Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2014
walkable to Cal, quirky in a good way, but price/value way out of line for what you get
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

quaint hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Location is awesome! Great Indian restaurant down the street.
Cons: The hotel is old and smells old. I would say the stagnant smell too getting used to.
Location: right down the street from UC Berkeley, and lots of fun!
This hotel is older, but I have to say the beds were comfortable, the staff was friendly and the breakfast was good!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

I Will Never Stay There Again

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: It was really nice having a fireplace in my room.
Cons: Some of the staff there should not be in the hospitality business.
The desk lamps on each side of the bed would not switch on. I walked to the lobby desk and explained it to the two staff members there. They said there might be a switch on the cord. I said the night stands were pushed hard against the wall and the cords weren't readily accessible. They again told me to check the cords. I went back to my room and moved the furniture and saw the cords did not have switches on them. I walked back to the lobby. They asked me if the lamps were plugged in. I said they were. They again asked me if the lamps were plugged in. I said again, yes. The long haired man who kept asking if the lamps were plugged finally walked to my room, a distance of less than a hundred feet and fixed whatever was needed to turn on the lamps. He left. I found him to be incredibly rude and lazy. I will never stay at the Rose Garden Inn again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Samfrom Los Angeles

Only in a Pinch

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
I booked this room because it was the very last room available when we brought our daughter up to Berkeley for her first year at college. The location was fine - far enough down the street to get away from the craziness of 35,000 kids checking into school but I won't stay here again. We arrived a couple of hours before the 3 p.m. check in time and our room wasn't ready yet. We were told to come back at 3 which we did. When we got there at 3 we were told we had to wait for 3 other parties to check in ahead of us. So we checked in and went to our room. The room was big - 2 queen sized beds and 2 twin beds. I didn't ask for a room that big but that's what we got. The mattresses were too soft. The bathroom smelled like mildew and there was mold on the walls. Disgusting. So, like i said, in a pinch. For the price they charged a night, it was not worth it. i know the hotels all double their prices when the kids come back to school which I find personally offensive so next time we will stay in San Francisco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place, close to campus

Posted Aug 19, 2014
The Rose Garden Inn far exceeded my expectations. The rooms are very clean. The facilities appeared to have been recently upgraded. Bathrooms are great. Common areas are very clean. There's free parking on the side, which is great if you're driving to Berkeley. The downtown Berkeley Bart is only about a twenty/thirty minute walk away. If you're planning on traveling to the San Francisco or Berkeley, the Rose Garden Inn is a great option. The free continental breakfast is superb. The staff is very kind.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Billfrom Sacramento

Charming old inn

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very pleasant garden, good breakfast. Room was a little stuffy. Not a central Berkeley location, but not too far from key destinations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom va

Great location. Beautiful garden. Charming room

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Breakfast was good. No laundry facility. Nearby laundromat was rundown & had some homeless customers who were harmless. Attendant was nice. Limited pkg. for inn. Comfortable inn. Walking distance to university & restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Beautifully decorated rooms.

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Nice location, comfortable bed, quiet room.
Cons: There were some plumbing noises one night. Not sure what that was but it lasted all night.
Location: There are lots of restaurants within walking distance. The walk to campus might be a little far.
I love staying in places that are different. Rose Garden Inn is a complex of four homes that have been converted into hotel rooms. They are beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. I will stay there again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com