Ratings based on 670 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for UCB

Posted Apr 13, 2014
This hotel is very convenient for UC Berkeley visitors and decently priced. It doesn't hurt that Top Dog is just a block away!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely little boutique hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Hotel Durant was a lovely place to tuck in during a rainy weekend in Berkeley. The staff is friendly and the rooms are cozy and comfortable. The complimentary coffee in the lobby disappears too early, but the lobby itself is very cool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best location for visit Berkeley students.

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: Best location, Wonderful and helpful staff, a very comfort and clean room!!!
We have a wonderful time to stay this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michelle from Gilroy, CA

A great place that is deep hear of Berkeley.

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: The location, service.
Cons: the food was good, drinks were good….no not at this time
Location: Shopping, poetry readings, plenty of restaurants, nightlife, shopping
The room was tasteful decorated with a definite nod to Cal Berkeley. Food and drinks their were great. I had a slice right next door and that was great as well. The staff was fun and helpful, the room pristine, a definite stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Melissa from Bakersfield,CA

Great location! Very Charming!

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Great proximity to the university and decor very representative of Berkeley culture. The attached bar/restaurant had a lively atmosphere and the staff
Cons: The only downside would have been the size of the room itself.
Location: Great cheap eats everywhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by mrao from LA

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
People in the room next door made a lot of noise all night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice place, though the room was very small. They were renovating and that might be why the radiator produced a banging noise periodically
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Las Vegas traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Undergoing well-needed renovation

Posted Dec 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is currently undergoing a badly needed renovation. When I checked in at 1:30am, I was given a room with a broken toilet, so that I had to move in the middle of the night. My room was not made up the following evening when I returned from a day out, and when I told this to the staff, the first reaction was to figure out how this might be my fault ("Did you leave out the Do Not Disturb sign?") -- hardly the appropriate reaction for a professional management team. The clock was missing. The television get going randomly dead in the middle of the news. Guests are provided with every amenity that does not matter (such as bottles of water for $5 to the hotel's selected charity), but nothing that does matter (such as a sink large enough to brush your teeth). Look, it's a historic hotel in the heart of UC Berkeley, and you don't necessarily expect it to be up to modern standard. Let's hope the renovation gets the hotel over the hump, which would also be improved by a real, professional staff that does not seem to be students filling in with part-time jobs.