Ratings based on 592 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.1 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
2.5 Service & staff
2.1 Room comfort
1.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not one to recommend

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Location: The parts of Oakland I saw - walking between the hotel and the 12th Street BART - were not pleasant.
The taxi driver who took me to the hotel told me I hadn't made a good choice and she was quite right. The first night there were children running around until very late and adults who didn't seem to be able or interested in controlling them. On the second night, there was loud arguing and swearing in one of the nearby rooms - all perfectly audible through the insubstantial walls. And the lift didn't work so everyone was using the service stairs.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sandy

Needs lots of improvement

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: The space inside the room and it had a microwave and refrigerator
Cons: The showers, bedding, the air conditioning, the roof top pool, and the parking garage
Location: 1 block from the ocean, take the Webster "tube" for some good inexpensive restaurant selections
While the room layout and beds were nice, the bedding was crappy. There was plenty of space for having 2 queen beds, but the room had no AC. The trains are loud and I was on the opposite side of the building. There is a complimentary shuttle that takes people up and down broadway for free that the front desk staff did not know details about. Don't stay here if you like watching TV, cause the TV is worthless. The parking structure sucks and is often filled with homeless people hanging out which makes it a scary scene.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Seriously

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: security, cleanliness over all accomodations.
Freight train rolls through every hour, no remote, no wash clothes, no iron, and the kicker, woke up to find truck with about $10k in equipment had been stolen. this hotel should not even be on the expedia website or available through expedia. wish I could get a full refund!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Worst hotel I ever stayed at would not recommend to anyone
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland

Never Again!

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: The hotel is in a good location, adjacent to Jack London and many fine dining restaurants.
Cons: The facility itself desperately needs upgrading, Security, English speaking staff, Customer Service training for management & staff.
Location: Oakland-Alameda Ferry for travel to San Francisco, many restaurants, movie theatre, shopping. Sports arena not far from hotel.
While residing at Jack London Inn, my vehicle was stolen from the hotel parking lot. It took 2 days for hotel management to speak with me. Heritage Hotel Group feels no responsibility towards there customers safety or the safety of their property. The attitude is basically "so what, cars are stolen everyday". DO NOT BOOK a hotel state at Jack London Inn. Although it is in the heart of of Jack London Square and 3-4 blocks from Police Department, IT IS NOT SAFE!!! The hotel staff is aware and could care less. The motto here is "get money and provide no service". Never again will I patronize this business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Economic way to see SF Bay

Posted May 30, 2015
Pros: excellent location
Cons: its just an inexpensive alternative to big chains
Location: At Jack London Square with restaurants and bars. Walk to BART, AMTRAK, and San Francisco ferries. Easy access to SF Bay Area and NorCal.
Hotel is a cheap alternative at Jack London Square, with its good restaurants, frequent ferries to downtown San Francisco, and trains to Sacramento and San Jose. Hotel is a short walk to the downtown Oakland BART station offering access to the whole Bay Area and SFO and Oakland airports. Hotel is simple, but clean, with minimal carpeting for cleanliness. Hotel backs up to the rail lines which may be a bother for some guests in rooms on back side of hotel. Those rooms do not have a view, but for over night or short stays, they are adequate. Rooms on the front of hotel are quiet and offer decent urban street views.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to Jack London Square

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: Very friendly staff.
Cons: HOT WATER
Obviously in the midst of renovation. No hot water. Heard others staying also complaining about no hot water. Looked like new furniture but no doors on one piece of furniture.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

DO NOT STAY HERE

Posted May 19, 2015
Where do I begin? How is this hotel even in business?! The only reason it has any stars at all is it's location. It's close to Bart stations and is in a walkable neighborhood. HOWEVER, and this is huge, it is DISGUSTING! The bed is so uncomfortable, goes up on one side. the bathroom has got to be the most disgusting bathroom I have ever seen, there is no reason there should be mold and mildew marks on the sink, in the toilet, and in the shower. I couldn't even shower without worrying about contracting some fungal infection and ended up putting one of the only two towels on the shower floor to step on. In addition, the sheets were so dirty that I had to call to get clean sheets, the ones they brought looked so much cleaner! The door didn't even open and close properly. So for your own sake do NOT stay here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

One of the worst

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: the desk clerk was so friendly even though we had sour faces and heard our complaints.
Cons: The hotel should not be posting pictures of the rooms that are not like they ones they are providing paying customers.
Location: It was by a waterfront so plenty of seafood.There was an arcade for the kids.The was plenty of walking distance restaurants.
I booked 3 rooms and the 2 I saw had filthy, smelly carpets.There was no AC in any of them. Some of the light fixtures didn't work.One of the rooms shower didn't work so we had to use another room to shower in.Their danish and coffee breakfast was served at 8 am but we had things to do earlier so had to find our own breakfast,There was some renovation like painted walls but it seems like they gave used the old rooms to use instead of the ones that they were fixing up.A day that was supposed to be a celebration started out so bad.The only other good thing other then friendly service is that they were willy to drop any cancellation fees if we were to leave and find other accommodations.Others hotels were booked or too expensive.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

horrible hotel - someone else was in my room!

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: Nothing good to say.
Cons: Everything. In particular, make sure not to book people in rooms already occupied by other guests!
The condition of this hotel was dingy and poorly kept. But worst of all, when I went into my room, another guest was already there, and of course was quite upset when I unexpectedly came in. The staff seemed puzzled, were not even very apologetic, and took a long time to get me a new room. Perhaps the worst experience I've ever had in a hotel, and it has even made me feel dubious about using Expedia in the future.