Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Pédro from Gatineau

A superb little castle

Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overal WE were very satisfied, the dinner service lacked à little bit of timing, and filet mignon is not the chef´s speciality. On the ont her hand, the breakfast were superb. The staff very friendly and helpfull
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeannie from Toronto

Fantastic hotel

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: The hotel is on the southern, pacific coast of C.R. in Ojochal. Ojochal is a small, internationall community which is known for its good restaurants.
This has got to be the best place to stay in Costa Rica! We have travelled all over the country and have never felt more welcomed or impressed by a hotel. Fantastic owners, staff and the hotel itself is gorgeous! Stay in a suite if you can. The views are amazing ...watch the sunset from the beautiful infinity pool and enjoy paradise! Food is great. Wish I was there....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dick and Martha from Eliot, Maine

Two outstanding visits

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Very pleasant property and staff. Restaurant and room very good. Great infinity pool and view
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long island ny

Paradise found!

Posted Feb 10, 2014
What else could I saw but AMAZING! From the arrival to the views nothing but a big Kool-Aid smile on my face! Thank You John and David! Rafter my fall in Manuel Antonio you made me forget my pain!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nature lovers

Stunning view and ambience

Posted Jan 19, 2014
Pros: View, room comfort, hosts, infinity pool. All great. And the gardens and their birds were lovely.
Cons: Parking is problematic when dinner guests come. No-see-ums were a bit of a problem.
Location: Lots of great restaurants in the area. Wish we had had time for the beaches nearby.
A little gem, we very much enjoyed our all too brief stay. We felt very welcome, and really we're able to relax in and by the infinity pool. The view was amazing, and lots of colorful tropical birds in the gardens. Breakfast was very good, presentation of a bountiful fruit plate was beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Gary from USA

almost ideal

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
would consider it a B&B. picturesque property absolutely beautiful. definitely need a car for food or beach. guests and staff were all speaking English (not sure if that is a good thing or not). perfect pool with a great view. relaxing environment. complaints: restaurant had very short hours, the 2 nights of our stay they were booked and i was a little disappointed that the owner did not even offer making something to bring up to our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sophisticated but not Fussy

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: The hotel is perfect for mingling with other guests, but also offers the opportunity for total privacy. Each window frames an ocean or rainforest view
Cons: Ice delivered to the room when you check in.
Location: Beach is 10-15 minutes away. 11 amazing restaurants in Ojochal.
In many ways, .the ambiance of El Castillo Hotel in Ojochal, Costa Rica echoes the elegance of the New Otani and Sofitiel properties...Clean but not stark design aesthetic with a world-class view from each of its 12 rooms. This is our second stay, and we couldn't wait to return for New Year's Eve. The staff anticipates your every need, so service is seamless, cordial, and always welcoming. The negative edge pool area overlooks the ocean, so a day spent poolside is deeply relaxing as you slow your pace to the ebb and flow of the tide across the horizon. Breakfast is included with an overnight stay, and the Azul restaurant on property serves locally sourced food prepared with a Northern Italian/Mediterranean flair.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very clean. Service was always friendly and staff always willing to help in any way they could. They went out of there way to help us have a beautiful vow renewal. My husband was planning our return trip before we even left.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Absolutely perfect

Posted Apr 15, 2013
My husband and I stayed here for 5 days as part of our honeymoon and it was absolutely wonderful. The property is gorgeous, the people incredibly friendly and helpful and I really wouldn't change one thing. We will definitely be returning!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Linda from Boulder, Colorado

A Destination Hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
My husband and I have been coming to Costa Rica for 19 years and have stayed at many hotels all over the country and El Castillo is one of the best that we have ever stayed in - especially when you consider how reasonably priced it is. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and all have beautiful ocean views. John and the rest of the staff take care of your every need including booking any excursions you might want to take. This is a great location if you want to take a boat trip to Corcovado National Park.