Ratings based on 496 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

NIcely located near activities that were important

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Perhaps the breakfast.
Location: I was attending a meeting near the Univ of California campus so access was close and important to me.
I arrived in the early afternoon and found that the room was not yet ready. So I used the time to check out the area and locate what I would need in the way of activities. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The facilities were extremely clean, as was the room. Nice and modern and up-to-date. For an inexpensive room for the night, it was actually more than I expected. The breakfast was acceptable, although It would have been nice to have something served hot. But the food was plentiful and varied. I would return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ventura, California

Will stay here again

Posted Sep 14, 2014
WOW, Very pleased in every way. Nice room and CLEAN through-out. Comfy bed, slept like a rock. Highly recommend this property!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ...

Clean place

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Clean and quiet room, and this was my only demand. Only one or two ants visited it - doesn't bother me at all. Better without disinfestation...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Langhorne, Pa

Nice Location

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The furniture in the rooms could be updated.
Location: Close to downtown Berkeley, easy access to either the Bay Bridge to visit San Francisco, or the Richmond Bridge to visit Sonoma, Or Napa
The hotel is close to downtown Berkeley and has easy access to I 80. Rooms are clean, continental breakfast is nothing special, the staff is very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Not so great.

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Stayed at hotel only for 1 night. Staff was super friendly and kind- she recommended a great Indian resturant. Rooms are small, a little smelly. Nice neighborhood. I would not stay here again, I think it was overpriced for what it was.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfectly adequate, reasonably near UC & downtown

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The continental breakfast was not sumptuous- no fresh fruit or fresh pastries, eggs, etc., as can be found sometimes at a HI Express --, but fine.
Cons: I don't know what could have been done about the sleep interruption. I did not call the front desk so I can't say how they would have responded.
Location: Probably a 15 walk from Shattuck Ave./BART and 5 minutes more to the campus. There's Trader Joe's three blocks away -- always useful!
My room was somewhat small but perfectly adequate. Everything was reasonably clean, the bed comfortable. Furniture a little worn, but -- who cares? I stayed here because the price was somewhat lower than the other motels on University Ave. that are relatively near the campus and downtown Berkeley. There are a couple of motels much farther to the west that are considerably cheaper but they are inconvenient (I was getting around without a car) and their ratings on this and other sites are low. My room was quiet EXCEPT that at 5:00 a.m. someone came around and knocked on all the doors (as you can see from the photo the motel is in a courtyard arrangement, with all the rooms opening onto a central plaza). I have no idea who this was. I am assuming that it was someone from the street. I did not respond to the knocking, for obvious reasons. I can't say that this is the motel's fault, since the courtyard is open on to the street. The neighborhood is okay (better than farther west), but there are homeless people and bizarre characters wandering all over Berkeley, so this could happen almost anywhere (except maybe the Claremont -- LOL).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Granbury, Texas

Very quaint looking, private and clean place.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Clean, quite and private location.
Cons: Continental breakfast selection was limited.
Location: Great central location for exploring the bay area. BART just a few blocks away.
Good location and very quite and private. Quaint looking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jeff from Glendora, CA

Best value in Berkeley

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We picked the Rodeway Inn because it was cheap(er) and near the BART station. It was better than I expected! The rooms were clean and the hotel just put nice, new wooden-slat blinds on the windows of the rooms while we were there. The bathroom appeared to be recently remodeled as well, with nice tile and granite. The bed was comfortable, not too soft or firm but just right. We didn't utilize the continental breakfast, so I can't comment on that. The neighborhood is not the best, but the hotel is set back from the street and feels enclosed upon itself, so it never felt unsafe. Plus the main street that leads from the hotel to the BART was very well lit; even walking back at midnight we never felt like we were in any danger. Overall, the hotel is a solid choice and I would certainly stay here again if I come back through the area!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Roy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ron from Norwalk ct

Berkeley rdoeway

Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a safe and inexpensive place to sleep