Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great couples getaway!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
This is a beautiful place in a beautiful setting. Nice and quiet and great for a weekend with your loved one. It is close to all activities at Starved Rock, Utica, etc... We were in the Mallory Square room and it was very large and comfortable. It had a great view as well! Bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious and clean. We had breakfast in the morning there and it was very tastey. They had two choices along with fruit, rolls, etc... The only complaint we had was the grumpy lady in the front office. From the moment we arrived she was very short and unprofessional with us. We were early and apparently this made her mad. We told her we knew we were early and that we would just go grab some lunch and come back. I asked her when she wanted us to come back and asked what time we would like to come back. When I told her an hour and a half, she immediatly said "well we are going to need more time than that!" Which is why I asked her in the first place. I had ordered some chocolate covered strawberries to be in the room when we arrived as a surprise for my GF. While we were in the front office this lady said very loudly "oh yea, you are the one that is getting somethign in your room right?" So much for that surprise! The next morning she was also very grumpy and short with us. When I dropped our key off, she stopped her conversation with another guest to say "you owe me $25 for the strawberries!" very rudely. Perhaps this lady shouldn't have contact with customers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Relaxing and Close to Starved Rock State Park

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Quiet, comfortable, nice breakfast options.
Location: Starved Rock State Park, other state parks, good restaurants, shopping, exploring.
Friendly staff. Easy to find and access from major highways. Convenient to nearby state parks, shopping, antiques and other destinations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Custer Park, IL

Great place to get away!

Posted Aug 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
My husband & I were both thrilled! The place was beautiful, we got a better room than the one we booked and the food was great, too! We went to Starved Rock instead of Chicago and saved a lot of money. Yahoo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Becca from Chicago

Great alternative to staying at the lodge

Posted Aug 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very comfy, clean, wonderful breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dana from Evanston, IL

Great for a Romantic Getaway

Posted May 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
My husband and I went on a one night getaway to Starved Rock. We wanted to stay somewhere nice and there are not a lot of great choices in the area. We happened upon Brightwood Inn and it fit the bill. It is not in town, but within a few minutes of both Matthiessen and Starved rock State Parks. We stayed in the Aspen Suite which was really big. It had a big living room with a couch and a flat screen t.v., a dining table and a kitchenette. The bedroom was nice. The only complaints would be that the skylight is over the bed. Even though there is a dark screen over it, the sun still woke me up early. I also wished that the bed was a king. The bathroom has a 2 person jetted tub which we did nto get time to use. Next time. The room also has a nice private balcony overlooking the property (14 acres) and part of Matthiessen. The yard had several tables and Adirondack chairs, as well as a hammock for relaxing. The breakfast was yummy and homemade, by the innkeepers, I presume. There are restaurant menus available. We ate at the Uptown Grill which was really nice. The inn also has games and dvds available for guest use. The innkeeper is not overly warm, but she gave us the info that we needed and then did not bother us at all. I would definitely go back, but would like to stay for 2 nights, so that we could enjoy the hammock and the jet tub.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Romantic Weekend

Posted Dec 17, 2012
This place is awesome!!! Do not hesitate, you will love it. Room was perfect, large comfortable and very romantic. The breakfast in the morning was such an added bonus. The people who own it and run it are so helpful. I plan on going back in the summer or even to see Fall colors next Autumn. A short ride away from Starved Rock Lodge if you are attending a wedding or some other event.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great small lodge for couples.

Posted Oct 21, 2012
This is a "lodge" more than a typical bed and breakfast. Very clean. Big rooms. Delicious breakfast. We will definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Annette from Plainfield, IL

Great bed & breakfast!

Posted Jun 23, 2012
Pros: a short walk to Mattheissen State Park - a visit to their Dells area is a must!
Cons: nothing - it was awesome!
Location: an hour from the Chicago suburbs - close enough to get home in an emergency, but far enough away to enjoy nature!
awesome bed & breakfast - best one we have stayed at in a long time - would definitely recommend this as an awesome place to stay!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

very nice place to stay

Posted May 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
we stay only one night and this place is very nice and quite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

WOW!

Posted Apr 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
Our stay at the Brightwood Inn Country Inn was a wonderful experience. Great people, great room, and great food. We would go back in a heartbeat.