again in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Royal Oak, MI

Affordable hotel with lots of perks.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Cons: Our room smelled a little. We thought it smelled like cat pee, then we realized it was a pet friendly hotel. The beds are uncomfortable.
Location: Not much to do within walking distance. You have to drive.
We really enjoyed our stay at Homewood Suites. First, the good things…. 1. The staff is very friendly. 2. Breakfast is included every day. This includes some very good hot food, as well as a variety of other choices. 3. Dinner is included Monday through Thursday! And that also includes beer and wine! And the food is actually pretty decent. I recommend if you don't already have dinner plans, this is a good last minute choice if you are tired and just want a free meal. 4. There's a pool and hot tub. We didn't use it, but it looked very nice. 5. There's coin laundry, which is nice. 6. The price. This place is extremely affordable for all it offers. The bad… 1. The location isn't ideal. It's right next to a busy freeway. However, the other side of the hotel is located right on the waterfront of a marina so that makes up for it. I would definitely say getting a waterside room is a MUST. 2. This place is also pretty far from the city, and you'll have to pay the toll ($5 or $6) every time you cross. If we go to San Francisco, I don't think we will stay in this hotel, just because of proximity. But if you plan on driving a lot and want to save money, it's really a great deal. 3. Our bed was very uncomfortable and my husband and I had back problems for a majority of the trip (and I never have back problems). Overall, this place is a great deal for a traveler on a budget, and the place itself is very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com