Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Hotel , close to the city centre

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Services , Staff and nice atmosphere
Cons: Everything seems to be nice to me
Location: Very nice location , town centre is near by for out and about
It was short time but I really had a pleasant moment at this hotel, staff are friendly and wonderful atmosphere . From 0 to 10 my rate 9.8 excellent . Thank you very much
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2014
The staff was extremely polite and helpful, the Cafe offered excellent service and food, room was clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Excellent hotel close to everthing

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The hotel was clean and the staff made my stay.
Cons: If I had a complaint was the lack of English language TV. I would have liked a few more choices.
Location: The hotel was within walking distance of the Opera House, Potemkin Stairs, and Primorsky Boulevard as well as many other tourist attractions.
I can not say enough about the hotel and its staff. I arrived on Sept. 20, 2014 and checked out on Sept. 29th. From the moment I arrived until I left the hotel staff was absolutely excellent. First, I needed to change money to the Ukrainian currency...no problem, the hotel sent one of their staff to the bank to change my currency. The second day I was informed that my room was being upgraded so that I could have a balcony. The restaurant , although small was again excellent. Food was great, if at times to much for me to eat and was very very reasonable. One of the servers in particular, Yana was specially good and very accommodating. Since I do not speak Russian or Ukrainian I was a little concerned at first.....but that was a concern I need not have had. The front office staff and the restaurant staff all spoke English very competently and I had no problem throughout my stay. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone contemplating a trip to Odessa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

My week at the Koklen . July 2014

Posted Jul 26, 2014
An absolutely charming, intimate hotel. All the staff are wonderful. Every need is taken care of immediately and with kindness and grace. I recommend this hotel for traveling lovers, couples and those searching for a personal touch far from home. Absolutely a top rating from me!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great hotel in walking distance of the Opera House

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: The people. Just a terrific staff--every person! So nice, so helpful!
Cons: Not a thing!
WoW! Legendary customer service...all the way from helping me with my lost luggage to putting up with my erratic schedules, this hotel stands above the rest!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Apr 21, 2014
I was only there for a short stay but I was very impressed with all aspects of the hotel and the service I received there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Canada

Surprised this is #1

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: A good location; a very comfortable room; good quality food; good value for money
Cons: I didn't find the staff overly helpful...they sent me to the wrong location on a map; and the manager was ok...but not exceptional
Location: Lots to do nearby...location is just fine
When I arrived at the hotel I expected something a little more elegant...the lobby is quite modest. I was warmly greeted...too warmly since the manager thought I was someone else! Then the key didn't work for my room...it took 4 tries...not quite what one wants after 20 hours of flying! But the hotel is very clean; it's well fitted out. I chose a superior room but not sure it was any more superior than the other rooms judging from the floor plan chart on the door. Had breakfast and dinner in the adjoining cafe and did enjoy both...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chris from Chisinau, Moldova

Best Place to Stay in Odessa!!

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: As I said, the absolutely cleanest hotel EVER!!
Cons: The only thing that could be improved would have been a longer stay.
Location: The primary pedestrian zones are a five minute walk away with several different dinning options available.
I stayed in Odessa for two nights on 15/16 March 2014. I had tried to find cheap apartments but to no avail. I then found the Frederic Koklen and was glad I did. It is by far the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in and I have been in quite a few. Upon arrival, I was greeted in wonderful English (although I speak Russian and did not need English) and was quickly checked in. I was given maps and suggestions for what to see nearby and given the hotel's location, there is no need to drive anywhere. I parked my car right out front and walked for the entire stay. The rooms are very well appointed and include many details not found in other hotels. I was in 305 which was located in the back and was almost too quiet. The only sound I heard was what I thought could have been a hotwater boiler but this did not detract from the ambiance at all. The restaurant is small but very well decorated and the food is wonderful. Clearly this was not something frozen or made in bulk but to order. The service in the restaurant was superb (I believe one person was Yana) and while I did not eat a full meal there, I am confident that it is top-notch. In short, you MUST stay here when in Odessa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Teamfox from London

Lovely Comfortable rooms

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Everything was good about this Hotel, from the great staff right through to the original rooms and furnishings, very luxury, and a great nights sleep.Only complaint was when I was in the Restaurant, it took over 1 hour for my dinner order, and then I was told to wait another 30 minutes for a simple desert, so I left. But the first course of Steak was lovely!! and I thought prices were very reasonable. I would definately come back, the staff were so friendly and proud of their Hotel,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tim from Derbyshire UK

Excellent Hotel close to city centre

Posted Dec 17, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Facility to make tea and coffee in the room
Location: Close to the city centre and the harbour. Odessa is a beautiful city with magnificent buildings, shopping and restaurants
Everything about this hotel exceeded my expectations. From the moment i arrived the friendly and efficient staff made me feel very much at home. My room was spacious, beautifully furnished and comfortable with every facility catered for. The hand written welcome note was a nice touch and reinforced the managements desire to provide an excellent service.Dinner and breakfast in the "Sophie" restaurant was delicious,well presented and the staff attentive, helpful and friendly. All in all a very relaxing and pleasant experience. Thank you.