Ratings based on 647 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Posted Jul 27, 2014
I would definitely staff there again. Beautiful hotel and an excellent experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst rooms in the hotel!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The staff was friendly and professional.
Again with booking Expedia we received a room across from the elevators that rang throughout the night. The view was of the roof. We will not use Expedia again as this is the second time this has happened to us. We were unable to move rooms or even pay for an upgrade. The hotel had an event with loud music below our floor that lasted past midnight..we have young children so this was not appealing to us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas

Classy hotel with an old world charm

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Entrance and the lobby are magnificent and unlike most other hotels- even unlike most other 4-star hotels. This hotel is not for everyone though because of its age, and styling - it's not contemporary. The room was very comfortable but the floors were creaky. I wish they did not charge me $30 for parking on top of $26 resort fee! In summary, I would go back because the style/ decor of the hotel is to my taste.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Comfortable stay at a nice facility

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Comfortable, beautiful.
Cons: Noise transmission between rooms and hallway. Parking is overpriced.
Location: Great location in Berkeley hills, down the block from a cute neighborhood with shops and restaurants. 5 minute drive to central Berkeley.
The Claremont Resort is a nice expansive facility tucked away in the Berkeley hills. We were pleased to have a large room with a comfortable bed and large bathroom. Not all rooms are big, however, so experiences may vary. Our room did not have a view, but was nonetheless lovely. Only downside is that noise from adjacent rooms and the hallway can be loud and parking is a steep $30/day (tho at least they have parking!). The pool and grounds are also quite nice. Huge pool plus lap pool plus hot tub plus kiddie pool. There's also an entire fitness facility with a very nice locker room, sauna, steam room, and whirlpools. The property is a private club as well as hotel, so many people will be using the facility. It did not seem cramped for space, though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from la

Noisy

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Rooms ok but was put in handicapped room with a view of tbe roof. Supposed to be an upgrade. Very noisy from hallway, adjscent rooms and rooms above. Charged 26 resort fee on top of e erything else plus pasrking. Nickel asnd dimed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We believe it is the little things that count and we couldn't be more disappointed to learn that you were not fully satisfied with your accommodations or if you felt misled in any way by our charges. Our resort fee enables guests to enjoy a wide range of incredible amenities and activities such as complimentary Internet, 3-hours of childcare, access to our pools, tennis courts, countless health club and spa choices and more. Please know that our associates are always happy to help you find the guest room that would make you most comfortable and we regret if any sounds from outside your room were of disruption to your peace. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, it is our hope to welcome you back again and fully impress you with all we have to offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

our visit to the claremont

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: We liked the history and the architecture, also the view from the room.
Cons: Customer service was inconsistent. Some of the staff were very friendly, but at this price they need to go the extra mile. Resort fees are too high.
Location: Berkeley has many great restaurants, we recommend: Revival (Shattuck), Cafe Rouge (4th st.), Bette's Ocean View Cafe (4th st), La Med (College Ave).
We like to visit the grand hotels of the West: the Del Coronado, the Coeur d'Alene, the Santa Maria Inn, etc. So the Claremont was on our list. We appreciate the history and the architecture. We stayed two days - we did not get the full SPA experience because all the spa options are way too expensive - $350 for a 50 minute massage - that's not our market Also, we wanted to visit the bar but they closed early right in our face. Then while we were sitting in the area we saw seven other people all turned away as well. Had they waited a bit longer they would have had at least nine more customers. Because they were slow, a hotel of this caliber should NOT close early. We paid too much for our stay for that. Had they been committed to customer service would have taken some action. Other parts of the service were good. We did not eat in the hotel, we went into Berkeley and had a great time. We don't do Valet. All the non-Valet spots are up the hill. View from the room was great: the Bay and downtown SF. Clear view even when the bay had fog. Awesome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Positive or otherwise, the feedback our hotel receives is not taken lightly and is always appreciated. We believe that providing superior service is fundamental. Please accept our sincerest apologies if you felt anything but welcomed, as each and every one of our guests is highly valued. If at any point in time a guest finds something amiss, our associates are always more than happy to help and we regret if the hours of our restaurant were inconvenient for you. Many of our Spa treatments can be selected a la carte for more affordable options for all and we feature a number of spa specials and collections that provide great savings. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again in the future so we can improve upon your impressions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Room preparers just need a little common-sense...

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
It is with regret that we learn of your feedback and apologize if your stay was less that we would hope. Although it is not clear in this forum, we do apologize if you found anything amiss in your guest room. Please know that we are always available to ensure that all is as it should be during your stay, when it would matter the most. We hope you will consider another visit in the future. Thank you for your comments.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Great Amenities, Bad Room

Posted Jul 1, 2014
I'm not sure if it's the fact we look young or booked through a website, but first they put us in a room with two double beds facing the hill. When we asked to be switched to a queen or king they put us in the roof - literally with two micro windows 1 foot tall by two feet wide and skylights both of which have plantation shutters instead if blackout shades. Not good when you have a toddler who needs to nap ... and you've paid an arm and a leg for a fancy hotel. Very disappointed. I have to say the cost of parking is also a bit ridiculous. On a positive note the food was good through room service and at the Paragon. The pools and club amenities were great - very kid friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We are so glad to know you enjoyed parts of your encounter with us, including dining at Paragon and our Club and pool amenities. Our historic hotel is unique in that no two guest rooms are exactly alike. With that being said, we do apologize if you were not fully impressed with your accommodations. Our associates would be happy to help find you just the right space for your family’s needs. As you mentioned, we charge for parking in our secure lot, but we regret if you were unaware. Please know that regardless of how your reservations are made we value each and every guest. It is our hope that you will give us a chance in the future to offer you the type of stay you would hope for.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2014
I paid and reserved a bay view room but I got a room with a view of a roof top. The room was not clean and the fixtures were falling apart.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us here. It is always our intent to honor all guest room requests and while it is not clear in this forum as to what transpired our how your reservations were made, we must apologize for any inconvenience. We can understand how frustrating it can be when expectations are not met. Guests are always encouraged to let us know if anything is amiss while they are here and we regret if you found any issues with your accommodation. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to change your impressions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Staff is very friendly. We had breakfast 2 days, and both the food and staff were wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Exemplary service is what we hope to achieve with each and every guest encounter! Thank you so much for sharing your review and appreciation of our efforts at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. We do hope you will visit again soon.