Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nick from wilmington, nc

Great family vacation

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Staff, bar, restaurants, beach, fishing and snorkeling
Cons: Wine availability at buffet dinner. Upgrades to some rooms.
Location: Dunns falls. Horse riding on the beach.
The location of the hotel on a sloping sand beach with clear shallow blue water, leading into close in snorkeling was great. Day time (and optional night) supervision for the kids meant we had a great family and couple orientated vacation - all in one week in one go. Hotel is "comfortable", clean and rooms are cool. This is not a plush resort but gives you home comforts, great location and the very attentive, professional nannies and other child orientated elements such as the kids club. The water slide and pool was great fun, while the main pool was plenty large for the number of guests using it to swim on sun themselves. The adjoining beach is open for walks, runs etc. Food was good. There were plenty of options including vegetarian. Breakfast was best with omelette station, fresh fruit, cereal, bacon, sausage and local Jamaican dishes. Dinner options were ok to good with the kids and adult/family buffet supplemented by Italian or Jamaican adult only restaurants. The cotton tree grill was very useful and the jerk pork or chicken and wraps were very tasty! The staff were the resort's biggest asset. Very friendly restaurant, bar, fishing/snorkeling, reception, kids club and nannies.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Getaway!

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Great service, Food, Drinks. We really enjoyed the Nanny! She really made our trip great!
Cons: Level of interior finishes.
My Husband, 8yr old son and I had a great time at FDR. Always something to do. Only left the resort one afternoon for an excursion. The nanny showed up at 9am, took our son for a tennis lesson and my husband & I would workout, drink coffee, etc... then we'd all have breakfast @ about 10, while the housekeeping was done. We had the perfect balance of family & adult time. The resort is the perfect size, perfect occupancy, ALWAYS something to do or just hang by the pool. We tipped out at the end, but only to a few people. Everything is included, even tips. Snorkeling, booze cruise, kayaks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by P from Toronto

Great place for the whole family

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Perfect mix of hanging with our daughter and having adult time while our nanny watched her. Don't expect anything fancy regarding the look of the hotel but the people and staff make up for and short comings
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Håkon from Oslo Norway / Houston, TX

Perfect destination for family travel to Caribbean

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Location: Bob Marley mausoleum is close by. Dunn´s river falls as well.
Small resort with good oversight and lots of activities for adults, children and teens. Your children will be fully occupied with other friends and activities, while you will get help with toddlers from the nanny. All rooms are bedroom suites. While we were there, my spouse and I did yoga several days, we had morning runs, did sailing, snorkeling, kayaking, in addition to read/swim/sunbath and other normal holiday things. Not bad when traveling with 3 children age 2-7. Thanks to a great resort which made everything very accessible. Also great Jamaican public beach close by for nice strolls. This resort is so good that many of the visitors was coming back year after year. This was our second time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Perfect hotel if you're traveling with kids!

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: The idea of having a dedicated nanny during your stay is so great. This is why the resort has repeat customers every year.
Cons: The bed in our room was a bit lumpy and sagged in the middle. Otherwise, the room was spacious, clean and comfortable.
Location: Jamaica is beautiful and the resort grounds/premises are well kept. We really didnt leave the resort except to see Dunn's River Falls- worth the trip
Excellent hotel with lovely staff- the nannies make it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rob from Toronto, ON, Canada

Great vacation destination for families with kids

Posted Jul 16, 2013
Pros: Our nanny (Lisa) was wonderful and the other staff was also very friendly and helpful.
Cons: The resort is a bit dated and certain things are worn, but in good shape overall and with good amenities.
Location: Nice little beach with access to the big beach at Jewel next door.
This was our first stay at the Franklyn D Resort and we now understand why the resort has so many loyal, repeat customers. The concept of providing nannies to the guests is brilliant and we were extremely happy with our nanny, Lisa. She helped out with out 5-month old, giving us the opportunity to enjoy some R&R and have a true vacation. We would definitely go back! The nannies and staff really made this vacation a great experience. We also liked the large rooms and had a 2-bedroom beachfront room that was great because we have two small children. While the resort is not brand new, it is relatively small and intimate. That was nice because you never have to travel too far to meals or if you need something from your room. The food was good, especially the Jamaican fare. Our son also loved the waterslides, the kids club and the pools. We went during the slow season, which was nice because nothing was very crowded. While there were scheduled daily activities, we found that the boat captain was willing to take us out fishing or snorkeling any time we wanted. FDR is definitely a resort for families with children, not singles or couples looking for romance. Small children are a lot of work 24x7 even on vacation, but having a full-time vacation nanny means parents can have a true vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Vacation Nanny... the best!

Posted May 10, 2013
We stayed 10 days at the beginning of May (off season) and had an incredible experience. Excellent food, comfortable rooms, sun, sand, excellent snorkeling, nearby horseback riding-- what a vacation! FDR is such a friendly resort where you feel like you know the staff and other guests quickly. Our 16 month old loved the nanny and we loved having some time each afternoon without him!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mike

Exactly what we hoped for

Posted May 4, 2013
FDR was a great resort. It is a small resort but provided exceptional service. The nanny was fantastic she just did not watch after my 2 year old but was a playmate and became her friend. She always have different games and events for the baby to do. The room was clean and open with two California doors separating the main room and the bed room. Truly an all inclusive resort all food, drinks (including a bottle of wine for the room), and beach facilities (kayak, glass bottom boat). Staff was friendly knew us by our names by the end of the trip. Great place if you want to chill and hang around the resort not a great place if you are looking for night life or to go into town. The resort is in a remote location, however they do offer tours and free trips into Ocho Rios (1hr away). Overall we had a great time and it was nice to go on vacation with the little one but still get a break a few hrs everyday to hang out with out and take a nap on the beach again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Debbie from Toronto, ON, Canada

We will be back!

Posted Apr 30, 2013
Pros: The vacation nanny was wonderful... We also loved the food.
Cons: Limited activities during slower season...
Location: Lovely location. The resort was safe and seemed well cared for.
We really enjoyed our stay at FDR. It is definately a resort for families with small children. Our vacation nanny was attentive and almost insisted that we take time for ourselves to relax. Our kids loved the time they spent with her so we took advantage when we felt it was appropriate. We met some wonderful people there too. The staff were great and the other families were so much fun. The food is all made from scratch including all the baked goods and the staff were very proud of this. The negatives were few... we did go at a "slower" time so there were less families in general. This meant that the usual schedules for activities were not always followed. The staff did try to accommodate us as much as possible. As well, the restaurants were on a rotating schedule however, if we wanted to have a specific item from any of the menus of the restaurants, they would prepare it especially for us, anytime. I believe that this is the type of resort that you should visit more than once. We certainly will!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Best place in the Caribbean for families.

Posted Apr 25, 2013
This is a fantastic hotel for families with kids. Don't expect super-modern and fancy; but the place is designed for kids to play and parents to relax. We did.