Ratings based on 606 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bethesda, MD

Remodeled Classic

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Clean and well run. Pretty. Close to Bart and Cal.
Location: Zillions of great restaurants and bars. Lots of weird and wonderful shopping and people to watch. Many homeless and sketchy people-hey, it's Berkeley
Beautiful classic mission architecture with a very modern, green remodel. In the heart of funky Berkeley (which might not be appealing to some). Next to Bart for easy access to SF, Oakland, SFO, etc. Good restaurant and bar. Small-ish rooms. Great staff, great hospitality. This was our second stay there - will definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rocklin, CA

Not what I expected

Posted Oct 4, 2014
I booked this room as a early anniversary gift to myself and my boyfriend. The reviews were glowing, I had high expectations. The bed was too firm, so I called the front desk. The only solution was to bring us a couple of waffle weave blankets, this did not soften the mattress. The noise from the street was another disappointment, as well as the slow wi fi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient next to bart and UC

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Great. More veg menu in the restaurant required. Rest all is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pembroke Pines. FL

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Great hotel and staff. Safe area with a lot of places to eat. Berkeley BART station is half block form the hotel. This is a big plus, downtown San Francisco is 20 min. I will go back!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Reunion at Boalt

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Stayed at hotel for reunion at Boalt. It's within walking distance. Parking lot across from hotel charges $35 a night. But you can park on the street after six or find a parking space after 4 and pay until 6. Just move your car before 9 or pay for two more hours in the morning and stay until eleven. Great bargain. Hotel was very clean and unbelievably quiet. Restaurant looked good also, but we didn't try it. Another great part of hotel location is that it is right at the BART station, so you can exist without a car as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Great hotel with lots of character. Close to delicious restaurants, walking distance to Cal games or concerts at the Greek, and one block from a BART station, so easy access everywhere else in the bay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S.L.C. UT.

Rough location

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Very pretty and stylish renovations
Cons: Security around the hotel, parking discounts ( There isn`t anywhere to create parking), Staff could be more welcoming and friendly.
Location: Bart system is very close. Downtown is right there.
The staff wasn`t very friendly. This is located in downtown Berkeley, There are hundreds of homeless folks panhandling, selling drugs, sleeping, ill, and arguing all around this hotel. We stayed four nights ( non-refundable advanced booking) We never were able to venture outside without being approached in various degrees within minuets. Some were very aggressive and physical. This was a moderately expensive hotel and they do not provide parking or validation for parking. It cost us about 30.00 a day to park which is not disclosed by Expedia or the hotel staff prior to booking. Beautiful renovations to an old building but I would never stay there again while visiting a relative. I did not feel safe in the area and because parking is so difficult, walking is a must! The rooms are very small and there wasn`t a dresser so we had to use or suitcases in a very tight area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Location. Pleasant rooms.
Cute hotel in heart of Berkeley. Perfect place to stay if visiting your college kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Style, panache and convenience

Posted Aug 13, 2014
I booked the night before and everything was ready on my arrival. Friendly staff, clean and spacious room with all the amenities, this was the perfect place to stay. It is so ridiculously close to the Bart station that getting into San Francisco is a breeze. Excellent for downtown Berkeley, the campus and Telegraph Ave. Would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful Hotel but terrible service

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: The new rooms are great and the employees were nice people, just not on their toes where customer service was concerned.
Cons: Better training of employees with a can do attitude for hotel guests, not a sorry we are closed mentality. They should be trained to offer a solution.
Location: GREAT place to stay if you have kids or business at Berkeley as it is so close!
The restaurant looked inviting but I they were closed for lunch or anything else when I came down at 1:15pm. They were then also closed for breakfast or any other meal or snack at 10:30am. I travel a lot and those hours are normally well within the breakfast and lunch hours for guests. The worst part was that hey were not ready with another suggestion, such as where a close alternative was as there were restaurants nearby nor did they suggest room service the day I came for lunch (NOT breakfast..as even room service has NO breakfast options available at 10:30am).