Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bruno from Los Angeles

Very stylish hotel, extremely friendly staff

Posted Mar 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed with my wife at this hotel for one night and I loved it. First of all, the manager is wonderful. He goes above and beyond to make your stay very pleasant. The view is beautiful and the swimming pool very tasteful. In general, the architecture and attention to detail are excellent. I only have two small reproaches: the air conditioning in the room was constantly blowing in my face (although it is very quiet), and it is nearly impossible to get up the hill to the entrance without a 4x4.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mario from Costa Rica

Very good

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: View, cleaness
Cons: breakfast
Location: There is a lot of good restaurants and tours
We stayed for one night and it was a nice experience. The only thing that we don't like was breakfast because there was no option and very little quatities of food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lynn from France

Small, boutique hotel overlooking the Pacific.

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Staying in this small hotel, you felt welcomed and valued. Staff learnt your name quickly and used it.
Cons: It was disappointing that although a restaurant was advertised, it didn't exist at this location. There was one at the sister hotel down the road.
Location: Several beaches in this area and it was possible to reach the Osa Peninsula too within an hour to take a tour.
Stayed here for 6 nights in February 2014 in a comfortable, large room with overhead fan and air-conditioning. Staff and owner were very friendly, bringing water to you unasked and offering other drinks as well when you were sitting by the lovely pool. Sunsets were beautiful from the bar over the Pacific Ocean. Birdlife was spectacular from the gardens and the open air restaurant. Hotel is situated on top of a hill, roughly 1km up a gravelled road which is steep in places, but easily negotiable if you take your time. Food is available at the sister hotel in the evenings, about 600 metres away and there are plenty of restaurants in the surrounding area, the closest being a 15 minute walk. Having the use of a vehicle would be advantageous to explore the area and get to beaches etc. We loved the beach at Pinuela, plenty of shade but it is in the Marine Conservation area with a warden, so there is a small charge until 4pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Holly from Seattle

Surprise Oasis

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Found this place looking for last minute spots during the hot season while cruising the west coast. The hotel is off the beaten path. Overall the most impressive feature was the service from the owners and their crew, especially David, who was in my opinion the "alma" of the property. Super quiet, very unique and special place. Ojochal turned out to be one of my favorite, if not, favorite areas of Costa Rica. Very quiet, good food, good beaches and kind generous people. Make sure you make reservations at Citris or Exotica before you come, they are booked all the time and rated as some of Costa Rica's best cuisines. Would definitely stay again. Mucho Gracias Alma. Pura Vida.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by SS from Florida

Posted Dec 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Scott was extremely friendly and helpful. The setting was beautiful high on a hill overlooking the Pacific. A 4wheel drive is recommended as the road up is not paved and steep at times. The room had a beautiful patio to sit out on and see the pacific. There was no TV in the room, so bring a book or two. Breakfast was well prepared and had great views
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dan and Polly from California

Incredible Place to Stay!!!! Almost like PARADISE

Posted Jul 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
We have been to Ojochal several times and in fact stayed in this place prior to new ownership. Now this place is a big WOW. Russell and Scott are amazing hosts - taking care of our every need. We were greeted at our car by Russell and Rob who assisted us with our luggage. The pool is to die for and In the evening, we were served wine by Scott and had glorious conversation in an intimate seating area above the pool with other hotel guests. The morning breakfast was like being served in a gormet restaurant! Fruit, juice, coffee, delicious coconut pancakes one day and the best omelet I have had in long time the first day there. I felt like royalty being served each course and making sure I had everything I needed. Coffee, juice, discussion of the surroundings - I felt like I was in a five star restaurant being served by the finest waiters. The surroundings are amazing whether it be the delightful decor to the red macaws that I saw flying over the valley. Playa Tortuga in the background. The private patio in the room was large and a great place to relax. Luscious white cotton sheets and a lightweight white comforter made me feel like I was in one of the finest hotels anywhere. The sounds of the ocean can be heard from the room but we opted for the air conditioning. If you are looking for a hotel in the area, this is a fantastic place to go. Five star all the way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Doug from Maine

Beautiful facility

Posted Apr 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice facility, great service. Requires 4WD to get up their driveway - if you don't have, they will come pick you up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paola from San José

"Boutique paradise"

Posted Mar 4, 2013
Cons: A funny smell that sometimes came from the bathroom sink.
The Hotel is beautiful specially if you are looking for a quiet and relax place to stay. We had an incredible experience and the staff was very friendly. The breakfast is DELICIOUS. The Hotel still known as Buena Vista so be careful is you ask for directions to the locals. We hope to return soon and definitely will tell my friends and family about this boutique paradise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

joe and karens alma

Posted Feb 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Wonderful experience. Beautiful setting as you are in the mountains with ocean and surf to view facing West and mist and clouds hugging the Eastern slopes, with the soothing sounds of the sea in the background. Convenient location to branch off to the North and South for exploring within 100 miles of the coastline. Russell and Scott , the owners , availed themselves whenever Karen or I had a question and their Costa Rican manager David offering more insights to Costa Rican life and he also was extremely helpful with intelligent perspectives that were easily appreciated with his mastery of English and appreciation for Western way of life. The grounds were immaculate as well as the entire hotel structure. Most nights, the star filled sky was so inspiring to soak in ,because in Chicago we can observe maybe a handful of stars at night.