Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

My week at the Koklen . July 2014

Posted Jul 26, 2014
An absolutely charming, intimate hotel. All the staff are wonderful. Every need is taken care of immediately and with kindness and grace. I recommend this hotel for traveling lovers, couples and those searching for a personal touch far from home. Absolutely a top rating from me!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great hotel in walking distance of the Opera House

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: The people. Just a terrific staff--every person! So nice, so helpful!
Cons: Not a thing!
WoW! Legendary customer service...all the way from helping me with my lost luggage to putting up with my erratic schedules, this hotel stands above the rest!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Apr 21, 2014
I was only there for a short stay but I was very impressed with all aspects of the hotel and the service I received there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Canada

Surprised this is #1

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: A good location; a very comfortable room; good quality food; good value for money
Cons: I didn't find the staff overly helpful...they sent me to the wrong location on a map; and the manager was ok...but not exceptional
Location: Lots to do nearby...location is just fine
When I arrived at the hotel I expected something a little more elegant...the lobby is quite modest. I was warmly greeted...too warmly since the manager thought I was someone else! Then the key didn't work for my room...it took 4 tries...not quite what one wants after 20 hours of flying! But the hotel is very clean; it's well fitted out. I chose a superior room but not sure it was any more superior than the other rooms judging from the floor plan chart on the door. Had breakfast and dinner in the adjoining cafe and did enjoy both...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chris from Chisinau, Moldova

Best Place to Stay in Odessa!!

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: As I said, the absolutely cleanest hotel EVER!!
Cons: The only thing that could be improved would have been a longer stay.
Location: The primary pedestrian zones are a five minute walk away with several different dinning options available.
I stayed in Odessa for two nights on 15/16 March 2014. I had tried to find cheap apartments but to no avail. I then found the Frederic Koklen and was glad I did. It is by far the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in and I have been in quite a few. Upon arrival, I was greeted in wonderful English (although I speak Russian and did not need English) and was quickly checked in. I was given maps and suggestions for what to see nearby and given the hotel's location, there is no need to drive anywhere. I parked my car right out front and walked for the entire stay. The rooms are very well appointed and include many details not found in other hotels. I was in 305 which was located in the back and was almost too quiet. The only sound I heard was what I thought could have been a hotwater boiler but this did not detract from the ambiance at all. The restaurant is small but very well decorated and the food is wonderful. Clearly this was not something frozen or made in bulk but to order. The service in the restaurant was superb (I believe one person was Yana) and while I did not eat a full meal there, I am confident that it is top-notch. In short, you MUST stay here when in Odessa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Teamfox from London

Lovely Comfortable rooms

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Everything was good about this Hotel, from the great staff right through to the original rooms and furnishings, very luxury, and a great nights sleep.Only complaint was when I was in the Restaurant, it took over 1 hour for my dinner order, and then I was told to wait another 30 minutes for a simple desert, so I left. But the first course of Steak was lovely!! and I thought prices were very reasonable. I would definately come back, the staff were so friendly and proud of their Hotel,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tim from Derbyshire UK

Excellent Hotel close to city centre

Posted Dec 17, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Facility to make tea and coffee in the room
Location: Close to the city centre and the harbour. Odessa is a beautiful city with magnificent buildings, shopping and restaurants
Everything about this hotel exceeded my expectations. From the moment i arrived the friendly and efficient staff made me feel very much at home. My room was spacious, beautifully furnished and comfortable with every facility catered for. The hand written welcome note was a nice touch and reinforced the managements desire to provide an excellent service.Dinner and breakfast in the "Sophie" restaurant was delicious,well presented and the staff attentive, helpful and friendly. All in all a very relaxing and pleasant experience. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Edward from California

Beautiful Hotel! Excellent staff

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Pros: Everything, specially the friendly service and room comfort.
Cons: It would be nice if the hotel had a pool or more services.
Location: Millenium Club is a block away and it is a short walk to the center where you can take a cinderella horse carage ride through the city
All staff spoke excellent English and were incredibly accomodating. The Hotel and rooms are beautiful and it is a quick walk to all the action down town. Water pressure and temperature was stable and our room had a lovely balcony that opened up to the street. restful and quiet street with the best upscale disco club (Millenium) a block away. The hotel restaurant was good. Truly an enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mikey from atlanta

Small hotel on the edge of the city center.

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Loved this hotel. Charming, decorated in old world style. They offered transfer service from the airport. A real plus was Cafe Sophie next door. Great food at good prices. We are there three times.