Ratings based on 278 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great hotel, staff stopping it being amazing

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Rooms, decor, lobby, shower.
Cons: Staff manners, staff courtesy
Location: Near lots of bars and old town shops, we took a taxi to the clubs and walked everywhere else. Nice italian restaurant called Il Patio nearby.
A very nice hotel, perfect location to walk to old town or get a taxi to other parts of the city. decor is smart, rooms are decent and everything works properly (taps, showers, lifts, etc etc). The only problem is that the staff are quite rude. Reception staff are a bit hit and miss - some were very friendly and others not so friendly. The guy at the bar downstairs next to reception was very rude on multiple occasions - charging us 3 Euros for tap water and to bring a bucket of ice to our room which eventually they brought up for free as it should be. The mattresses seemed to be a bit "used" as there was a big dip in the middle of it which suggested the springs were broken. Don't want to know what caused that to be honest ;-) Breakfast was ok, nothing amazing. Shower is good and powerful. Always got hot water which is good. Overall would stay again here but maybe knowing that I won't get much out of the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wales

Nice hotel very ideal location and pleasant staff

Posted Feb 22, 2015
A geat experience and location close to old town . Staff were great and room was also good.?soft bed and lots of pillows. Breakfast is very big and impressive. Get the omelettes .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

!Great hotel with a very helpful staff

Posted Feb 8, 2015
We stayed a week at the Avalon Hotel on business. The hotel is in a perfect location: across the street is the movie theater and Stockmans and behind the hotel is Old Riga. We also had a beautiful view of the Daugava River from our room. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast buffet was delicious! The room we stayed in was a little small but the bathroom was newly remodeled and large. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom JAPAN

旧市街と駅から近いホテル

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: 便利さ
Cons: 湯船のある部屋もあるようですが、宿泊した部屋はなかったのでその点だけ残念でした。
Location: 旧市街地
スタッフの対応が親切で英語がわからない私でも安心できました。行きたいところの道をフロントで尋ねたら地図でわかりやすく教えてくれました。 ホテルの場所も旧市街地からも駅からも近く迷うことはなかったです。 12月の雪の降る寒い時期でしたが部屋は暖かく快適でした。小さな湯沸かし器もあり便利でした。 朝食が充実していてどれを食べてもおいしかったです。朝からケーキもたべました。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

zentral gelegenes modernes Hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Gute Lage, guter Service.
Cons: Man sieht das Hotel nicht so gut von weitem, weil es an von der Seite erkennbaren Schildern fehlt. Richtig dunkel bekam man das Zimmer nicht.
Location: Man kommt sehr gut in die Altstadt und damit zu vielen Sehenswürdikeiten und Restaurants.
Das Hotel befindet sich am Rande der Altstadt, unweit vom Bahnhof.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Roma

Bello ma con camere troppo piccole.

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Camere troppo piccole per poter poggiare i bagagli e bagni senza ripiani di appoggio.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JESUS

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pålfrom Oslo

fornøyelig opphold

Posted Dec 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotellet har fin beliggenhet ifht kollektivtransport til og fra flyplass,samt resten av byen. Ligger et steinkast fra 3 kjøpesentre,det lokale markedet og sentrum av gamlebyen. Deler av området rundt oppleves som 'shabby', men vi følte oss aldri uteygge. Hotellet er moderne,rommene noe små,men renslig og komfortabelt. Frokosten er helt ok og personalet svært behjelpelig og vennlige.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kjell Arvefrom Trondheim

Hotel Avalon kan anbefales

Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Jeg har bodd på Avalon tidligere og trivdes. Valg av hotell denne gang ble derfor enkelt. Vi var der i 2 døgn og alt fungerte veldig bra. God service, smilende betjening, koselig lobby-bar, rikholdig og god frokost. Det som forårsaker at det ikke kan gis bedre karakter på "lokalområdet" er støy fra lange godstog som går på natta. Ellers veldig nært til alt i gammelbyen.