Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by si from London

Brilliant beach

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Food is great, premium brand spirits. Entertainment day and into evening which you can get away from if you like. Beach is is wonderful. I have been to jamaica many times and this us best beach outside of negril. Staff make the hotel. They are brilliant. Will definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Pete from Wilmington, NC

Nice Hotel Resort

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Clean and friendly. Affordable.
Cons: Food, Food, Food.
Location: Many attractions, including snorkeling, waterfalls, zip lines and shopping. Shoppers beware the peddlers are extremely persistent and aggressive.
First time at an all inclusive resort. We usually are more adventurous in our travel and like to stay at small boutique hotels or B and Bs but for the sake of time and convenience we opted for an all inclusive. Staff was extremely friendly and courteous. Grounds were immaculate and clean. Beach was clean and not crowded. Water was crystal clear. Bartenders filled your drinks as fast as you could gulp them down, Great homemade pina coladas and other mixed drinks. Only beer they had was Red Stripe... almost impossible to get wine without waiting a long time. Food was mediocre... Six restaurants to choose from but the buffet was the best and I am not a buffet kind of person. Breakfast at the buffet was very good and you could have made to order omelettes. Service is outstanding. The "Grill" restaurant was really bad, kids usually lined up for that one, jerk chicken sandwich tasted like processed McDonald's crap, I took one bite and threw it away. The Pizza Cafe was nice outside dining but the pies were about on par with dominoes. Overall if you want a nice place to stay for a few days without the headache of finding restaurants and entertainment this is your place. Good snorkeling spot and very safe beach and grounds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DG from Canada

Friendly staff...awesome beach.

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: the friendliness of the staff. It was close to the beach. Bars were everywhere. It is easy to find your way around. Evening entertainment is good.
Cons: more lightening at the beach buffet. Fix the electrical outlets in the lobby bar area.
Location: Location was good. Shopping at Ocho Rios was easy. There is a bus from the hotel that goes there daily. Lots of excursions to choose from.
Clean hotel with very friendly staff. Weather was good except for the one day we wanted to do an excursion. Food was ok. Beach was clean. Security on the beach as well as at the main door. Staff speak English well. The excursion we went on to the luminescent pool was not that great. The captains need to turn the lights on when people are getting on and off the boat. Would not recommend this excursion. It ruined my bathing suit due to the "mud" at the bottom of the water. Our bus ride from the airport to the hotel was scary. The bus didn't have lots of power and there were some small hills that we didn't think we were going to get up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cheri from Maine, USA

Excellent Vacation!

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Staff members were very friendly. Food was plentiful. Lots of choices and there was something for everyone. Snorkeling right off the beach!
Cons: The beach was littered with cigarette butts. This is a guest problem but a sign would help or some alternative container for butts might corral it.
Location: The resort was about 1.5 hours from Montego Bay airport. We did not leave the resort once we arrive so can't comment on areas around resort.
We had a great week at this laid-back resort. Our room was comfortable, clean. Maid service always made a towel creation on our bed daily. Also put out flower petals on the bed for Valentine's Day. Shower had great water pressure and plenty of hot water. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was great - lots of choices from grill foods to local fare. Plentiful food at the buffet. Drinks were great - if any complaint, it would be that they are heavy handed with the alcohol. I had to keep saying, "Whoa!" or it would be too strong for my taste. Activities were available all day - we mostly relaxed by the pool and on the beach. Snorkeling off the beach was fabulous. Lots of sea life to look at there. The nightly entertainment was so-so. The steel drum orchestra=fantastic! The rest of the week, not so much. Since we were there over Valentine's Day, they put up an amazing buffet that night with steak & lobster. We would go back to this resort again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cale from Illinois

Great place needing room updates.

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: The friendliness of all the staff, on-going activites for entertainment all day and evening long, clean beach, watersports and a great pizza garden.
Cons: The Rooms, The Rooms, The Rooms. Very outdated with poor craftmanship of the minor improvements that had been done. Bathrooms are too small!
Location: Did not leave resort because there were more than enough activities to be entertained on the resort.
Upon arrival, my wife and I were greeted by the most polite staff willing to help in any way needed. There was never a dull moment with daily activity boards listing the days activities and staff that was sure to entertain us somehow. Evening entertainment was great and our trip was capped by an outstanding performance by the Silver Birds Steel drum band. WOW, was that awesome! For a smaller resort, this place packed a good punch. On the flip side, upon entry to our room, I was very disappointed. I know we only spent several hours each evening in the room but I look to these rooms to represent the same paradise the exterior atmosphere provided. The outdated decor, small bathrooms with poor craftsmanship and 747 like room air conditioners are not what I had imagined. I stayed in Riviera Maya a few years ago for the same price and experienced a room three times the size of this with far more updates and WOW factor features. I would visit again but would hope the rooms would have far better improvements before my return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SHANE from NEW YORK

Fabulous time

Posted Feb 8, 2014
Pros: WE UP GRADES TO A SUITE AND THE VIEW WAS FANTASTIC. tHE STAFF CAME EVERY TIME WE CALLED AND DID NOT MAKE US WAITE.
Cons: MORE CHNAGE ON HAND
Location: STAYED AT THE RESORT. THERE WAS ENOUGH TO US US BUSY THERE.
We had a wonderful time. The staff was always available to help. They came up to us all the time and asked if there was anything we needed. The food was great and plenty of it. The weather was great for all our stay. This was our first time, but will not be the last.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy from Michigan

Great food, great staff

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: Staff, beach, food
Cons: Some rooms need updating
Location: Beach beautiful.
Our bedroom was a little dated (but clean). This was more than made for by great resort, great location, great beach and above all the most friendly and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ken from Rochester, NY

Honeymoon- Jewel Runaway Bay

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: The Staff was great! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The Italian Restaurant was my favorite, but the burgers near the pool were addicting.
Cons: My Wife said during one of her showers before dinner the water didn't get hot.
Location: Went Horseback riding at "chukka" about 15min away. Guides and staff were great! Especially "George"!
Great experience overall! Was very laid back and easy to relax. My only complaint is that we we didn't stay longer. Next time we will book for a few more days. The service was great, was difficult to finish a drink before the bartender had another one in front of you. We will either book here again or one of the other Jewel resorts nearby that are "Adults Only".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by zeth from New York

Great place to stay in Jamaica.

Posted Jan 12, 2014
I had a wonderful time at this hotel, the staffs were very helpful, and the good was. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Annemarie from New York

Lovely hotel

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Pros: So many things
This hotel is one of the best hotel I have been so far. The entertaining staff was off the chain. There were always surprising every night with great fun. What a night of fun we had!!!!. Overall it is very difficult to rate the staff individual because all of the areas were pure excellence and accomodating. Jeffery the chef made special attention to my mother's diet. My mother has special diet needs and he made sure and her needs were met. He did it with so much pride and had to take picture of her meal every day because it was so beautiful prepared. I cannot stop talking about this hotel and cannot wait to be back. Matter of fact, my cousin will be having a wedding there in July and when I came back she was telling me of some negatives she heard about the hotel.I was happy to make her feel comfortable. Cannot wait to be back!!!!