Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

quaint hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Location is awesome! Great Indian restaurant down the street.
Cons: The hotel is old and smells old. I would say the stagnant smell too getting used to.
Location: right down the street from UC Berkeley, and lots of fun!
This hotel is older, but I have to say the beds were comfortable, the staff was friendly and the breakfast was good!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

I Will Never Stay There Again

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: It was really nice having a fireplace in my room.
Cons: Some of the staff there should not be in the hospitality business.
The desk lamps on each side of the bed would not switch on. I walked to the lobby desk and explained it to the two staff members there. They said there might be a switch on the cord. I said the night stands were pushed hard against the wall and the cords weren't readily accessible. They again told me to check the cords. I went back to my room and moved the furniture and saw the cords did not have switches on them. I walked back to the lobby. They asked me if the lamps were plugged in. I said they were. They again asked me if the lamps were plugged in. I said again, yes. The long haired man who kept asking if the lamps were plugged finally walked to my room, a distance of less than a hundred feet and fixed whatever was needed to turn on the lamps. He left. I found him to be incredibly rude and lazy. I will never stay at the Rose Garden Inn again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place, close to campus

Posted Aug 19, 2014
The Rose Garden Inn far exceeded my expectations. The rooms are very clean. The facilities appeared to have been recently upgraded. Bathrooms are great. Common areas are very clean. There's free parking on the side, which is great if you're driving to Berkeley. The downtown Berkeley Bart is only about a twenty/thirty minute walk away. If you're planning on traveling to the San Francisco or Berkeley, the Rose Garden Inn is a great option. The free continental breakfast is superb. The staff is very kind.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from va

Great location. Beautiful garden. Charming room

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Breakfast was good. No laundry facility. Nearby laundromat was rundown & had some homeless customers who were harmless. Attendant was nice. Limited pkg. for inn. Comfortable inn. Walking distance to university & restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Beautifully decorated rooms.

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Nice location, comfortable bed, quiet room.
Cons: There were some plumbing noises one night. Not sure what that was but it lasted all night.
Location: There are lots of restaurants within walking distance. The walk to campus might be a little far.
I love staying in places that are different. Rose Garden Inn is a complex of four homes that have been converted into hotel rooms. They are beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. I will stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet retreat

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Five old college roommates had a wonderful reunion at this site.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had a reservation for another hotel. I was transferred to the Rose Garden Inn. Wonderful hotel, rooms very clean, great breakfast buffet. Good staff. Will definitely make this my getaway location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pam from Saratoga Springs, NY

A nice Inn with great location!

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: The location, it's cleanliness and the breakfast.
Cons: Maybe some new rugs in the lobby.
Location: Near Berkeley, the Botanical Garden and the hospital.
We spent four nights and were very pleased. The breakfast was delicious with the basic foods. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. It is an old building so we could hear quests voices through the walls. The lobby looks a bit worn but everything was clean. The parking lot is tight but we were able to get a spot each night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa Canada

B and B in Berkeley.

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Stayed here before and found it a pleasant change from a hotel. More relaxed and friendly. I would like to have had more home-made style options in the breakfast rather than those stock commercial pastries- I liked the fresh cookies and available tea or coffee later in the day.
2 out of 5
by Olga from Philadelphia

The hotel needs renovation

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Location
The hotel is deteriorating. Lace curtain in the room was ripped and a lace curtain in the bathroom was so dirty and dusty that it changed its color from white to grayish-black. Mixer/ distributer of cold and hot water in the sink and shower worked very badly. If someone in the adjacent room uses cold or hot water, it changes the temperature of the water of your shower making it suddenly very cold or very hot. For six days, room maid gave for two persons only two small bottles of shampoo. When they were empty, we had to ask to give us more at the front desk. Soundproofing is very bad. You can hear everything from the adjacent room.