Ratings based on 829 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

The staff were beyond welcoming and kind!

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: The great food and nice staff.
We were 12 hours into trip & stopped for the night. The dining experience was fabulous, the on site facilities were clean and neat, and they were just really really nice (every single one of them !). I don't know who, or how they got trained, but it was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Woodstock, Ga

HOtel review

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in for a while. I use to travel all the time and I spent most of my week in one motel or another. The staff was outstanding and very friendly. I go to Ocala two or three times a year and I will return to this motel all the time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Rosa Beach, FL

On the road for home!

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Location and good, king size bed. There were plenty of pillows, blankets, and towels.
Cons: The dining experience was difficult. We had to ask the waitress for a napkin, (so she only brought one!) We had to ask for silverware!
Just looking for a quick, convenient, overnight, very inexpensive, comfortable place to sleep close to I-75. Made the reservation easily from my iPad from my car--all went well! The staff were very friendly and the room was very comfortable. Only one un-desirable...two men smoking cigarettes and drinking beer right outside our door. Beer was not the problem. Cigarettes smell so badly! We dashed past them, unlocked the door quickly and dashed inside before the smell followed us in. We were in a no smoking room, and it did not smell, but 6 feet from our door, we were assaulted! We were very tired, and a couple hours rest inside the room later, it was such a blessing to walk to the restaurant to get quick dinner. Dinner was not QUICK, however! Apparently, the kitchen can only cook one hamburger at a time! I had finished mine before my husband's came out! It was all good, inexpensive, and filled us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Stephenfrom Apollo Beach

Awesome Staff

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had to travel to Ocala for a seminar. Checked the reviews of several hotels and deciced to stay at Howard Johnsons. Glad I did. The front deck service was very pleasant. The room was clean and everything worked as well. Very happy with this hotel. The lady that runs the breakfast area was very pleasant and helpful. They greet you as you walk in the fromt door. Thank you to the staff for a nice stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Grasshopper NiNifrom Tampabay Florida

Pleasantly Surprised

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
After reading the prior reviews I somewhat expected some of the issues, like hearing Highway noise in the room.. Well DUH they are right off of I75. We just kept the AC fan on at night to keep a constant milder sound in the room. Others spoke of the free continental breakfast being "Carb" only which it was, but had coffee and plenty of other places to eat in the area. The rooms are a little dated but clean and I was told at check out that next year there will be some changes ( maybe updates)We drove from the Tampabay area in our 1967 Chevelle with our 2 little Chihuahuas to attend the "Pumpkin Run" car show which was a blast with beautiful weather and very nice people and are planning on attending again next year... They only bad note even they are pet friendly and I was told they would charge me $10 each for my puppies instead of the $20 per dog as their combined weight would be less than a full sized dog, but just noticed my CC bill and they did charge me full price :-( But Whatever!!! See ya Next Year HOJO!!!.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paulfrom Smyrna, GA

HOJO Ocala

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great value for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mario

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ruthfrom west palm beach

sleepless night in Ocala!

Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Located right off the highway..no apparent insulation,so it was very noisy. Bed was as hard as a rock..