Ratings based on 491 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ventura, California

Will stay here again

Posted Sep 14, 2014
WOW, Very pleased in every way. Nice room and CLEAN through-out. Comfy bed, slept like a rock. Highly recommend this property!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ...

Clean place

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Clean and quiet room, and this was my only demand. Only one or two ants visited it - doesn't bother me at all. Better without disinfestation...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Langhorne, Pa

Nice Location

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The furniture in the rooms could be updated.
Location: Close to downtown Berkeley, easy access to either the Bay Bridge to visit San Francisco, or the Richmond Bridge to visit Sonoma, Or Napa
The hotel is close to downtown Berkeley and has easy access to I 80. Rooms are clean, continental breakfast is nothing special, the staff is very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Not so great.

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Stayed at hotel only for 1 night. Staff was super friendly and kind- she recommended a great Indian resturant. Rooms are small, a little smelly. Nice neighborhood. I would not stay here again, I think it was overpriced for what it was.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfectly adequate, reasonably near UC & downtown

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The continental breakfast was not sumptuous- no fresh fruit or fresh pastries, eggs, etc., as can be found sometimes at a HI Express --, but fine.
Cons: I don't know what could have been done about the sleep interruption. I did not call the front desk so I can't say how they would have responded.
Location: Probably a 15 walk from Shattuck Ave./BART and 5 minutes more to the campus. There's Trader Joe's three blocks away -- always useful!
My room was somewhat small but perfectly adequate. Everything was reasonably clean, the bed comfortable. Furniture a little worn, but -- who cares? I stayed here because the price was somewhat lower than the other motels on University Ave. that are relatively near the campus and downtown Berkeley. There are a couple of motels much farther to the west that are considerably cheaper but they are inconvenient (I was getting around without a car) and their ratings on this and other sites are low. My room was quiet EXCEPT that at 5:00 a.m. someone came around and knocked on all the doors (as you can see from the photo the motel is in a courtyard arrangement, with all the rooms opening onto a central plaza). I have no idea who this was. I am assuming that it was someone from the street. I did not respond to the knocking, for obvious reasons. I can't say that this is the motel's fault, since the courtyard is open on to the street. The neighborhood is okay (better than farther west), but there are homeless people and bizarre characters wandering all over Berkeley, so this could happen almost anywhere (except maybe the Claremont -- LOL).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Granbury, Texas

Very quaint looking, private and clean place.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Clean, quite and private location.
Cons: Continental breakfast selection was limited.
Location: Great central location for exploring the bay area. BART just a few blocks away.
Good location and very quite and private. Quaint looking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good stuff

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very decent. Room was very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Much better than the price would lead you to believe
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close bart

Posted Jun 26, 2014
shower no pressure. Good breakfast convenient parking close uc campus bus bart restorant a gas stations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2014
The hotel is located near a major intersection and BART station in Berkeley. I recommend it for those who are too lazy to drive in the Bay Area.