Ratings based on 898 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Culver City, CA

Lovely hotel Jack London Square

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Staff calls after you register and settle in to ask if you need anything.
Cons: In my particular room...shower needed repair.
Location: Walking to restaurants, Jazz club and ferry to San Francisco .
Lovely experience at hotel. Charming, professional staff. Large selection of places to eat all in walking distance in Jack London Square. One small negative, shower needed repair so took bath instead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Great location

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: It is an older hotel ... maybe it's time for some upgrades
Location: See review above
This is a great location for Jack London Square, restaurants and easy access to SF via the Ferry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Humboldt co., CA

a few steps away from Jack London Square

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Eclectic nautical theme
Cons: a bit pricey
Location: Jack London Square, sailing charters, Heindon bar landmark, many restaurants, embarcadero walkway-runs along the estuary(waterfront)
We were in town to move our child into her dorm early the next day. We had a nice dinner in the restaurant at the hotel, and walked along the embarcadero in the evening.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Wrong side of the tracks

Posted Aug 16, 2014
As unlikely as it may seem since the location is on the Oakland waterfront, this is hotel sits just a block from a major railroad crossing. At various hours of the night trains blasted their horns repeatedly as they approached the crossing. I mean big trains with big horns. Not a good place to get a night's sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton Alberta Canada

Until we meet again

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: From the front desk to housekeeping everyone was friendly and accommodating. The view of the harbour was amazing, the pool area clean, location,.
Cons: Can"t think of anything.
Location: The hotel is on the waterfront, minutes from the ferry that can take you across the bay to San Francisco, and AT&T Park on Giants Game days.
We had the most enjoyable stay at the Waterfront Hotel. We would normally stay in San Francisco but we found the Waterfront, on Expedia. The location is perfect, the ferry dock is only walking distance from the hotel. There is also a free shuttle on Broadway to the Bart. The free way is only minutes away. The hotel d├ęcor is in a nautical theme and very pleasing. The staff is most helpful especially, Andre the doorman. We have already planned on staying at the Waterfront on our next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2014
I really do not want to write about my experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Best choice in Jack London Square!

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Super friendly staff, huge rooms, excellent amenities!
Cons: It would be really nice to upgrade the free-internet to a high-speed access, and valet per day is $25. Which I found to be expensive for the area.
Location: Movies, restaurants, boutiques, coffee shops, kayaking and boats, bike rental, arts and crafts fairs, farmers markets. Never a dull moment!
When we arrived-at 11 a.m., the hotel had our room ready immedately. We had a fantactic stay. There is so much to do in Jack London Square, we honestly didn't want to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Wonderful place to stay!

Posted Jul 10, 2014
We stayed two nights visiting our son in Oakland CA. First, the Waterfront staff was very customer service focused. Imee at the front desk is exceptional! Without even asking, she provided a thoughtful bottle of champagne when she found out it was our 35th anniversary when we checked in. Amazingly kind and considerate. Besides this, however, you could tell all the staff were well trained in serving everyone. The room was spotless and very comfortable. Yes, there is a train line nearby but it wasn't too bad and you need to adjust the thermostat in the room so the fan doesn't blow all the time. This and the $25 a night parking are kind of negative but you have valet parking and it is certainly safe. The hotel is beautiful with a nice fireplace in the lobby. The location cannot be better! It is next to a ferry station that is by far the best way to go into San Francisco. 30 minutes and you are right at the waterfront downtown. Jack London Square is a nice area especially compared to most other locations in Oakland. Like most hotels in the city the cost is much more during the week than on the weekend. The room overlooked the San Francisco Bat and the view was great. There is a nice park-like area outside the hotel with the same view towards the San Fran skyline. Overall, the Waterfront Hotel was a wonderful place to stay! Over time we have stayed in quite a few hotels near Oakland Airport and in Alameda. This is the best in this whole area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just 2 things:

Posted Jul 8, 2014
1) Front desk clerk called me and woke me up from a nap to ask me if room was satisfactory- I would rather not have been called- thanks..it also left phone message light blinking- annoying. 2) Maid entered my room thinking it was empty 5 minutes later. Also annoying. I was very appreciative that we were permitted to check in early. Nice hotel, nice pool, great location. We will come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

Staff/Location

Posted Jul 7, 2014
All of the staff members was super friendly. The location was great as the on and off ramps tot he freeway were close by.