Ratings based on 455 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis

A big disappointment

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: The breakfast. Nothing else.
Cons: Tear it down and rebuild.
Location: University Ave has some restaurants and other motels in walking distance. But not a particularly good spot.
We had considered the Doubletree as an alternative. Quality Inn won out because of king beds and about $25 less. In many ways the place was shabby. There is a big dumpster in the parking area and construction materials near the office. The free breakfast was OK, but there is a sign on the wall saying somethiing like "Guests are not allowed to take food to their rooms." I did eat in the breakfast area, but it was very worn and shabby. And I had tto take some food to the room to use the microwave as there was none in the breakfast area. One day they did not make the bed or clean the room at all. The night clerk offered to give us another room and $10. The day manager said they didn't do the room because we had left a "do not disturb" sign at the door. They could have called us, but didn't. The sign was miniscule even if we had left it. I will protest for part of the charges. That night was certainly not worth $149 + tax.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dark room, dirty. Small room with 2 full sized bed

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: It was easy to book a room. Pleasant employees.
Cons: Clean it better. Dust on the dresser and dresser drawers, dust on the the door frames, even the bathroom doors. The small refrigerator froze food.
Location: Trader Joe's 2 blocks away. Get simple salads and forks, nothing that needs to be heated or cooked, because microwave does not work well.
Two full sized beds in a small poorly lit roon. It was difficult to move around, and it was just me, a single person. Slept okay. But fleas in the carpet, and still itching. Person at the reception was friendly and very helpful, Okay when you need a place right away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Reasonably priced for short stay, convenient spot

Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels.com
The Check in and check out process was fast and prompt. They are going through renovations therefore their was paint cans, carpet, and wood in the parking lot and in parking area. It was really close to the college and blocks away from various hotspots of the town. They had a lil bfast bar however not everyone wants to eat at a hotel when there was so many bfast spots nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom kansas city

College visit

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Location is convenient. Quality, not there. Room too small. Breakfast offered is ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fresno, Calif.

Nice hotel ... worth the money !

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: If we had to pick one thing out of what we said above it would be the bed/pillows ... really slept well !
Cons: Honestly we were happy w/ithe hotel "as is" !
Location: Location is central to most of Berkeley ... easy access to surrounding areas. "things to do" ... up the individual.
Price was reasonable for a city and area like Berkeley. Rooms aren't large but big enough. Very clean and well appointed. Bed/pillows were great (the main thing to look for !) Breakfast was good quality (no pun intended !) w/a good selection of foods. Area around the hotel was fine for walking in the daytime ... didn't walk at nite but driving around the area at nite it didn't look dangerous. Didn't watch much TV but when we did there was a good selection of channels to "surf". Staff was pleasant and helpful. Bathroom was clean and in good repair Having said this ... we would stay there again w/no hesitation !
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

An Okay Stay in Berkeley

Posted Feb 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
We stayed in two different rooms in this hotel. The first room was spacious and relatively clean, but the rod in the wardrobe was broken so we couldn't hang our clothes. The second room we stayed in was much smaller - really too small to be comfortable as it was difficult to walk between the bed and the dresser. Also, this room wasn't really clean. The walls and carpet are scuffed and dirty. Overall the hotel is pretty run down. The hotel does serve breakfast in the morning - cold cereal, toast, egg and sausage patties, and yogurt if you go early before they run out. Also to note, the lobby counter service is adequate but not professional or welcoming in any way. Note that the hotels in Berkeley are expensive and if you're choosing a less than $100 per night hotel on University Avenue, this is the best of the worst in my experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Berkeley CA

Nice Remodel on University

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Location was good.
Cons: The door locks need to be replaced or repaired.
Location: Lots of very good places to eat nearby. It's Berkeley so that is normal. I had breakfast at the new restaurant Townie which is in the same block.
I was just staying there because my landlord was doing work on my apartment. It was fine. The room was remodeled not too long ago and the new accoutrements were nice. The key card door lock was worn out or something because it took about 30 swipes to get the door open (I did have to ask for help the second night. The guy working the counter was impatient with me and even he had to swipe it in a weird super-fast multiple stroke swipe. very irritating). Other than that, it was great for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

問題なし

Posted Jan 26, 2015 on Hotels.com
モーテルとしては綺麗で快適でした
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

quality inn

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
There was a water leakage in the restroom but they tried to fix it immediately.