Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
overall great location and wonderful staff, highly recommend and would come back again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Great place, but terrible parking

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: The flowers are everywhere, many of them fragrant.
Cons: The parking is awful, but given the location not sure there's any resolution.
Location: Very close to the UC Berkeley camps, great little shopping district and many restaurants nearby.
Love this place. It's practically on the UC Berkeley campus in a great area for shops and restaurants. The rooms are nice. The buildings and gardens are lovely. And the parking is absolutely awful. If you're out past 6 p.m., be prepared to park on the street in a neighborhood with restrictive parking limited to meters ( the residential side streets require permits). It's the only downside to an otherwise lovely place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom tx

good location

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Cons: keep the noise down in the central area before breakfast.
overall, ok. nice breafast on porch overlooking their enclosed garden space. only real complaint was noisy workers at 6 am noticeable with our open windows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old house & grounds

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Nice old house (circa 1890's ??) with several other buildings on the grounds. LOt's of outdoor eating areas and benches to enjoy the sun and the rose garden. My room was huge, with a queen size bed and a day bed. The staff was nice and they let me check in an hour early. Free wi-fi, free breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom l

Don

Posted Feb 18, 2015
It was a great stay! A very unique hotel! I look forward to returning to the hotel in the near future!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Shiloh, Hotel Management
Hi Don. Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words with us! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Berkeley!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and comfortable

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Great location, calm atmosphere and helpful staff (even though they forgot about my wake up call...).
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Shiloh, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We're glad that you enjoyed our location and atmosphere. We like to call the Rose Garden our little oasis in the middle of Berkeley! We sincerely apologize for the missed wake-up call, and hope that it didn't cause you too much inconvenience. We hope that you'll come back and see us the next time you're in Berkeley.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Plusses and minuses

Posted Jan 23, 2015 on Hotels.com
Great location only a few blocks from the UC-Berkeley campus. Inn appears to be a combination of three large older residences. Has charm, but showing some wear and tear. Our room could have used painting and new carpeting. Breakfast was fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Allisonfrom Truckee, Tahoe

Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Hotels.com
Very lovely! So quite and gorgeous. Complimentary breakfast was delicious. Would absolutely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andrewfrom Bakersfield

Rose Garden Inn - Berkeley

Posted Jan 10, 2015 on Hotels.com
The Rose Garden Inn is a wonderful oasis off busy Telegraph Ave. The Inn occupies a wonderful group of early 20th century mansions and is surrounded by a lovely garden. Security is good and it is necessary to use the room key to enter the grounds. The lobby has 2 couches near a fireplace. In the afternoon cookies are set out and we enjoyed drinking tea and eating a cookie while relaxing by the fire. Each room is different but our room was spacious and had a comfortable couch. The queen size bed was very comfortable. A very sufficient breakfast was served for all guests. The location is very convenient to several outstanding restaurants. We sampled Burmese, Nepali/Indian, Peruvian, and Ethiopian cuisines, all within 5 minutes walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Napa

Will not be staying anywhere else in Berkeley!

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Great room Best continental breakfast I've ever had at a hotel!