Ratings based on 398 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary from Ontario

Top notch excellence

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: The rooms were clean, hotel staff amazing and ready to help or answer any questions. I found the front desk to be very helpful and courteous.
Cons: Nothing can be improved, I can't think of anything that I wasn't satisfied with.
Location: Everything is right on the resort. My 16 year old daughter and myself had a stone massage. , visited Dunns River Falls and enjoyed the beach and pool
This was our first experience at an "all inclusive resort" and I will go back for sure. We have already recommended it to all our friends. The grounds are impeccable, the staff are friendly and always ready to help. When we first arrived, it took my breath away. We took a bus excursion to another part of Jamaica and on the way we picked up other people at other resorts Nothing compared to the Grand Bahia Principe. We felt so safe and pampered there, completely what you want for your vacation. The food was delicious and there was more than enough of a variety for whatever you wanted. I highly recommend this resort, it was top notch!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nick from Leicester

Great Staff, Great pool and on a Beautiful Beach.

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Location: Jerk Chicken on the Beach and Great Night time entertainment
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Location: There is nothing to do nearby without a car or eles they will tax you high on the taxis
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 18, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jennifer from NYC

Great staff!

Posted Dec 17, 2013
The entertainment crew really made my stay better. The way they interacted with us was great. The pool was the best place to be. The beach is not that great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Rude Staff and Corner Cutting

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Pros: Beautiful Pool; Close to Ocho Rios; Great Beach Access Cons: Unfriendly and Unhelpful Staff; Zero Internet Access; Never Any Beach Towels; A La Carte Restaurants Never Available Honestly, although the hotel itself is quite nice, the rude staff and corner cutting are really discouraging. We were told that the a la carte restaurants were completely booked yet every time we walked past them to the buffet each restaurant was empty (or had very few guests). It was absolutely impossible to get internet access. There is only "free" WIFI in the main lobby but it is very slow and near impossible to use. Every staff member we came into contact with was extremely rude save one and there were never any fresh beach towels at the towel stand. On top of that, our room was consistently missing necessary amenities or our mini fridge was not re-stocked. When we called down for shampoo (because there was none in our room upon arrival), we were treated poorly and the staff complained. Overall, I DO NOT recommend this experience. There are much better options available for your Jamaican vacation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mysterymeat from grand rapids mi

Great hotel.

Posted Dec 5, 2013
If you go to the beach make the extra walk tourds the end and the last beach bar. It's the best area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Edwin from Queens, NY

Loved this place. We had a great time!!!

Posted Dec 5, 2013
The staff made our experience a delight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maria from New York, NY

Posted Nov 28, 2013
Pros: Great food, as a vegetarian I had a great variety to eat. Wonderful views from room balcony.
Cons: No solicitations from staff members to female guests. Include morning and evening Yoga and guided bike tours
Location: Easy to get to Ocho Rios by bus or taxi
3 out of 5
by Lisa from Austin, USA

Huge resort, not enough staff, leaky ceiling

Posted Nov 18, 2013
The resort is nice but is very very big. You have to walk pretty far to get to everything. They had 4 restaurants but only 1 was open on any given night and when we arrived on a Tuesday there was no availability for a dinner until Saturday!!! So we were stuck eating the buffet food which wasn't awful but it's robbery to have the restaurants and not be able to dine in them. The beach by the pool was man made and rocky. So if you wanted to keep your things near the pool and go back and forth it wasn't happening. The nicer beach was on the other side of the resort, a 10 minute walk away, but you were far from any entertainment. The room was nice but unless you pay for a view you are staring out at a white concrete wall. Also I had a leak in my room from the ceiling that they never fixed, they only mopped it up every day, which is unacceptable. I guess they figure unless you throw a fit they will keep you in a room with a leaking ceiling. Other than that the majority of guests were Canadian. My friend and I were the only 2 Americans and we would have liked a little more diversity.