Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom tx

good location

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Cons: keep the noise down in the central area before breakfast.
overall, ok. nice breafast on porch overlooking their enclosed garden space. only real complaint was noisy workers at 6 am noticeable with our open windows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old house & grounds

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Nice old house (circa 1890's ??) with several other buildings on the grounds. LOt's of outdoor eating areas and benches to enjoy the sun and the rose garden. My room was huge, with a queen size bed and a day bed. The staff was nice and they let me check in an hour early. Free wi-fi, free breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom l

Don

Posted Feb 18, 2015
It was a great stay! A very unique hotel! I look forward to returning to the hotel in the near future!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Shiloh, Hotel Management
Hi Don. Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words with us! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Berkeley!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and comfortable

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Great location, calm atmosphere and helpful staff (even though they forgot about my wake up call...).
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Shiloh, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We're glad that you enjoyed our location and atmosphere. We like to call the Rose Garden our little oasis in the middle of Berkeley! We sincerely apologize for the missed wake-up call, and hope that it didn't cause you too much inconvenience. We hope that you'll come back and see us the next time you're in Berkeley.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Napa

Will not be staying anywhere else in Berkeley!

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Great room Best continental breakfast I've ever had at a hotel!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Over priced

Posted Dec 29, 2014
It is a good hotel, clean rooms and friendly staff. The best thing was the free breakfast. The room we were given was very small and we could barely fit our luggage in it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

bad experience

Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
I made my payment when I booked this inn via hotels.com. But the staff of this inn charged me agian when I checked in. I noticed this mistake few hours later and told the staff. I am glad that he returned my payment but I am very disppointed for his unprofessional behavior. This is an unacceptable mistake!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester, NY

Nice cool hotel in Berkeley, lots of character

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros: Pretty much everything. But there is no elevator in the main building that I am aware of. And my room had no work space.
Cons: Not much. They do a good job.
Location: I was there on business. No time to wander Berkeley. But Berkeley has a lot. So you should go.
Comfy room with porch (didn't use it due to the deluge). Very cool collection of buildings with old B and B feel. Good breakfast. Great coffee. Nice cookies at night. Very friendly front desk staff. I will return if I have a reason to be in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by michellefrom Santa Rosa

Staying in at the Inn

Posted Dec 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
When we pulled up front of the hotel, we were a little hesitant about the outlook of the property (do to the fact it was in the winter and during the heavy rains). Once inside, we were amazed of the welcoming feel of the building. staff was friendly. Our room was small with private bath and decorated to the era of the house. Bed was comfortable. We will be back again during the spring/summer so we can see the true color of the grounds.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by georgefrom new jersey

no title

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very nice, but the room was very small. The whole place was very clean, the staff was excellent, the breakfast they put out every day was excellent. Good location if you want to be near UC Berkeley-- 15 minute walk to campus. Right in the elmwood neighborhood, which is very nice.