Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

One night in Olympia.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Location near tourist sites
Cons: Decor somewhat worn. Bath peeling.
Location: Capitol well worth visit.
Easy walk up to Capitol building. Room overlooked Puget Sound. Garage full on ground level. Parked at lower level and saw people sleeping rough in corner. Area generally had more sleeping in park opposite but we stayed in doors and did not go out after dark. Staff helpful letting us leave bags after checkout.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nearly scalded in shower

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Not a very clean bathroom, counter top & tile floor were grimy looking and tub surround had hairs leftover from previous patrons. Coffee packets were left in room but the coffee maker had no caraffe. Office chair for desk was broken as well. This hotel also had tons,(literally), of garbage stacked in the parking garage and it was extremely unsightly. Bad hotel. Do not stay here if you have a choice!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

HIdden jewel.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: It's location and the quiet it provided.
Cons: Needs lighting in lower garage; pay attention to decor details; attract guests to use the lobby.
Location: Decent restaurants and coffee houses within 6 block radius; lake nearby; local government offices good for tourists. Tumwater Falls 15 mins away.
I have stayed in hotels the size of the Governor Hotel. In my opinion, the Governor Hotel is a hidden jewel. The location is central and is easy to find from the interstate. It is close to key attractions and was quiet in the evenings. What could improve is the customer service and the decor. Please shampoo the hallway carpets or find something to aid in the ventilation; it smelled like an old closet (not stinky, just musty). Train the front desk personnel to deliver service like the classy hotel they can be; I found the demeanor too casual. Put more light in the lower garage; I lost my upper parking space for 1 night and parked in the lower garage; it was dark and felt a bit dicey since it was so close to an alley and back street. All in all, I will recommend this hotel to family/friends looking for an Olympia locale. Oh yeah, btw, you may want to tell guests NOT to hang their laundry on the balcony to dry.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Hotel is close to downtown and capital building, so convient location. But there is nothing special about it and seems overpriced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty good

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pretty good. You could not run a bath because drain valve did not work. Ran out of eggs in morning, but the eggs were good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Olympia area

If you know what you're getting...

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: The staff was great and the rooms were quiet. The view was excellent and the location was ideal.
Cons: Fix the A/C in summer, note on the site the pool is closed and will be for some time and also clearly post the breakfast is not free.
Location: It fronts the Olympia downtown green, there is a Starbucks on the corner, it is just a block from the WCforPA, Bonjour cupcakes is right next door :D
We stayed in the hotel for two nights due to my daughter having a full day and evening dance event at the Washington Center for the Performing Arts. This is an excellent hotel if you want to attend an event there. The hotel is in the middle of a complete renovation and the rooms are nice on the inside, even though the hotel is an old building. Downside, it looks a little rundown here and there. Upside, the walls are thick enough that you can't hear your neighbors. Hotel A/C was broken, they said they were working on it but we never got cool air from the system. However, the rooms all have plenty of windows and most have large glass doors that open. The days we were there temp was in the high eighties and the rooms were only uncomfortably warm for a few hours in the hot part of the afternoon. They were fine at night. The hotel staff was excellent, accommodating and polite on the phone. The continental breakfast is for a fee >P. They said the hotel pool was under renovation (not noted on website or Expedia). It clearly has not been touched in a long time and was not currently being renovated. They offered us day passes to the YMCA a block down but a semi-public YMCA is not the same as a private hotel pool when you have kids. The parking is super convenient and affordable for any event in the downtown area. We will absolutely stay there again for events. Overall, it was nice with a few minor inconveniences/negatives but nothing that would deter a stay one is aware ahead of time.
2 out of 5
by Grandparents from Eugene

Finish the remodel

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Good bed. I think that's the part they remodeled.
Location: Right downtown so it's a good location near restaurants, shopping, and theater.
Heat didn't work. The front desk couldn't fix it and never called anyone to try. The bathroom is OLD. It doesn't feel clean. We are an older couple and they put us right next to a big family with lots of kids. It was hard to sleep.
2 out of 5
by Grandparents from Eugene, Or

Remodel not enough

Posted May 26, 2014
The beds were nice but the bathroom still needs updating. It's old. The heat didn't work and when we called the desk she came up and just turned the fan off. The heat never came on. When we went down for breakfast the food was gone the 1st day. The 2nd day was better. Finally, they never made up our room. We had to call the desk for more towels. We'll stay elsewhere next time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Seattle, WA

Time for a makeover

Posted May 25, 2014
The hotel served it purpose but was just ok. The elevators seemed "shaky" at best. Television channels were mostly fuzzy. The room was nice, staff was nice and the location was great for the event I was attending. Time for a makeover, rundown does not equal charm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: good
Cons: Surprised that continental breakfast would be $5 extra for me.
Location: Dragon boat races walking distance
The downside of using a service is they want you to write a book about the experience.