Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SW OK

Tucked Away But Close to Penn

Posted Aug 4, 2014
I have stayed here at least 4 times. My fave hotel chain is Marriott Courtyard, but this is a quiet and comfy Sleep Inn near the pricier chains. The area immediately around it appears a little suspect, with some neighborhood pubs but nary a problem during our visits. Jimmy's Egg a minute away and Mall 3-4. Cheerful front desk staff. A bargain.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by general manager, Hotel Management
First and foremost we thank you for choosing us during your visit to Oklahoma City. It is nice to know that we were able to accommodate you at our Hotel and that you had a comfortable stay. We are going through some remodeling and currently are working on the exterior of the hotel with a new paint job and in the next coming months we will be working on the interior. Please let us know if you ever need anything to make your stay even more comfortable we are always willing to help.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good as cost-efficient business option.

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Rooms and location* (*depends on what you're in town for).
Cons: no comment
Location: Location is great. Penn Square Mall, Wal-Mart and restaurants/diners are all within walking distance.
The curb appeal is not great, but you will be surprised once inside. The rooms were surprisingly bigger than what I expected and was clean and comfortable. Offers free wi-fi, business center, with gym and swimming pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2014 by general manager, Hotel Management
We are in the process of getting the outside of the Hotel repainted, we just recently had building repair work done which has now been completed and will be working on the interior of the Hotel in the near future. We welcome your comments, so that we can continue our efforts of providing a welcoming and comfortable place for all our guest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Matt

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by KK from MO

Would Visit Again

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel. Staff was nice, room was very neat and clean. Breakfast selection was ok. Only complaint was that outside noises are very easily heard in room. I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Julie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by Scheel Family from Des Moines, Iowa

Bad hotel experience

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Room smelled like rotten milk, couldn't find the source. We had suite with fold out couch but didn't come with pillows. When asked front desk they was out! Beds were hard! Pull out couch was real bad to sleep on very thin mattress. Blow dryer was broke. Breakfast was not tasty. They gravy floury, sausage taste bad, was out of coffee! Didn't like it at all for price we played! Motel 6 would be better & could have saved a lot of money! I thought we was paying higher prices for better stay? The outside of hotel was run down & one room we had the curtain was falling off! Don't stay here!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2014 by general manager, Hotel Management
I would like to apologize if your room was not to your standards, but we are always willing to change rooms, extra pillows are never left in room per quality control, it is always better to give guest fresh pillows when asked for then having pillows stored in a drawer for some time or being squashed in a sleeper sofa. We have never had guest tell us that our beds are hard, and as for the sleeper sofa, the mattress is the standard mattress for a sleeper sofa, anything thicker and the sleeper would not be able to fold into its sofa position. As far as breakfast, our guest have loved our gravy, biscuits and sausage, I apologize if it was not to your standards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2014 by general manager, Hotel Management
Thankyou for staying with us at Sleep Inn & Suites while in oklahoma city, we appreciate your honest feedback and welcome you next time as your travels bring you through this city again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

Nice hotel in mid city region.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Honestly I didn't like much of anything. If I was going to be in OKC longer than one night, I wouldn't have stayed there at all.
Cons: The facility itself needs remodeling. The room odors need to be addressed along with the set up of the checkout and pool hours.
Location: I didn't like or care for the location. Its awkwardly placed along a sharp turn in direction of the main street you have to take to get to highway.
The experience there was okay. The room had a stagnent odor upon our arrival. Pool closes at 10p.m. everynight and unfortunately the walls are thin so you hear things slamming and children running through hotel without having to be very loud at all. The staff was kind and helpful when needed, but checkout os 11a.m. which is rather early conpared to other hotels. Location isn't in the nicest area of OKC either so that was definitely a minus for me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2014 by general manager, Hotel Management
We would like to apologize if your stay with us was not to your expectations, we gladly would have moved you if you were not satisfied with the room you were given, check in and check out times are posted on a plaque right at the front desk and in the guest directory in your room. To prevent disturbing other guest who may have rooms above or by the swimming pool it closes at 10pm and is posted on the rules and regulation poster on the wall in the pool area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rod from Lawton, OK

Rose among Thorns

Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
This motel was not in a neighborhood that was bad, nor an area that was run down. It was just an area that was "off" the beaten path, though major highways rose above it and around it. However, the hotel was very nice, the staff very helpful and the rooms and overall decor of the place was great. Parking was sparse and needs improvement, because I don't think there was near enough if all the rooms had been filled, but other than that, the place was great! Also, the staff informed us that they would work with us if we needed to make reservations in the future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ada OK

Heart Ball in OKC

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: room was clean and comfy; had a hot tub (small)
Cons: quiten the door as it shuts (adjust the arm which closes it); walls are paper thin
Location: We attended the American Heart Association Heart Ball there at the Nat'l. Cowboy Heritage Museum
The walls are way to thin! We heard people up & down the hall all evening; especially our room which was next to the stairwell on the 3rd floor. People ran up & down it early Sunday morning approx 6:30am, & the door slams very loud; it was almost like they were coming in to our room cause the door would slam so hard. Nerveracking.