Ratings based on 555 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.1 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
2.5 Service & staff
2.1 Room comfort
1.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom la

The worst I have stayed in my life!!

Posted Feb 15, 2015
The room was terribly unclean! The beds are sagging and not comfortable to sleep. Noisy from neighboring rooms and trains. Carpet is filthy and bugs can be seen! The Internet is a joke, nothing can be connected!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I wouldn't let a dog stay here!

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Filthy, old, rundown, flophouse. I told them there was no way I was going to stay but they took my money charged me for three days and refused to give me my money back. Unless you are homeless have no place to go in the city of Oakland, please never ever stay in this hotel. It is the worst facility I have seen ever.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I cannot recommend this hotel

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Nothing. We had reserved the room for two nights but decided after one night to eat the cost of the second night rather than stay any longer
Cons: The entire place needs a complete renovation.
Location: It is near Jack London Square
The carpets were not just dirty, something had been dropped on them that had bleached the color out in spots. The bed springs squeaked; the sheets and blankets, while clean, were paper thing. The towels were small and paper thin. Bathroom grouts were dirty. The shower was clean but the shower head might as well have not been there: the water poured out as from a garden hose. The party next door started at 9:30 and, thankfully, ended about 11:30. The walls are so thin we heard every word and the opening and shutting of every door. It appeared some people were living n the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

I wish I could rate a zero.

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Warning: There is NO bar/lounge as stated here and on the website. The front desk said that they just haven't "updated their information". The heater was off in the entire hotel. Only one light worked in the room. No towels. The toilet did not flush and was stained brown. The shower was disgusting and small. Sheets smelled like mildew. The halls smelled awful. This is the worst hotel I have ever been to, and I have travelled the third world frequently. Be warned, the photos and amenities are misleading.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was not what thought

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Experience was not good when I book it experience was bad
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Nothing but its location
Cons: I'm Reds total renovation
Location: Jack London square has a lot to offer, dining, farmers marketn
Tmotell smells of fried chicken, windows are not operable, A/C barely works
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jeromefrom Fairfield, Ca

depressing

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed 2 nights on a weekend. A short getaway. We were led to try this place because of the price ($69) a night. We go into the room and see only 1 towel, no hand or face towel. No hair dryer or coffee maker, heater did not work, patched walls but no fresh paint since the 80's. We read reviews and knew it was rated poorly, but since we were mostly out and about thought it would be an ok place to lay our head, we took the risk. Never again! I was mostly depressed in that room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nevada City, California

OK hotel close to everything.

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Cons: The shower hardware needs upgrading.
Location: Great location. Great restaurants. Great movie theater nearby.
Hotel is OK. It's a bit shabby, but it's clean and the price is right. The staff is curtiouse and helpful. It's close to everything in Oakland. Had trouble turning on the shower. The beds were confertable. Great parking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Margaretfrom CA

Perfect location, great for Amtrak

Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
The southbound Amtrak train goes slowly down the middle of Embarcadero and right by Jack London Inn. It is an easy 2-block walk from the Jack London Square station. The hotel is right across the street from the waterfront, an easy walk to the ferry, with frequent AC bus service right across the street. It is a 15-minute walk to the Convention Center and the 12th street BART station. There are several interesting restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel. The hotel is undergoing renovation, and I look forward to visiting again when renovation is complete. I slept well and did not spend much time in the room. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Worse experience ever and false advertising

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Not a good experience at all. When we checked in, we were given a room that was not clean at all, the beds were not done. Then we were given another room were one of the beds was broken and the room looked all run down. Finally the 3rd room was okay. Not the greatest. It also advertise free continental breakfast,false advertising. None was served. Located in a really bad area.