Ratings based on 615 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Fresno, CA

UGH!!! DON'T STAY HERE!!! THOUGHTLESS RUDE PEOPLE!

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: I don't think this hotel can improve unless they fire all their staff
Location: Dirty street, area not good
I arrived at hotel late as I drove in from out-of-town and had problem finding the hotel. When approaching the registration desk the first greeting was where was my I.D. and "we need a card to hold $100 for incidentals." This room was paid for in advance and this was a business trip for me. I arrived at 11:30 p.m.. Because I did not have the business credit card on me, they would not allow me to have the room. I booked this through Expedia. I ask for the manager and the person told me she was the manager. I had to stand outside in the cold, call Expedia, and have them find me another hotel in Oakland. This was THE WORST EXPERIENCE I HAVE EVER HAD AT ANY HOTEL AND I AM A 63 YEAR OLD GRANDMOTHER WHO HAS TRAVELED BOTH PERSONAL AND BUSINESS. DON'T STARY HERE!!!!!!!!!!! This being their initial greeting, I can imagine what their service on other areas might be.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bethesda, MD

Remodeled Classic

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Clean and well run. Pretty. Close to Bart and Cal.
Location: Zillions of great restaurants and bars. Lots of weird and wonderful shopping and people to watch. Many homeless and sketchy people-hey, it's Berkeley
Beautiful classic mission architecture with a very modern, green remodel. In the heart of funky Berkeley (which might not be appealing to some). Next to Bart for easy access to SF, Oakland, SFO, etc. Good restaurant and bar. Small-ish rooms. Great staff, great hospitality. This was our second stay there - will definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Rocklin, CA

Not what I expected

Posted Oct 4, 2014
I booked this room as a early anniversary gift to myself and my boyfriend. The reviews were glowing, I had high expectations. The bed was too firm, so I called the front desk. The only solution was to bring us a couple of waffle weave blankets, this did not soften the mattress. The noise from the street was another disappointment, as well as the slow wi fi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient next to bart and UC

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Great. More veg menu in the restaurant required. Rest all is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pembroke Pines. FL

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Great hotel and staff. Safe area with a lot of places to eat. Berkeley BART station is half block form the hotel. This is a big plus, downtown San Francisco is 20 min. I will go back!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LA

Reunion at Boalt

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Stayed at hotel for reunion at Boalt. It's within walking distance. Parking lot across from hotel charges $35 a night. But you can park on the street after six or find a parking space after 4 and pay until 6. Just move your car before 9 or pay for two more hours in the morning and stay until eleven. Great bargain. Hotel was very clean and unbelievably quiet. Restaurant looked good also, but we didn't try it. Another great part of hotel location is that it is right at the BART station, so you can exist without a car as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Great hotel with lots of character. Close to delicious restaurants, walking distance to Cal games or concerts at the Greek, and one block from a BART station, so easy access everywhere else in the bay.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom S.L.C. UT.

Rough location

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Very pretty and stylish renovations
Cons: Security around the hotel, parking discounts ( There isn`t anywhere to create parking), Staff could be more welcoming and friendly.
Location: Bart system is very close. Downtown is right there.
The staff wasn`t very friendly. This is located in downtown Berkeley, There are hundreds of homeless folks panhandling, selling drugs, sleeping, ill, and arguing all around this hotel. We stayed four nights ( non-refundable advanced booking) We never were able to venture outside without being approached in various degrees within minuets. Some were very aggressive and physical. This was a moderately expensive hotel and they do not provide parking or validation for parking. It cost us about 30.00 a day to park which is not disclosed by Expedia or the hotel staff prior to booking. Beautiful renovations to an old building but I would never stay there again while visiting a relative. I did not feel safe in the area and because parking is so difficult, walking is a must! The rooms are very small and there wasn`t a dresser so we had to use or suitcases in a very tight area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom boston

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Location. Pleasant rooms.
Cute hotel in heart of Berkeley. Perfect place to stay if visiting your college kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Brilliant!!!!

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Perfect hotel, cannot fault in any way