Ratings based on 1,070 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rincon Valley

Cozy ambiance and friendly staff.

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: Spacious room and very clean, comfy bed.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Right in Jack London Square and pretty view of the bay/
Just had an overnight stay but was very comfortable. Walking distance to great restaurants, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fresno, CA

Great Hotel & great stay in Oakland, CA

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, excellent rooms, top notch service.
Cons: None noted
Location: Great eateries nearby. Walking distance to Ferry service to San Francisco, Bart Train, Amtrak train.
This is a great Hotel. The location is ideal, great amenities nearby, access to public transportation and the hotel stay was excellent in all respects.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, CA

Excellent hotel in the heart of Jack London Square

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: The location as well as the offered amenities were superb. Would definitely stay again another time.
Cons: We stayed with our small dog and were under the impression that a food/water bowl would be provided upon arrival. Ended up taking about an hour.
Location: Located in the heart of Jack London Square there was no shortage of food/drink locations nearby.
Our stay here was one of the best I've had in a long while. The location of the hotel is central to everything within Jack London Square so food/drinks were no issue at all. Besides that it was an absolutely wonderful view of the SF bay and San Francisco beyond.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We enjoyed it a great deal, especially our view.

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: The location
We had a great time. We enjoyed the view from our room and the space in the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arizona

No surprises!!!

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: Everything except parking charge.
Cons: Parking.
Location: Jack London Square, Movies, Restaurants. Ferry, Free shuttle, and BART.
DID NOT appreciate the surprise $25/night for valet parking. Did not know, was not happy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Morning Room Service

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: the room was great and the bed was amazing.
Cons: room service.
My room service was not ready in the morning like I had instructed on my door. The request fell on the floor and was not taken to the restaurant/kitchen to be scheduled like I had requested. The frustrating part is when I called for room service and no one would answer the phone. I called the front desk and they could not get me connected. I tried five times and it rang a lot. I was running late and in the end they brought me something different than I had requested. sad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will be back

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Relaxing weekend, resturant good food Patio pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2015
If you are not on the ocean side you have to contend with the train going by 3-4 times a day and at night with the loud whistle blowing. The rooms are not very well insulated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lake County, CA.

Good accomodations quite close to everyting.

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Cons: Attention to detail. Although this facility is "generally" clean and well kept, there are little things here and there that demand attention.
Location: Close to everything - restaurants, entertainment, public transportation, ferry to San Francisco, AmTrak.
We stay here on and off, but whenever we stay in Oakland for sure. Walking distance to restaurants and entertainment, and walking distance to the San Francisco ferry. Staff is very friendly and accomodating. Facility is generally clean and well kept.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hidden Gem ~

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Was not surprised given the Joie de Vie reputation. The hotel is smallish so no cavernous lobby ...but this staff was uner nice. The rooms have character and yet aren't small dark or dreary. There's not a lot of umph in the decor, just sorta IKEA like ...