Ratings based on 556 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Close to everything

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Quietness & cleanliness.
Location: Easy access to San Francisco across the bridge driving or by BART. Lots of good restaurants. Close to a beach.
Good location. Low key. Staff very helpful. Easy check-in & check-out. We needed to directions to many places & these were provided by the desk staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bernard

Good location.

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Excellent alternative to downtown San Francisco - cheaper and well connected using the BART.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nancy

First time in Berkeley

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Loved this hotel, the room was perfect, very clean and comfotable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Valg from Long Island, NY

Great home-base for a 5-day stay in the bay area.

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Design, decor and location. Great place to stay to attend a wedding in Oakland. Conceirge was very warm an informative.
Cons: Some front desk staff were aloof
Location: Gritty environment, but a great place to be to get the feel of downtown Berkeley. It was fantastic to be able to have so many choices to eat.
We stayed four nights in order to attend a wedding in Oakland. We appreciated the conceirge on duty the evening we arrived, who helped with restaruant choices and help with parking. Comfortable room, attentive housekeeping staff - a great home base for our stay, during which we visited local friends and also did one day up in wine country. We would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located, nice bed, nothing special

Posted May 27, 2014
Compared to AirBnB the advantage was a nice bed and a good location. Wasn't as fancy as I expected and they put us in a tiny room at first, then moved us to a larger room very far from the stairs and with the drawers hidden in the closet (what?).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kim

Great place to stay

Posted May 23, 2014
All great plus the decor is beautiful - kind of hip - where the accents honor the lovely old architecture. I gave a 3 on the staff - the restaurant staff (two different voices) who took our reservations were actually pretty rude; we only persisted because it was so convenient. And I'm glad to say - the waiter was very nice and the food was creative and delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 10, 2014
I had a burned out light bulb in my room. because of the green lighting, with one light out it was difficult to read and I didn't get in until very late.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2014
Great hotel, friendly staff, good food, clean sheets, view of San Francisco..... no complaints. Good scrambled eggs, crispy bacon, awesome jams. Right in the heart of Berkeley. .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joni from Orange County

Nice hotel in the middle of lots of action.

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Great location! Close to the bart and taxis. Can't beat it for the price.
Check in was quick and very pleasant. We got the last room at the end of the hall. Was it because we prepaid and booked through Expedia? The room was very small, on the level of a European-sized room. We had a king bed. The room was spotless and the shower was great. The hallways were clean, too. The elevators are European-sized, too, so use the stairs when possible. We ate dinner on our second night in the restaurant, starting with a cocktail at the bar. The bartender, a female, was NOT friendly in the least! I was shocked! We went to eat behind the bar in the restaurant and had a friendly waiter who disappeared many times! The food was not good, so for dinner. My husband had the steak, which was good, but the rest of it was inedible. I had the mushroom ravioli and I would never order that again. How can anyone screw up pasta? However, when I told my son of my experience in the restaurant, he said the room service was great. He had stayed in the hotel a few days before us with a friend while visiting CAL. So I'm not sure what's going on with the food situation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely decor

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Facilities and decor
Cons: Close up mirror, glassware for two. Something to lesson the noise of footsteps in the hallways
Location: Location was good. Lots of foodie spots and access to the university. A Walgreens across the street was very handy.
A surprisingly lovely hotel. The hallway was noisy with creaky floors and running children, though not a huge problem. The room was very comfortable. The bathroom needed a close-up mirror. More than one glass and more than two coffee cups for the Keurig would be better. The restaurant and bar was inviting. I love the decor throughout. I would easily recommend this hotel.