Ratings based on 505 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M.

Convenient to freeway

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Everything was clean. Staff was courteous. Only had restaurant and bar. No shop.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely grounds; decent food; noisy and musty

Posted Jul 12, 2014
This hotel looks lovely and is set in a beautiful setting over the lake. However, it is the spot for high school athletic teams and can be quite noisy at night. We have stayed here many times as it is convenient to I-5 but this time our room smelled musty and almost like stale cigarette smoke. The staff assured me that the hotel was smoke-free but it was not pleasant. I would have had to wait in line again to change rooms so we accepted it. We had waited 20 minutes on check in after a seven hour drive. Despite the concerns, it is good value for the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from from Oahu

Quiet and comfortable

Posted Jul 5, 2014
On the way from Bellingham WA to Toledo OR we stopped at the Red Lion Olympia. We liked it so much we booked again on the return trip. The room was nice and big. Nice view from the lanai of the river. Comfortable beds and the Wifi worked. Good restaurant with good food at reasonable prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Olympia

Nice room, cold coffee in the restaurant

Posted Jul 5, 2014
The room was very pleasant with a nice coffee table and sofa in addition to a very comfortable bed with plenty of pillows. They didn't have a luggage rack, but I set up the ironing board and used that. In the morning instead of making coffee in the room I went to the restaurant and purchased a cup to look at the nice view while I read the paper. Unfortunately the first cup was stone cold, the second cup it took 10 minutes to get cream with it so they took it back to microwave it, but unfortunately when they delivered it the entire cup was so hot for another 10 minutes that I could not put it to my lips. Finally, when I was done with reading the paper they brought a freshly brewed cup at an appropriate temperature and to their credit they gave it to me gratis. I would have rather had a nice cup of coffee when I arrived, but things happen. However, if your food isn't the right temperature, you would not be the first one :) Very quiet hotel, nice lobby and grounds. Too cold to use the pool but looked excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2014
The stay was very pleasant. The dining area was very clean and the food was exellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Decent but a little outdated

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: There was a big lion in the lobby. Kinda cute in a tacky way.
Cons: Coffee
I can really categorize the Red Lion as "just okay." Staff was fine and the facility was pretty clean. Restaurant was a better than what I imagine a Denny's would be like, though the coffee was substandard. Still, the restaurant had a full menu so this puts it ahead of other chains that just have the do it yourself waffle machines. Couple of weird things: couldn't get the thermostat to cool below 68 degrees and you can hear footsteps from above in first floor rooms. I guess if the location was super convenient, I'd stay again. It is next to the county court house so if I was unfortunate enough to have to go to court, this would be the place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wenatchee WA

Good

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Cons: Free breakfast, cleaner pool, larger bathrooms.
Location: The location was out of the way for us.
Had a pleasant stay. The pool and hot tub were good. Pool could have been cleaner. I loved the pillows.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from davis Ca

nice hotel, away from noisy streets; except some f

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Its location and the spacious rooms. The is very accommodating but seems to be stretched to their limit.
Cons: Definitely upgrading of the bathrooms, and cutting down on the outside and hall way noise.
Location: The location is great! The hotel is quite close to a lake with a nice walking trail around it; it is also close to an area of downtown with good food
the hotel is easy to get to. It is close to most places we wanted to go to. Except for the freeway noise it is a nice place to relax in. The noise from the hall ways is disturbing maybe they can put in some sealers along the door edges to cut down the hall way noise. The bathrooms could use some updating also.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Red Lion Hotel, Olympia, WA, June 2014

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: The ambiance is quite pleasing: everything is clean and well kept, including the plantings. And there is a very pleasant view from restaurant.
Cons: The food is quite good, but there is a quite narrow menu, which need expnsion.
Location: The Olympia area is not very impressive unless you really like conifers, but the downtown shops are very diverse and interesting.
This is a very pleasant, clean, and well kept hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Luxury hotel with cathode tube tv, no robes

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Architecture of building
Cons: Room service forgot shalt, ignored request for hot sauce & server asked if we wanted to carry tray into room ourselves --- no dining tables
River view turned out to be view of driveway & trees next to river
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2014 by Karla, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, all customer feedback is appreciated. I wanted to apologize for your visit not meeting your expectations, we always want to give our guests and comfortable and relaxing place to stay while they are away from home. We do hope you give us a second chance to get it right! Best, Jennifer K Sales and Catering Assistant