Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Prudencia Opina from NYC

Worst hotel in the planet

Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
I've been traveling for 20 years and this hotel just ranked #1 in my worst hotels ever. The corridor stinks, it smells to alcohol, smoke and sweat. The beds are the smallest beds of the planet, and there is no way that you open the bathroom door to let it ventilate a little bit. Service is unfriendly, it is far from Amsterdam and far from EYE institute (if you see it in their PR lists). They charge 14 euros for an old fruit, lousy coffee, no napkin, no silverware breakfast. Find something in the city, Stay away from this hole.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good efficient hotel.

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Like all Bastion hotels, the room was clean but spare. Staff was friendly and food was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by bastion lover

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for the price but one complaint

Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is very clean and is a great place to stay especially for the price. The room was warm (which I never find in hotels) and the bed was very comfortable. My only gripe is that it was a little far from Amsterdam, but there is a bus station very close to the hotel (so that is not all that bad). But my only real complaint was that I missed my checkout time by about 30 minutes and they charged me 30 euros for checking out late. I have never heard of a hotel charging for checking out a bit late. Most hotels I have stayed at allow you to request a late check out. I know, I know... I am not staying at a 5 star hotel, but I thought this fee was a bit excessive especially when it was only 30 minutes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

OK

Posted Sep 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Sometimes it was hard to locate staff. No one at reception. A few times waited for up to 5 mins. Internet in rooms was non existent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Eddy from Sevenoaks

Friendly and helpful staff

Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Comfortable and clean hotel.Friendly and helpful staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Sometimes I had to wait around 5 minutes until a member of staff actually came to the front desk after I rang the bell. This happened a few times. Internet in the rooms was rubbish. Worked for the 1st day then not at all for the following 6 days. Very annoying when I had work to do, leaving me to have to keep going down to reception area to send and receive emails.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Penticton, BC

Excellent value for price paid

Posted Jun 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a very comfortable hotel - clean and well maintained. It is close to a bus route so I used the bus to go to Leiden, and therefore saved a bundle on what I would have had to pay for a hotel in Leiden itself.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff were absolutely lovely!