Ratings based on 1,213 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2015
good for family travel. The facility looks old, but clean. The breakfast is simple but good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Staff got up very late to check me in. Much appreciated.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Horrible customer service

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything and especially the customer service,
Location: It is not near anything to do and not near any place to eat.
Do NOT recommend that hotel. Horrible customer service. The person in service was absolutely disgusting. Totally ungroomed, wearing the same smelly clothes, very unfriendly and rude. The "breakfast" was horrible, terrible food. Did not fit for any State Health Department in sanitation, no utensils to pick up bread, the milk for the coffee was questionable. The only good thing in this hotel is the new, remodeled bathroom. Extremely overpriced for the conditions. I will never go there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom OC, CA

Nice and convenient for visiting Berkeley

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Clean and neat. Nice bathroom.
Nice, clean and convenient for the money. I recommend it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas, NV

Motel on University Avenue in Berkeley.

Posted Apr 19, 2015
This is a no frills motel on University Avenue in downtown Berkeley. It is a good location and I found the motel room to be clean and a real bargain. Nothing fancy, but it was a work trip and was a good deal for the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stayed 6 days in April

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Overall good for the money I paid. Breakfast, microwave oven and ironing is a plus. Breakfast room is small, so may be crowded after 8:30am. I walked 10 minutes to bart station to go to SF city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Quick Business Trip to Berkeley

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Definitely liked the service and people working there. All were very nice.
Cons: Again, superficial cosmetic stuff, but it doesn't really affect the stay.
Location: 15 to 20-minute walk to Shattuck Square and downtown Berkeley. High-rated Himalayan restaurant half a block away.
I work for a nonprofit but travel a lot for work, so sometimes it is a struggle to find hotels that are within budget, in a good location, and still comfortable. The Super 8 in Berkeley definitely fit all of this criteria. It's about a 15-minute walk to Shattuck Square and 8-minute walk to the North Berkeley subway stop. The guy who checked me in (wish I knew his name) was awesome. He was super nice and well-prepared, which after zig-zagging the country all day (urghh... low-cost carriers!) was well appreciated. I will admit that I am a pretty no-frills person and I am sure there are superficial things about this hotel that could be improved as other reviewers have pointed out. BUT, the bathroom looked like it had been recently renovated and the beds were comfortable and clean. For almost half the price of other hotels in the area, looking at an ugly door is pretty inconsequential.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, CA

A great value in good location

Posted Apr 12, 2015
The price was reasonable compared to others in the area and the location was perfect for us. Within walking distance to plenty of really good local restaurants and sites. The rooms are a little small, but it appears that aoat everything in the room is new - bathroom tile and fixtures, carpeting, etc. the only thing I would ask for is a better mattress. We will revisit if in the area again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I think it's ok!

Posted Mar 31, 2015
This is a convience and clean hotel, close to UCB .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Acceptable

Posted Feb 28, 2015
It is an acceptable place to stay conveniently located close to UC Berkeley. The apartment was clean, though the 80s design and fabrics made it feel a little tired. Staff was helpful, but breakfast was underwhelming.