Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Australia

Good hotel, great location

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Location: Lovely walks in every direction: the garden park (Korakuen), the castle (Okayamajo), the river (Asahi), the Nishigawa canal.
Okayama was a delight, with friendly people everywhere, both in the hotel and on the streets. The city has a beautiful park (Korakuen), an impressive castle (Okayamajo) and a lovely river (Asahi) - even a french-influenced canal (Nishigawa - right outside the hotel, and laden with cherry blossoms when we were there). There is a variety of food and bar options close to the hotel, and we particularly enjoyed the sushi and ambience at the Hachimonji restaurant across the road from the hotel. There are some excellent shopping opportunities (from tourist gifts to stylish clothing) in the malls and area to the south of the hotel. I would also recommend, for those who appreciate jazz in a quiet setting, the Jazz Piano Bar (5 minutes from the hotel, behind the Grace Towers). Wonderful city, great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by tedtravelblogs from Sydney, Australia

Koraku or Kooraku – either way it’s a good hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel seems to have a problem with its name because both spellings appear on and around the place and caused us to wonder whether we had the right hotel at first. . However the reception was welcoming and efficient with a very handy local map and other needed information being offered before being asked. Our corner twin room was quite spacious with convertible sofa, desk and work area but, strangely, no luggage stand. The beds even seem to be a size larger than the Japanese standard although they are on the hard side (softer versions available on request). First impression in the bathroom is a maze of doors but, like Russian dolls, each one reveals something new: a couple of closets, good size bathroom and separate toilet. There is an in-house pay laundry and fast wifi + cable. A good breakfast selection is available for a bargain ¥840 – really you’d be hard pressed to do better outside. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the East Gate of Shin-Okayama station, indeed you can see the hotel building from the station if you know what to look for. Okayama Castle and Korakuen Gardens are a further 10 to 15 minute walk or you can get a tram just half a block from the hotel. The hotel-provided map also recommended some local restaurants of which we tried three and they were all good – for value and food. From our experience you’d have to try hard to find anything to complain about with this hotel.read less
4 out of 5
Recommended
by theotremblay from Osaka , Japan

Posted Mar 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel and helpful staff . They have a lot of free extras for families with babies and children i.e. diapers , baby soap . Unfortunately , we didn`t know that until just before check-out .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by F Lopez from Destin, FL USA

Great location near Okayama Station

Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall, I loved this hotel. We booked two rooms for 4 people, and it worked out nicely in terms of space. The beds are very firm, which was tough for me, but the hotel more than made up for that with how convenient it was. One of the main reasons I chose this hotel is that they have a laundry room with 3 washers and 3 dryers, open 24/7, and if you're traveling light, it's a good halfway point in your itinerary. There is an adjacent market that can be accessed directly from the lobby, with great prices on everything. Okayama Station is about a 4 block walk, and there are numerous restaurants, all affordable, on several side streets (not the main boulevard) between the station and hotel. This is a good deal if you are traveling by train, I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by ctyce from san francisco

excellent location and very comfortable

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
I chose this hotel because there were so few available at the time of booking that were close to the Okayama station. It is a short 5 block walk, very easy and safe. There is a pretty canal on the street and a good number of restaurants immediately outside the hotel. The room was comfortable and the staff excellent.Only complaints- no safety box in the room, no 'do not disturb' sign/option, no restaurant post breakfast so no room service. This hotel seems of the quality to have these regular features- therefore 4 starts instead of 5 (5 being perfect).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Merentha from Singapore

A great place to stay

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
From aromatherapy lights to pillow options (including foot pillows) to customised maps of the area, it's obvious that this hotel works hard to make their guests' stay as comfortable as possible. The hotel is located a short 5-10 minutes walk away from Okayama Station. It is also within walking distance to Korakuen Garden and Okayama Castle. There is a delicious Katsudon restaurant called Nomura right around the corner. Okayama City itself is very pleasant city to walk or explore on a bicycle. The main Momotaro Street has wide walkways to accommodate both pedestrians and cyclists easily. There is almost always at least one interesting cafe/patisserie located at every corner. From the station, it is also possible to make a day trip to Kurashiki.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for early flights

Posted Nov 26, 2013
Pros: Massage chair and very spacious room. Reasonable rate.
Cons: Cereal at breakfast. Bed is a little hard
Location: Lots of restaurants & about a 10 minute walk from the Train station. Korakuen Garden was quite amazing, beautiful autumn colours
Stayed at this hotel 3 times in the past and will continue to use in the future. The bed is a little hard for my liking and during the weekend we stayed it was a little noisy outside although our room was on the 9th floor so not enough noise to disrupt our sleep. Breakfast is Japanese style or Continental. The massage chair in our room was awesome Some great restaurants near by and a nice walk can be had along the adjacent river.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pascale from Beijing

Nice hotel to visit Okayama

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Pros: Location, comfort, overall feel
Location: Located close enough to the railway station to walk, a good 20 minute pleasant walk to Korakoen garden and the castle.
We staid at Koraku one night, to visit the city (wonderful Korakoen garden and castle) on our way to Naoshima. Okayama is a very gentle city, very nice to stroll through alorg the canal and the river. The garden is a real delight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Bradley Nixon from Honolulu

Superb Hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Seems to cater to the business traveler, but I loved it. $9 breakfast buffet is outstanding on floor 2. I really like this hotel.