Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Trippel from Meyrin

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room lacks a chair and table. The bathroom is too small and unconmfortable. There was hot water only once in one week. Breakfast is very small. The roomprice is cheap but too expensive for the quality offered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by erick from oklahoma

I like it , location is great.

Posted Aug 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
I have really enjoyed it. the staff is very helpful they will make phone calls for you pretty much do whatever you need I highly recommend the staff there very good. they all speak English they will call the taxi for you they will call a museum you're very helpful.location is very good it is halfway between the train station in the central part of the city not very far to walkthe more expensive London hotel is only a block away so the location is very good.the free breakfast leave something to be said to be desiredor a lower price hotel I like it very muchand will stay here again when I come to Odessa
1 out of 5
by Nick from USA

Horrible monstrosity

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Pros: Central location.
Cons: Nothing could be done to improve it. It should be demolished immediately.
Location: The location is good, central, within walking distance of the main areas of interest for visitors.
This is the worst so called "hotel " I had ever stayed in. It is a Soviet style monstrosity that should have never been built in the first place. The "bathroom' is maybe one square foot larger than the typical airplane bathroom. Unbelievable place. It should be torn down immediately or should be converted into a shelter for the homeless.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wal from Melbourne VIC, Australia

Zirka Hotel in Odessa

Posted Jul 1, 2013
Pros: Functional rooms and convenient location
Cons: No mirror in bathroom, poor breakfast
The first impression is the small size of the room. I tried both 'economy' options: with window and without. I was happy with the cheapest room as I did not really need the window but for those 'claustrophobic' guests it may be worth paying extra 5-10 bucks for the window. Disappointing was the absence of mirror in the bathroom. But everything worked and I was impressed with availability of power points! One will not regret skipping breakfast though. Boiled egg or salty sausage with piece of bread or small pancake is very basic. There is however a 24hr general store across the road. 4 out of 5 may be generous but I required only a place to sleep and I was satisfied with what I got for the price. The hotel is located close to the centre (only 20 min walk to the popular Deribasovskaya St).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic hotel - you get what you pay for

Posted May 23, 2013
Pros: Low price
Cons: Room without Windows (but the room was advertised as such)
Location: Reasonably central
I was expecting a Basic Hotel and a room with no Windows so I did not get any surprises. Standard of cleanliness was OK but the corridors smelt slightly mouldy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

1 night in Zirka Hotel

Posted May 6, 2013
Very, very small room. It's a bit bigger than bed. Bathroom looks like a cupboard, very funny. The hotel itself looks pretty new and modern, can be recommended for a short stay in Odessa.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by swimkid64 from Minnesota, USA

Getting some Bang for your Buck, Yup, it is cheap,

Posted Sep 6, 2012
Pros: Nice to have a fridge in the room for leftovers at the restaurants. Also, super nice having a cafe open 24/7 on the third floor.
Cons: I could really use a nice hanging rod somewhere in the room. Room is crowded, so a few shelfs would be a great addition. :)
Location: Super location. There is a great market about 1 block away. only 8 blocks walking to the CENTER OF THE CITY.
It is small but clean, I expected worse from all the negative reviews. Halls and lobby are well lit. And usually there is security man standing in the lobby. You are safe here. Yes, small. At this price normally you share a toilet and shower. Privacy is nice. In France a room is triple the cost and you share a toilet and shower, SAME SIZE ROOM. I did straddle the toilet to brush my teeth at the sink. The window sill is wide, Use that for your suitcase. SMALL Cafe on third floor. I did try a sandwich (ButterBrot) open face with a little meat cheese and tomato on top of bread. Tasty when it is warmed up. it is open 24 hours a day and 7 days a week. The front desk will call a taxi for you if you want to go anywhere, Ride to the airport was only 50 rpy, the local curency, which is like about $6.00 USD. No street beggers like other places that I was staying at. This is no tourist trap There also seems to be a motion detector in your room. So I suppose if you let them know you are gone, they will make sure there is not any activity in your room. I did not confirm this. I replaced the toilet paper, $3.00 USD at the corner store. How much time do you intend on being in your room? This is a beautiful city, get out and see the place. The locals do know this hotel will rent by the hour for the hookers. It is not dangerous. The locals are aware of the situation and it is accepted. Just be aware of your situation like you would in any foreign city.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Just a place to sleep

Posted Jun 29, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Claustrophobic, weak air conditioning
Location: 30 min from beach/dolphinarium. Multiple restaurants/pubs nearby. 420 Bongshop right across the street. 24hr convenience store next door.
Decent place to leave your stuff and sleep in. Close to restaurants and sites. Everything you need to see is within 30 min walk. Air conditioning is weak. Front desk staff capable in english and helpful when required. TV service is about 8 channels all in russian. Bathroom small, their idea of toilet paper is amusing. Taking a shower is frustrating. The corner stall allows curtian to envelope you while washing. Hear the neighbours clear as day. Prompt response to repair requests/complaints.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Northumberland

Good location

Posted Oct 3, 2011
The hotel is what it is. A cheapish hotel in quite a central location. You can walk to the beach in about 30 to 40 minutes & the main tourist area is less that 30 minutes walk. Rooms are small, & a bit hot, but clean enough. Area around hotel is safe.