Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom R

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Very welcoming reception, after a long drive from the airport. Was upgraded to a larger accommodation for free! Cabin was perfect! Able to see the northern lights from the hottub! Beautiful setting! Highly recommend this place! Cannot wait to go back again!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Pietarifrom Helsinki

Don't trust the photos...

Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
We spent two night in this extremely small cottage in Ólafsfjörður. The so called "Finnish"-style cabin had seen its best days and the pictures on the web site had not much to do with the reality. The cabin wasn't very well cleaned and e.g. the dishes were really bad done when we arrived (yuck!) However, the service was really nice and warm, and the price (thanks to the low season) was cheap. The location is quite nice with a quick drive to Dalvik and Siglufjörður. We spent one day on a whale safari in Dalvik (can highly recommend the Arctic Sea Tours there!) and had wonderful diner in Siglufjörður's Hannes Boy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recomendable

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Llegamos mas tarde de las 19 en un día lluvioso y el hotel estaba para nosotras solas. La dueña nos dejó hasta poder coger cafe de la cocina. Muy amable. Sitio muy confortable y cómodo en un entorno precioso con el mar a un lado y las montañas nevadas al otro. Buen desayuno con unas vistas preciosas. Nos quedamos con las ganas de probar el restaurante ( cerrado pero tienen otro cerca abierto). Lo recomendamos
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Manuelfrom Stuttgart

Schöne Lage, preislich durchschnittlich

Posted Sep 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Das Hotel liegt mitten in den Bergen in der Nähe von Meer. Wir hatten ein Zimmer im Hotel und keine Hütte. Das Zimmer ist recht klein und mit dem Wichtigsten ausgestattet. Das Frühstück war überschaubar, aber recht familiär. WLAN vorhanden. Der Ort ist sehr klein ohne große Einkaufsmöglichkeiten. Sauberkeit war in Ordnung. Kein TV.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Gloucestershire

Lovely cabins in dramatic landscape

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: The cabins are attractive, clean and well appointed. You have access to the hotel restaurant and the kayaks and rowing boats on the lake.
Cons: The staff were a little stretched in the restaurant during our visit.
Location: The whale watching from Dalvík is a must. Bustling Akureyri is less than an hour's drive away and has beautiful botanic gardens.
These cabins exceeded our expectations. The site in Ólafsfjörður is ringed by dramatic, snow-striped mountains, whilst a serene lake dominates the foreground. Our cabin, Neskot, was perfect for two, with a bedroom, bathroom, and living room / cooking / dining area. The kitchen cupboards contained pretty much all you could possibly need, the wifi connection was good and everything was spotlessly clean. The hot tub was easy to fill, and very enjoyable to wallow in after a whale watch, or a drive out to Akureyri or Mývatn. The hotel staff were a bit stretched the night we ate there; there was a sense of the youngsters having been left in charge - but very pleasant youngsters nonetheless. Excellent whale watching tours sail from Dalvík, about twenty minutes away. No need to worry, by the way, about the extraordinary tunnels that connect Ólafsfjörður to the rest of the peninsula: they are narrow and single-carriageway, but there are plenty of passing places and drivers pull in early and considerately. Ólafsfjörður itself is a quiet little place, but has the essential facilities one would hope for (post office, café, etc.) as well as a beautiful miniature church and some imaginatively planted gardens (impressive - you are not far at all from the Arctic Circle here!).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hamilton, Canada

Nice small hotel in a charming old fishing village

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Location: Fjord and peninsula tip near to arctic circle. Spectacular scenery of snowy mountains, shore villages under cliff. Paddling in quiet water.
Though in a small village, this shoreline hotel provides good allround services (Wifi/front desk/good meals with reasonable price/private bath/gas/paddling rental/free car washing facility which I badly needed). Hotel facility and service quality in a remote old fishing village, where government had to build tunnels and avalanche dams to prevent loss of population, exceeds my expectation. Price of similar quality hotels in Husavik or Myvatn could nearly double. This village, Olafsfjordur, is connected by toll-free tunnels to another nearby charming village Siglufjordur. It's also only 1 hour drive from Akureyri, where the 3 full-service hotels will charge around US$400-800 per night in July. To stay inside the city, many visitors settle with apartment converted rooms, many without front desk or private bath.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gary Cohen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by avhfrom New York

not friendly

Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Reserved this place due to beautiful cabin pictures. Upon arrival the lady at the desk informed me that my room was upstairs at the shabby looking 'airport' type hotel. When I protested, she first attempted to call hotels.com ( from Iceland, during night in the US) then finally called somebody else who let me have a cabin as a 'special' deal. As a bonus, next morning I found out that breakfast was not included if you are staying ina cabin. I promptly left the place. Too much hustle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by SCfrom UK

Perfect Cabin

Posted Feb 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was easy to find and a very quick check-in process. Our cabin could have easily slept 8 people but was just for 2 of us! Very clean, hot tub facilities too. Only thing you'll need to bring is your own food and drink, otherwise the cabins have everything else you'll need, even a BBQ! Possibly the best hotel we stayed at in Iceland and would love to go back :)