Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

A pleasant stopover

Posted Aug 15, 2014
The hotel is quite large and feels quite impersonal. The staff are efficient but do little to make you feel that your stay is important to them. Hotel food was good and service was friendly. Our room was quite uncomfortable in the evening as there is no air conditioning in this former chateau.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Bryan

Relaxing

Posted Jul 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
I found the 2 day stay at the country hotel extremely peaceful, relaxing and quiet. No A/C which was fine because we slept with the windows open and enjoyed the cool night breezes and the relaxing cooing of the pigeons in the morning. We stayed on the top floor. Taking a bike ride to neighboring medieval village and the equestrian castle were great. Taxi from train station to hotel but the return taxi I put on the hotel bill. Staff was great and extremely helpful even with suggestions for excursions. Tulsa Ok July 2012
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from nottinghamshire

amazing restaurant

Posted Jul 24, 2008 on Hotels.com
very pleasant, obviously popular with the Brits
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great hotel in a good location but expensive

Posted Jul 7, 2008
Beautiful hotel only half an hour from De Gaul airport. Service good but a bit impersonal. Four star and expensive but good value. A great last night in France
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

All the atmosphere of a motorway service station

Posted Sep 7, 2007
Don't be fooled by the word 'chateau' in the title - this place is a conference centre with box like rooms, a bizarrely decorated restaurant and a bar straight out of the seventies. We arrived with a coach load of conference attendees and queued for 30 minutes in Reception to gain access to our rooms.
2 out of 5
by Peggy from Pearland, TX

Lovely exterior, big disappointment inside

Posted Oct 7, 2006
What a beautiful facade as you walk up and then shown to a cramped, cellar-like room that was not in the chateau but rather seemed like a barracks type building built partially underground - so depressing. Asked for a different room and were told we could switch to a room in the chateau but warned that a wedding was scheduled that would involve noise into the wee hours of the a.m. - which it did. Would not return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Chateau review

Posted Sep 27, 2006
Very nice setting. Excellent serivce staff. Toilet a bit small.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kansas city, mo

not worth the money

Posted Aug 23, 2006
the building was very very old, and all the meals were very expensive. they sent a nice car to pick us up at the airport for a taxi but after that sent a little tiny compact car to take us but charged the same amount and advertised it as a "limo service" the setting of the hotel close to chantilly was nice. The best part of the stay there was going to chantilly castle and horse show/stables.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Austin

Nice Place, Good Food, But Needs Air Conditioning or Screens in the Summer

Posted Jul 20, 2006
Chateau de Montvillargene is a nice, quiet hotel in the Chantilly Forest. The food is excellent and the hotel is very attractive. The only downside was that in the heat of summertime, the hotel would be well-served to either install air conditioning or, at the very least, provide every room with a desk or floor fan or, better yet, a screen for room windows, so one wouldn't have to swelter in the rooms at night due to the summer heat and loads of mosquitos (forcing one to close the window - when it's so lovely and cool outside, that's criminal). Installing screens would solve this problem and make the hotel one of the nicest places I've stayed in a long time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Beautiful Hotel in a nice setting!

Posted Jun 15, 2006
Driving in was a bit difficult, since some of the signs to the chateau were easy to miss. Would recommend you have detailed directions if driving. The Hotel is located on the heavily wooded main road between Chantilly and Gouvieux (D909). I stayed here for leisure while my wife had a large, global business meeting to attend on the premises. She thought it was excellent for business meetings. For leisure, the hotel was comfortable and the staff very helpful/friendly. The hotel restraurant and the bar, though expensive, was very good. Our quad room was quite large and comfortable. My two kids (11 and 15) had plenty to do. The pool was very nice (indoor) and the grounds spacious. We also spent a lot of time touring nearby and had many meals in Chantilly where there are ample restraurants and shops. The hotel is only about 20minutes to CDG airport and it is very easy to take a train into Paris. Due to its country setting, I would recommend you have a car for sight-seeing.