Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancover, BC

Close to downtown Kelowna and shopping centres.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Close to shopping centres
Cons: The overall condition of the hotel and the amenities.
Location: Close to the shopping centres.
Hotel was very dated; pictures on the website did not really show the condition of the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

Don't do it!

Posted Aug 16, 2014
The guy that checked us in was great! The place itself was pretty gross (spiderwebs everywhere!) and very outdated. The girl that checked us out in the morning was terrible. She had such a bad attitude and was so rude!!! Wouldn't go back ever!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Won't stay again...

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Unfortunately there wasn't much available and so we chose this and found the ad was deceiving. Feels and looks like N old motel from the 70's with no upgrades. We slep on top of the blankets and used our own pillow and blanket. After payment they asked for a $150 deposit which I didn't get back for 3 days! Should have slept in my car.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2014 by Kaileigh, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are constantly making changes and improvements to the property, the rooms, and the services and amenities we offer our guests. Recently we have upgraded the cable and wireless internet, and have also implemented some exciting changes to our continental breakfast. We do not charge anything at the time of check in, rather we only put a hold on your credit card, which we then either complete if you want to pay with that card or delete if you would rather pay with another method at check out. I am sorry if you were disappointed during your stay, I hope that in the future you will return to us with an open mind to see and experience the changes we have been making and see for yourself.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California.

It is such an unpleasant stay!

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Only the staffs.
Cons: Everything.
Location: The Jananese food opposite the street is pretty good.
We booked this inn based on online review and pictures, but when we arrived, we found out that the inn is just like a normal or lower quality motel. Common area rugs are dirty, hall way is really narrow, air-condition is really not or barely working with almost no airflow, we have to borrow a fan for that night. The room is just ok. Continental breakfast has no variety, with just barely milk, drinks, breads, some yogurt, etc. Everything is much below our expectation. Honestly, the only thing we are satisfied is the staff, they are friendly and helpful, even willing to lend their own fan to us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Kaileigh, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I apologize that you were not satisfied during your stay by the services we offered. I am pleased however that you found our staff accommodating. We always do our best to offer top notch customer service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Medicine Hat, Alberta

You get what you pay for

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Liked the location.
Cons: I would say their continental breakfast. Not a good selection of food. Only had cereal, coffee, tea, juice, toast or bagels and the odd fruit.
Location: Very handy off of the main street. Close to shopping mall, downtown and beaches. Everything was pretty close, did not have to drive far.
Overall experience was okay. Location was great. However, the rooms were somewhat not the cleaniest, the TV stand was full of dust, the bathtub faucet was loose along with the shower curtain that had stains on it. Because we had a room with a kitchen in it, the dishes we had to wash over as they had crumbs and stuff left on or in them. The pull out hide a bed, the bedding was ripped and the springs were coming through the mattress and the pillows were to soft, so it was lucky we had brought our own. Our room was also located beside the vending machine outside and another outside storage room and whatever was inside the storage room, every night you could hear a humming sound through the walls that kept you awake. Also the continental breakfast was not much of a breakfast and with the amount guests the hotel had, they could not keep up with them, would run out of stuff and was located in a small and I mean small restaurant, very crowded. I would only recommend this hotel to anyone if you are only staying for the night, not for four nights like we did.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2014 by Kaileigh, Hotel Management
Thank you for your very detailed review of your experiences staying with us. This is certainly below our standards of cleanliness and for that I sincerely apologize. This issue will be addressed immediately. I know that the next time you visit you will notice a marked improvement from this experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Good hotel for families

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Size of room, location, BBQs
Cons: Slightly outdated but clean so was fine
Location: Great location close to main road, Tim's, restaurants and mall.
As a family of 5, we were more than comfortable in our 1 bedroom room that provided privacy from the kids. In total, we had 2 queen beds and a queen sofa pullout, table and chairs and full kitchen. The motel also had outdoor BBQ's available for guests to use so making meals was easy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2014 by Kaileigh, Hotel Management
I am so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and found it comfortable and convenient. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with others and with us. Please think of us again the next time you visit Kelowna.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unbelieveable "bad" experience

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Nothing, it was a dump
Cons: The attitude of the management
Location: Judging by the obvious clientel @ this location.............well you guess
Booked on line, greatly misrepresented. Refused to stay, credit card was not only charged the cancellation fee (never saw room, and was there @4:30PM) but the full price plus damage deposit for a total in excess of $250.00. Will never consider staying there again under any circumstances.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2014 by Kaileigh, Hotel Management
Thank you for bringing this situation to our attention. There must have been a mistake made as we would not charge a damage deposit if you never checked in. I assure you that this is being dug into and that we will get to the bottom of the situation. I do apologize for any inconvenience we caused you during your travels.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from surrey, bc

Terrible staff

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Overall the hotel isn't to far from downtown and the beach, decent location. Overpriced for what the rooms are like. After booking 6months in advance for a music festival they gave us the wrong room. A 1 queen 1 sofa inside of a 2 queen 1 sofa with kitchenette. After arguing with them two times they finally said the next night they will give us an extra single room for 150 dollars extra, we had no choice. Kept trying to charge us more, said they would give us a cot the 1st night because there was 5 people in a 2 bed room bht never happened. Very rude to us and after showing them our Expedia receipt countless times they would not fix the problem. Terrible hotel don't go
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2014 by Kaileigh, Hotel Management
I am glad you took the time to write a comment on your experiences. This is certainly not our standard but we are only human and mistakes are occasionally made. I am so sorry that you were dissatisfied during your stay and I hope that despite the confusion you were still able to have an enjoyable weekend at the music festival.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beijing

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Hotel is a little bit old, but staff are nice, provide complimentary breakfast, free coffee & ice tea in checking in counter and free parking. nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2014 by Kaileigh, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback in regards to your experiences with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Clara

Big cheap room

Posted Jul 22, 2014
It's not fancy, and it's a bit old, but the rooms are big and clean and the price was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2014 by Kaileigh, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback in regards to your stay. I am so glad that we were able to meet your needs and help make your stay enjoyable. I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.