Ratings based on 1,048 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We enjoyed it a great deal, especially our view.

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: The location
We had a great time. We enjoyed the view from our room and the space in the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arizona

No surprises!!!

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: Everything except parking charge.
Cons: Parking.
Location: Jack London Square, Movies, Restaurants. Ferry, Free shuttle, and BART.
DID NOT appreciate the surprise $25/night for valet parking. Did not know, was not happy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Morning Room Service

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: the room was great and the bed was amazing.
Cons: room service.
My room service was not ready in the morning like I had instructed on my door. The request fell on the floor and was not taken to the restaurant/kitchen to be scheduled like I had requested. The frustrating part is when I called for room service and no one would answer the phone. I called the front desk and they could not get me connected. I tried five times and it rang a lot. I was running late and in the end they brought me something different than I had requested. sad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will be back

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Relaxing weekend, resturant good food Patio pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2015
If you are not on the ocean side you have to contend with the train going by 3-4 times a day and at night with the loud whistle blowing. The rooms are not very well insulated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lake County, CA.

Good accomodations quite close to everyting.

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Cons: Attention to detail. Although this facility is "generally" clean and well kept, there are little things here and there that demand attention.
Location: Close to everything - restaurants, entertainment, public transportation, ferry to San Francisco, AmTrak.
We stay here on and off, but whenever we stay in Oakland for sure. Walking distance to restaurants and entertainment, and walking distance to the San Francisco ferry. Staff is very friendly and accomodating. Facility is generally clean and well kept.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hidden Gem ~

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Was not surprised given the Joie de Vie reputation. The hotel is smallish so no cavernous lobby ...but this staff was uner nice. The rooms have character and yet aren't small dark or dreary. There's not a lot of umph in the decor, just sorta IKEA like ...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Tracy, CA

Nice hotel. Close to waterfront.

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Slept well. Shuttle to convention center within a mile. Felt safe
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, Calif

Great hotel near Jack London Square

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Area in which it was located
Totally enjoyed stay! Nice area near water & restaurants Train close but granddaughter loved it. Noise didn't wake me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel in a great location!

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Friendly staff, clean facility, great location! Only gripe are thin walls and the BART running nearby that constantly honks throughout the night.