Ratings based on 733 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Nice staff. Clean room. Central location to restaurants & shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Berkeley, Ca

Comfortable, quiet, and relaxing!

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Really needed a good nights sleep, we stayed somewhere the night before that was uncomfortable and noisy! From the moment we walked into the Shattuck Plaza we were treated to a wonderful experience! Only wish we would have spent our first night here and could have stayed longer! We'll definitely be back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Parking

Posted Jan 29, 2015
I would hope that the hotel can work out a parking arrangement with the city garage. Having no assistance with parking is an issue in staying at the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

Pleasant hotel, well located.

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Renovated with modern and warm feeling facilities.
Cons: Not much.
Location: Well located and close to restaurants, the university campus, and some shopping.
Very positive and would recommend it to others who intend to visit that area.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom california

why is this a 4 star hotel?

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: checking out!
Cons: having a valet service
Location: Did not venture far from hotel. frightened by all of the homeless camped adjacent to the hotel so no recommendations.
does expedia do site visits before assigning a star rating? This is supposedly a 4-stat hotel. There is no valet parking. the guests have to find their own parking in a rather dicey appearing part of downtown. I was paying close to $200 a night in the off season and thought some ammenities would be included in the price. The bathrooms cannnot be called small--they are super-tiny. I don't have claustrophobia, but I had to leave the bathroom door open the room was so confining. I had to ask for shampoo. The bathroom was not stocked when I checked in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to bart

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Nice hotel in Downtown and very close to Bart and UC Berkeley
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Shattuck Plaza in downtown Berkeley

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Location: Food recommendations (coming from UC Berkeley alumni): Gregoires, Cheeseboard, Crepevine, Brazil Cafe, La Vals, Jasmine Thai (lunch), Gypsys, IBs...
Awesome experience - booked hotel through expedia, called day before to confirm and ask for 4th floor room facing bay, and upon arrival, surprised w/ complimentary upgrade to 5th floor bay view in the corner (amazing views!). Staff were very nice and available and room was clean. Would definitely recommend w/ highest recommendations. Unrelated to quality of hotel, parking situation close to the hotel: 1. Paid meters 2hrs max 2.75?/hr enforced 9AM-6PM or 8AM-7PM depending on location 2. Parking structure across street (didn't use so don't know rates) 3. (what we did) If you are looking for a cheaper alternative, park 2-3 blocks to the west in the residential neighborhood. Free 2hr parking, enforced 8-7. <5 min walk to hotel, never had a problem finding a spot!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

Great location for a Berkeley visit, pricey.

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Provide breakfast with the room cost since it is pretty hefty.
I was surprised when they would not take traveler's checks for hotel charges. For the price I would have expected spotless, not the case.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Awesome! Only complaint is that bathrooms are small...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Astri Johansen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels.com