Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Napa

Will not be staying anywhere else in Berkeley!

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Great room Best continental breakfast I've ever had at a hotel!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Over priced

Posted Dec 29, 2014
It is a good hotel, clean rooms and friendly staff. The best thing was the free breakfast. The room we were given was very small and we could barely fit our luggage in it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester, NY

Nice cool hotel in Berkeley, lots of character

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros: Pretty much everything. But there is no elevator in the main building that I am aware of. And my room had no work space.
Cons: Not much. They do a good job.
Location: I was there on business. No time to wander Berkeley. But Berkeley has a lot. So you should go.
Comfy room with porch (didn't use it due to the deluge). Very cool collection of buildings with old B and B feel. Good breakfast. Great coffee. Nice cookies at night. Very friendly front desk staff. I will return if I have a reason to be in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sonyafrom California

Beautiful and Peaceful

Posted Oct 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have stayed here many times and truly love this place! The gardens with the sitting area are a great place to relax and read. The rooms may not be the most updated, but they are full of charm and are comfortable. They make fresh cookies every afternoon, so you can get yourself a cup of hot tea, a cookie, and relax in the garden area. Breakfast is very good and the service is friendly. Location is excellent as we can walk to many great restaurants or sites from here. If you are looking for a charming hotel where you can truly relax, this is it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tamfrom Iowa

Old very,very,very small room

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
They told us all the rooms are different sizes. Our room was so small my husband and I, not large people AT ALL, could not walk around the bed at the same time. We would hit a wall.The bathroom had a pedestal sink with a ridiculously small 4 inch by maybe 2 foot ledge above it for ALL of our toiletries. We also shared ALL of the cell phone conversations being had in the next room. Thank God he was alone. After two days of this we were moved to a larger,quieter room.One day the bathroom was not cleaned. That was a nightmare to get resolved. The staff was friendly and tried to fix each problem we had but it was ridiculous for the price. I'd find a better place. We were visiting our son and we'll never stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2014
walkable to Cal, quirky in a good way, but price/value way out of line for what you get
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

quaint hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Location is awesome! Great Indian restaurant down the street.
Cons: The hotel is old and smells old. I would say the stagnant smell too getting used to.
Location: right down the street from UC Berkeley, and lots of fun!
This hotel is older, but I have to say the beds were comfortable, the staff was friendly and the breakfast was good!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Patfrom Fresno

Quaint Rose Garden Inn

Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
It is like you have gone back in time!! The Rose Garden Inn is clean, but an older property. The gardens are beautiful and they have a very nice breakfast!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified travelerfrom i

Faded Victorian splendor

Posted Sep 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
This Inn is an old mansion that has been expanded by the addition of separate small buildings in the back. The garden is nice and inviting with plenty of areas to sit for breakfast. We were upgraded to a very spacious room in the main building. There is no A/C so windows had to be opened so, noise level can be an issue if window faces the street as ours did. The bed was comfortable and everything was clean. Good location close to Berkeley. The property is decorated in heavy Victorian fabrics and furnishings making it somewhat stuffy.