Ratings based on 556 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Everything
The staff was awesome. The best bartender was Garnet. Yasiel served us drinks by the pool he was awesome. Lifeguard Snoop made sure we had seats every morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful place in Ocho Rios.

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: The beach
Cons: The buffet
Location: Blue hole. Scotchies restaurant is local and a mile and half down the street. Overlook bar. Snorkel is worth it
Resort is very relaxed, clean, great beach, good service, remember Jamaica's idea of a five star resort and your are different. This is a solid 3 and a half. Thankfully we went here and not a couple of other places we were looking at that were cheaper. NOT a super mega resort. Much more intimate than the neighboring resort. Go to the BLUE HOLE, avoid Dunns River falls, its sponsored by the hotels so they encourage it but we went to the Blue Hole, beautiful natural spring waterfall, jumping off of the hillsides into the prettiest water I could imagine. Only beer they have is Red Stripe but its on tap and pretty good. Bartenders can get busy at times but that's part of a big resort. ALways found a good spot on the beach and the quiet pool. The main pool gets taken up quickly so have someone get up early and throw down a towel and a book before breakfast and you will be good to go. Pizza restaurant and the beachside grill had the best food. Buffet is OK at best but the omelet station was a good breakfast. OK entertainment and overall the hotel staff made up for everything else just by being very very cool. In Jamaica everything is truly "no problem man".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel great pool!

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff
Cons: They need to do a better job with the drink menu. Very limited wine choices and named brand liquor
Location: The Blue hole is a must. Stay away from the duty free zone the deals are not good at all!
Overall a fun 6 days. The spa and food was very good. While the bar menu left a bit to be desired
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AC from TN

Will not go anywhere else!!!

Posted Apr 8, 2014
This place is awesome!!!!! I have friends that have stayed at other hotels in Jamaica but this one beats all!!! Resort is beautiful, staff super friendly and helpful, and view is to die for!!!! This was one of the best decisions!!!
Comment from
Jan 11, 2014
Dear Guest, We are really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope you visit Jamaica again and stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Teacher from U.S.

Great hotel for adults of all ages

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Pros--child free; friendly guests but could comfortably stay separated if desired
Cons: Activities team should stay off the microphone for games; most guests were not interested in water bingo!
A relaxing hotel with an extremely friendly staff; seems even smaller than it is because it is dwarfed by the huge Riu next door--this emphasized the pleasant break from staying with a crowd. Guests ranged from young honeymooners to senior citizens-- mostly Americans, but with guests from a wide range of countries around the world. We spent a week without leaving the property--primarily because it was so expensive to use the taxis or go on tours. However, we just wanted to soak up the sun, eat, and sleep--so this was perfect. The beach is not large, but certainly adequate and well maintained. Floating in the pool was so relaxing. We did not have anyone approach us on the beach (it's fairly cut off from pedestrian traffic), and we had no qualms about leaving personal belongings at our chairs around the pool while eating or swimming. The trip from the airport can range from two hours to four hours depending upon the size of your bus and number of stops at hotels. If you have not been to the island before, it is an opportunity to see the the geography and variety of economic situations.
Comment from
Jan 11, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are really happy to hear you truly enjoyed your stay. Come see us again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kristen from New York

The best resort in Montego Bay

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: The resort was nice and spacious. It may have just been the time we went, but I liked the fact that it never felt too full of people.
Cons: The stretch of beach could be bigger
Location: The resort is right by Ocho Rios and has a lot of things to do like Dunn's River Fall and Dolphin Cove.
My boyfriend and I were planning a "budget" trip to the Caribbean and were looking at various locations/all-inclusive hotels all over. Once we chose Jamaica/Montego Bay-- we had several windows open before deciding on the Jewel. Not only were the reviews true, but this resort more than exceeded our expectations. The resort isn't too big so it's very easy to navigate and find all the accommodations that are available. The food was surprisingly good and there was always a wide variety of food to choose from. My favorite restaurant while there was Coral Cafe right by the pool area-- buffet style and casual. I have to give an extra shout out to a very special employee at The Jewel by the name of Kevin. We met him the first day we got there and I can't begin to say how friendly, helpful and outgoing he is. Kevin always greeted us with a smile and treated us like family giving us great recommendations for tours outside the resort and also for food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ellen from new york

Great time

Posted Apr 5, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Debbie & Dennis from Boston, MA, USA

Fun in the Sun

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: We enjoyed the pools, entertainment staff & overall look of the hotel. Room was beautiful with a great view of the ocean.
Cons: The smell in the tree lounge was musty. Food could use more flavor
Location: Took a cab with a man named Henry who was wonderful. He took us to local villages & through a Rain Forest that was so awesome to see.
First trip to Jamaica. My husband & I had a wonderful time. The hotel was beautiful & very clean. The beach was a little small & not very appealing to use but the pools were great. The hotel staff was very friendly & accommodating. The food was good but not a lot of spice. My favorite restaurant was the Jade Samurai. The only restaurant you need a reservation for, but well worth it. I would suggest booking when you arrive as it takes a few days to get a spot The best thing about the hotel was the entertainment staff. Baby Face, Happy Feet, Sassy, Cocoa were amazing they were always doing games & entertainment by the pool. Then put on wonderful shows @ night. They were very engaging & seemed to know all the guests. The house band was fabulous too. The pool bartenders were always very attentive. I would highly recommenced this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great resort. beautiful, fun, friendly

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: You can wander around the hotel and find fun things to do. You dont need to plan your day, just throw on a bathing suit and walk around
Cons: I wouldve liked to hear more Bob Marley at the resort! There were times when music was blasting and times with no music...i expected non-stop regae
Location: Dolphin Cove is a must-see. I would skip Dunn's River Falls though.
I loved this place and didnt want to leave! The place is clean, the people are friendly, the beach is beautiful, everything was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Great resort

Posted Mar 31, 2014
It was our first time staying in an all inclusive resort. Jewel Dunn's River definitely far exceeded our expectations. The only complaint I have is I wish our stay was longer. The staff was very welcoming from the moment we arrived till our departure. The atmosphere was amazing and truly relaxing. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone!