Ratings based on 345 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Laura from San Diego, CA

Unsatisfactory stay

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The staff was nice.
Cons: Security lock needs to be replaced on the door of room 115, and the room also needs to be completely aired out so that it does not smell like smoke.
Location: I did nothing but sleep and then attend a conference. However, in the light of day, it did not seem to be in a bad location.
I showed up at the hotel at about 11pm on a Thursday. The area seemed a little unsafe, but I did not feel uncomfortable checking in or walking to my room. However, while this is supposed to be a non-smoking hotel, the minute I walked into my room, I was overwhelmed by the smell of smoke. It was awful. Additionally, the security lock at the top of the door appeared to have been ripped off of the door frame. This was extremely unsettling. The man who checked me in was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike

Nice rooms close to ucb

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Slightly worn but clean. Parking free but filled up -we got last spot. Don't.know if anyone was unable to park. Great breakfast .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by UC Berkeley Mom from Steilacoom WA

Hotel close to UC Berkeley Campus

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Nice,clean,quiet and safe 2 night stay at Quality Inn Office staff very nice at check-in Day time reception person was this really nice guy from Nepal He let us keep our luggage in front area of office and he watched over them while we spent last afternoon out. Surprised to get hot breakfast-lots to choose from! No complaints :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Mar 18, 2014
The door had one of its locks broken off and an indent where the bedside table looked like it had been used to barricade it. The lock on the window was also broken off. Sketchy to say the least. The window was directly across from that of another room so the curtains needed to be constantly drawn for any privacy. On the last night of my three night stay there was something, which sounded like a mouse or a rat, skittering around in the ceiling as if it was trapped. I informed the hotel staff the next day and they were blasé about it. On the plus side they didn't give me any problems about over sleeping when I was due to check out. The room was otherwise clean, the water pressure was good, and the bed was comfortable. Located near the UC Berkeley campus and plenty of restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by World Traveler from California

A reasonable place

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Extra space, but it is not possible.
Location: Good location and very close to several restaurants.
Small room, but has what you need for a night or two. An insulated shopping bag, probably that belonged to a previous traveler, was left in the room. That makes one wonder how well the staff cleaned the room - although it looked clean. The rate was not at all bad for the location except that the room was very small.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smell in the room

Posted Feb 21, 2014
My room smelled terrible, cold tobacco, which completely ruined my experience. All my clothes smelled bad after.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2014
Pros: I would consider staying there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location and nice upgrades to rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Roy from Livermore

Tiny room, but did the job

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was what I wanted and expected, an inexpensive place to sleep after New Years party at the Claremont.