Ratings based on 691 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Good hotel, great location next to Bart

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Room was clean and spacious, good luck finding this in San Fran. Overall a good value for the price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Good hotel for price

Posted Jul 21, 2014
The hotel was a convenient location to get around the Bay Area, as it is two blocks away from the BART station. Very minimalist, but we didn't spent much time in the room. If I return to the area, I would probably stay here again because of the price. The only problems were the noise coming from the street and a graduation party that weekend. Otherwise not bad for only $94 per night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Kansas city, MO

Nice hotel in the middle of the old Oakland.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: the location, the personal and price
Very nice people. I was in a rush and quite hungry in the morning and besides the fact that the breakfast was available between 7 am and 9 am, the person in charge of setting it up, accepted me to have it before the normal scheduled hours. The hotel is well located down town. If your goal is to be in Oakland, to have a place to sleep and to take a breakfast in the morning, to let your belongings in a safe place while you explore the city, and maybe to have a drink at night, this hotel is ideal. I think it is a good quality / price balance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Historic building/hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Staff was excellent. Jonathan was always a pleasure,pleasant, accomadating. Parking needs improvement. Hotel needs improvements and updating. Breakfast was good but would recommend hot cups/lids for coffee. Had to double my cup n no lids avail. Loved the location. Loved the historic building. Would return
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Basic hotel. Cheap and well located. Rooms are dated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Old hotel!!

Posted Jul 8, 2014
This wasn't a charming boutique hotel. It's just old. It's similar to the hotel from the shining. Definitely won't be staying there again. The room was very small, smelled old and was totally over priced. I wasn't happy at all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than expected from the price and location

Posted Jul 7, 2014
No street traffic on week-end. Was able to park on the street right across the hotel. It is a bit old, especially the elevator which has a mind of its own ! Stopped on the 3rd floor even though we pushed for the 4th floor ( 3 times ? ) and also went to the basement twice !!!! First night was on the street side. It was so noisy from drunk people fighting and the non-stop delivery trucks to the supermarket right at the corner of the street. Was moved to a room on the inside and it was just fine then. Rooms are small but clean. Beds are comfortable. Breakfast is a simple and cheap as they can make it. Plain coffee, apple, orange juice, prepackaged danish.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Toni from Los Angeles

Close to downtown Oakland

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: It was quaint, clean, and close to eating places , places of interest and the farmer's market on Friday.
Cons: The lighting
Location: Good location especially for eating and walking.
Room was small and lights in bathroom and vanity area were on a motion timer. Lighting situation was annoying.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really nice intimate hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2014
The staff was friendly, they had different activities such as happy hour specials and other events, it was close to everything downtown,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by PV from Tucson, AZ

Decent Hotel, Great Price, Easy to Get Around

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Thursday evening that we checked into the hotel, they had local comedians doing stand-up in the lobby. It was fun, low-key entertainment!
Cons: The elevator is just a smidge creepy. Its older, although functioning just fine, but could use a good update. I took the stairs just to avoid it!
Location: It was a great location, just 1.5 blocks away from the BART stop, making it an easy trip to San Francisco. Highly recommend Desco down the street.
If you are looking for an extravagant place to stay, this isn't it. If you're looking for a good hotel at a great price with an easy commute to San Francisco, than this is the one! Everything in the hotel was fine. There was nothing great about it but there also wasn't anything wrong with it. The staff was helpful with the minimal assistance that we needed. The breakfast bar was great for grabbing a muffin or yogurt on your way out to a real breakfast. I had read a lot of complaints about noise in the area but we didn't have any problems, including the night we came back and there was a full party happening in the lobby/restaurant.