Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cascade, IA

Great place for a one night stay.

Posted Nov 16, 2014
I was in town for a meeting and looked at another motel that rather scared me. It was a little more than 1/2 the price of the Super 8 but I am glad I chose the Super 8. Very clean but the carpet was really worn and stained in a spot or two. It was clean but worn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Review of Stay at Super 8 Motel In Olewein IA

Posted Nov 3, 2014
We have stayed at this motel many times and have never been diasppointed. The Receptionist was very pleasant and accommodating. The room suited our needs to a tee. Everything was clean and neat. The breakfast was satisfactory, as was expected. We would stay here again. I only wished there was a Super 8 Motel closer to Sumner, IA, where we visit occasionally. The town is small, about 2500 pop., but the only Motel there is ancient...from the 1950's and in terrible condition. We had to drive 21 miles to Oelwein from Sumner. But it was worth it for peace of mind and a comfortable stay. Thank you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lan

Nice and quiet...

Posted May 13, 2014
Our family stayed for 3 nights, and we had wonderful experiences:- 1. Very clean room 2. Quiet and calm ambience 3. Friendly frontdesk staff 4. Nice breakfast
3 out of 5
by marcusfrom Netherlands

Could be better.

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Location is very well.
Cons: Staff could be more friendly, rooms should be improved.
Location: On main road, easy access good and safe parking.
This hotel is ok when passing on but has not much to offer. The staff was not very enthusiastic and the rooms outdated. Breakfast was well, room was clean and quiet situated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janafrom Illinois

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was a nice hotel easy to find.

Posted Aug 13, 2013
My experience was good. The staff was really nice and the rooms were clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave

Great value-neat, clean

Posted Jul 16, 2013
Clearly the best choice in Oelwein. Good value, was neat and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Natalie

Good service

Posted Apr 30, 2012
Pros: It was clean and well kept.
Cons: Disruptive occupant across the way.
Location: It's a small town but the hotel was comfortable and easily accessible.
The hotel was clean and well kept. When issues arrived with a neighboring room, the hotel staff were quick to give us another room.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cedar Rapids, IA

Hole in the wall

Posted Sep 10, 2011
From the pictures shown on the web site - to actually seeing it in person, is completely different. Our room was on the first floor and when we opened our room door, we got this rush of bad odor - it smelled like really bad body odor. Then we went to turn the AC down and it barely worked. Then I had to use the bathroom and there was pee left on the toilet from the last person who used the room. DISCUSTING!!!!! Also, the bathroom tiles were no longer adhered to the floor, the grout was breaking apart and it felt like the floor was going to fall through. The next day I went to the free continental breakfast and it wasn't worth my time. You will only like it if you like dry cereal and bagels. I hated it and will not go there ever again. We were in town for a family funeral. I will look for a different hotel the next time we need to stay near Oelwein, IA
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Springfield, Il

Needed to relax

Posted Sep 11, 2010
Great place in a quiet small town.