Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa Canada

B and B in Berkeley.

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Stayed here before and found it a pleasant change from a hotel. More relaxed and friendly. I would like to have had more home-made style options in the breakfast rather than those stock commercial pastries- I liked the fresh cookies and available tea or coffee later in the day.
2 out of 5
by Olga from Philadelphia

The hotel needs renovation

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Location
The hotel is deteriorating. Lace curtain in the room was ripped and a lace curtain in the bathroom was so dirty and dusty that it changed its color from white to grayish-black. Mixer/ distributer of cold and hot water in the sink and shower worked very badly. If someone in the adjacent room uses cold or hot water, it changes the temperature of the water of your shower making it suddenly very cold or very hot. For six days, room maid gave for two persons only two small bottles of shampoo. When they were empty, we had to ask to give us more at the front desk. Soundproofing is very bad. You can hear everything from the adjacent room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dawn from ventura county

Older B and B

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Stayed at the Rose Garden Inn for a graduation ceremony. My room was at the back of the property. The room was quite cozy and could use a little attention. The plug for the tub did not work so no baths. The water pressure was quite high, so that was a surprise. There was a loose towel rack as well. The room was clean, bed was comfy. The heater worked well and the fireplace was enjoyable. I am a vegetarian so the breakfast option of eggs, sausage and bacon did not work for me. I also do not eat sugar, so the sweet rolls, muffins and waffle were not an option either. That left potatoes (that were a bit greasy), toast and fruit. There is a Whole Foods market down the street, so had breakfast down there after the first morning. The hotel's location was ideal. Within walking distance to restaurants and shops. Free parking was nice and there is parking on the street as well but you may need to move your car depending on what day it is. The staff was courteous. The price was reasonable for Berkeley, which is why I would recommend it as well as for the location. It rained during most of my stay so was not able to enjoy the patio or garden.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, comfortable rooms

Posted Feb 5, 2014
Pros: Location
Only bad thing was that heater did not work on 2nd night and nothing done to solve the problem
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lily Egan from Reno

Charming, delightful place

Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
What a find! The inn consists of several buildings, all over 100 years old, and each room is unique. Tastefully furnished with period style decor, but also has the amenities one expects today. Full hearty breakfast is included, as is parking. And it's in a great location, waling distance to wonderful restaurants, coffee houses, and even a public tennis court. We couldn't have been more pleased.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dave from Boston

Very charming "villa"

Posted Nov 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was a quite enjoyable stay, with a great breakfast and nice warm fire in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Boris from Vancouver BC

B&B style with hotel privacy

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Pros: B&B style with hotel privacy.
Cons: I didn't need it but I'm not sure my room had A/C.
Location: It's a few blocks south of the fun part of Telegraph in Berkeley. So it's quiet but within walking distance.
Quaint and clean; decent breakfast included. It's in an older set of houses on a single property.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Loui tucker from San jose

Disappointed

Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overpriced for the small accommodations. Better breakfast at McDonald's. Beautiful original homes with architectural monstrosities. Pebbled aggregate concrete overused. We expected much more from the historic properties but left feeling gouged. We won't be back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Pat from Portland

Worn but comfortable

Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a great old B&B but it is definitely in need of a little TLC. Our bathroom had peeling paint, stains in the bathtub and a bit of a moldy smell. The room was nice but worn. Lots of extension cords connecting appliances. Breakfast was a bit disappointing. Scrambled eggs sausage and bacon all of which was allowed to be only slightly warm when we got there. Cereal and pastries were uninspired but fine. The breakfast was fine but pretty much what you'd get at a chain hotel on I5 so I was disappointed. Perhaps my expectations were too high.