Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Perfect Costa Rican Experience

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: It has a real Costa Rican charm. You feel like you are living in the village rather than stuck at some big concrete walled off resort.
Cons: The cabins are located on a hillside, so they may be a challenged to those with mobility issues.
Location: It is a perfect location to relax, emerse yourself in nature, and visit the natural sites of Costa Rica. Not a party location.
The owner, Enzo, is one of the most accomidating and gracious owner I have ever met. He answered ALL my questions and made sure every need was met. The hotel is made up of nice cabins on a pretty hillside. Enzo's can do attitude and charm made me feel special. I definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom near Lake Tahoe, California, USA

Wonderful, friendly place in the forest near beach

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: Location. Very nice food and friendly, helpful owners. Comfortable beds. Nice bathroom. Our own little porch and walking around to spy birds.
Cons: Can't think of anything. Perhaps a better sign for the turnoff from the main road.
Location: Just off the main highway on the southern pacific coast. Road is in good shape. Great beaches and birdwatching. Several great restaurants nearby.
We had a wonderful stay at Mamma e Papa! Enzo and his wife are friendly and helpful. Their food was fresh and tasty. The views from the open air restaurant were lovely. This place is a little off the beaten path in Ojochal and that made it perfect for us. We had our own little 'cabin' that was modern, clean and comfortable and enjoyed lounging in the hammock on our porch after a day exploring the beaches of Ballena, Uvita, etc. Ventana was our favorite. Go at low tide when they are broad and virtually empty. The pool at Mamma e Papa was the perfect temperature and we used it frequently. After dinner we played pool. Morning and evening were great times for birdwatching and I spied several new species right on the grounds. We would love to return some day and have already recommended Mamma e Papa to others traveling in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2015
A perfect place just to relax and enjoy the silent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Victor

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sebastien, gwenaellefrom France

Accueil chaleureux

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Un logement agréable dans un jardin magnifique. Le top, après une journée de marche, se baigner dans la piscine en écoutant et en observant les oiseaux. Et pour finir, les hôtes sont toujours prêts à vous indiquer les bons plans du coin.... Le meilleur lodge de nos vacances.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathefrom boston

Do NOT MISS THIS PLACE!

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: My cabin was beautiful - big room, beautifully laid out bathroom and very comfortable. Love going outside to my private porch before breakfast!
Cons: Honestly I would not change anything!
Location: On a hill overlooking the mountains... there are numerous fabulous beaches within 20 mins, but Playa Ventana was the prettiest.
This is a FANTASTIC little hotel - a handful of private cabins, sprinkled across impeccable grounds with a beautiful pool and outdoor pool table... but also a lovely little stream just behind the property great for exploring, and 5 minutes to some of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. Think gentle surf + jungle + cloud-topped mountains. The owners, Enzo and Jinet, are amazing hosts and take super good care of their guests. Enzo helped me set up a day trip to Corcovado, and another snorkeling trip, both of which were wonderful. Breakfast on the porch looking at mountains is great, and there is a wonderful energy about the placed (thanks to E and J). I am going to send everybody I know here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Super

Posted Mar 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Allez y sans hésiter! Tres bon accueil, tres bon service d enzo et ginette, grande propreté, grand confort et restaurant top!meme sans voiture ca se fait!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Pura Vida bei Enzo & Gina

Posted Feb 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Bei Enzo und Gina haben wir uns sehr wohl gefühlt. Die Unterküfte und der Pool liegen in einem wunderschönen Garten. Verschiedene Touren können über ihn gebucht werden.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robfrom Medicine Hat AB Canada

Great place to relax

Posted Feb 19, 2014
The rooms are very clean up to day. The grounds are very well maintained. The owners are very nice and helpful. The food was awesome. Great place to get away from the fast pace
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fish Tacosfrom Los Angeles

Hidden Gem with Personalized Service from Owner

Posted Feb 7, 2014
What a great experience. I found it by my usual method of searching Expedia via guest reviews and price. There are only four units at the place, but it's smack in the middle of the jungle. There is a pool that is a perfect temp to jump in, and the restaurant up top has the most amazing view of the rainforest. There is a pool table and outdoor lounging area, and the food and service by Enzo, the owner, was top notch. All four about $100 a night. Perfecto!