Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2014
The only problem that I had with this hotel is that they had our check out day wrong. When my husband and I went to go to our room after a long day out, our key to the room didn't work. Went to the front desk to see what was happening that is when we found out that they had made an error and thought we were supposed to check out on that day. Another thing is that when we finally got back into the room we saw that the room hadn't been cleaned because of this, which was a major inconvenience to us. Spoke with the supervisor and he was very sorry about it and so on. This was my only complaint with the hotel. Other than that I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Winston from Atlanta, Ga

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Jan 9, 2014
My room was upstairs from the kitchen and it was very noisy. from very early in the morning to late at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Theresa from CT,USA

Gem!!!

Posted Jan 2, 2014
The hotel is a nice casual laid back hotel but the rooms are very nice and modern and cozy. Location is out of the way which is nice to get away from hustle and bustle. Food very pricey which is my only negative. Key card system works well and gives no problem getting into room at first try. Second time my mother and I have stayed there but took my daughter who was pleasantly surprised after three days in all inclusive resort. We all would definitely recommend and will be staying there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice view from the hill

Posted Aug 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
All the staff at the Cardiff were very kind and welcoming, if not terribly informed about the sites in the area (e.g., they were totally unsure about what time Dunn's River Falls opened). In general, we found the hotel grounds perched on a hill overlooking the ocean to be very peaceful and beautiful, but the surrounding neighborhood down at sea level felt a little dicey, especially once the sun went down. Unfortunately, the hotel staff couldn't recommend anywhere to eat closer than Ocho Rios (1/2 hour drive east) so we were on our own to explore since we didn't particularly want to eat at the hotel restaurant, which was pricey, as you'd expect. Our room was comfortable with lots of pillows and a great balcony, but there was a slight mildew smell when we got there. Fortunately after we opened all the doors to the balcony it dissipated for the most part. We stayed for one night only and it suited our needs. It's not the most luxurious place, but it's cozy and except for what I've already mentioned, we didn't really have any complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London ontario

Just what we needed

Posted Apr 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
I like that it is a hotel that trains young people. All the staff was friendly , but bar closes early so bring some beer . the only thing is that there are no restaurants within walking distance. Breakfast was good
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kirk from Nova Scotia, Canada

Loved The Heart !

Posted Jan 9, 2012
Pros: The views, the staff, the grounds. All very relaxing.
Cons: Choice of food a little limited.
Location: In the hills above Runaway Bay. Access to private beach a little distance away.
I've been travelling to Jamaica for over 10 years. It's always difficult to find good quality independent hotels to get away from the package experience.The Heart is a little gem of a place in the hills above Runaway Bay.The hotel is very secure, the grounds are lovely and offer a beautiful view of the Bay below.The staff were extremely pleasant and always smiling.The room was clean and comfortable and overall, my stay was very relaxing and enjoyable.You're not getting a stay at The Hilton but the price is just right for the experience.I have paid similar prices in Jamaica previously and had very disappointing experiences, with dirty rooms and unhelpful staff. For me,The Heart is the perfect balance between luxury and value. Great job guys, thank you. I've been back once already !
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from london

hearts hotel in runaway bay jamaica

Posted Jan 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
stayed at hearts hotel new name is cardiff hotel and spa the hotel and all the staff where wonderful and very friendly. The hotel is in a beautiful location with a view to kill for looking over the great carbbiean sea the hotel is kept in a very clean way. The rooms where very clean and in very good decorative order. I stayed for four days went to negril to a hotel that I had booked for seven days checked out after four nights and came back to hearts hotel for the rest of my holiday. I would recommend this hotel to everyone to stay when comming to jamaica.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by LIZZY from Charlotte, NC

INTERESTING...

Posted Jan 3, 2012
Pros: THE ROOM
Cons: THE STAFF
Location: OFF THE BEACH, BUT FLAVORS BEACH IS AT THE BOTTOM OF THE HILL. A PUBLIC BEACH, THERE ARE A LOT OF JAMAICANS THERE WHICH TO ME, MAKES IT INTERESTING
THIS HOTEL IS IN TRANSITION, BUT THE FACILITY WAS AMAZING. IT HAD A VERY "STUFFY" FEEL, NOT VERY FRIENDLY ATMOSPHERE. EVERYONE WAS PLEASANT ENOUGH, BUT IN SUCH A FORMAL WAY. BEAUTIFUL VIEWS FROM THE ROOM. TROUBLE GETTING SUPPLIES REPLENISHED AND ICE WAS NOT READILY AVAILABLE. THE POOL WAS NICE...PRETTY MUCH HAD IT TO MYSELF. I HOPE THEY WILL LOOK AT THE SMALL DETAILS SUCH AS LIGHTING IN THEIR RENOVATION. THE BAR WAS LOVELY, BUT THE TV WAS BLARING MOST OF THE TIME AND THE FLOURESCENT BULBS IN THE HANGING LIGHT WERE WAY TOO BRIGHT TO CREATE A NICE BAR ATMOSPHERE. THE RESTAURANT HAD A NICE MENU, BUT THE SERVICE WAS LACKING. VERY SLOW TO RESPOND TO REQUESTS EVEN THOUGH IT WAS NOT BUSY. THEY WOULD BE IN TROUBLE IF THEY HAD A CROWD. THE MAINTENANCE MANAGER ERIC, WAS VERY INTERESTED IN MY CRITIQUE WHILE I WAS THERE. I AM GLAD THAT I ONLY HAD 3 NIGHTS THERE. I WAS OFF THE PROPERTY MOST OF MY STAY, BUT WHEN I WAS THERE, IT WAS LIKE MY OWN PRIVATE VILLA SINCE THERE WERE VERY FEW GUESTS. INTERESTING HOTEL WITH LOTS OF POTENTIAL. GOOD FOR A QUIET GETAWAY, BUT DON'T EXPECT TO BE ENTERTAINED....
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

RunnerWayBay Heart Hotel in Jamaica

Posted Apr 26, 2011 on Hotels.com
Great experience. The hotel was well maintained, the grounds were clean. The parking is limited. You must look carefully for the sign to the hotel when driving on the highway. My friends and i missed it and went further in the town, but the locals were very helpful and gave us proper and clear direction. The double beds were a bit small, otherwise all the other amenities were in excellent condition. Dining at the hotel is limited, the restaurant closes at 9/10 pm, but the food is good.