Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Shelton, Wa

Great hotel in downtown Olmpia.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
I choose this hotel everytime we have a girls night on the town. Walking distance to everything you'd like to do or see downtown olympia. Awesome employees, never had an issue. Very clean and quiet.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Tired old hotel in state capitol

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: The old photos throughout the building of the capitol, past governors, and citizens doing local activities was great.
Cons: Let guests use both elevators or access room from stairwell, vastly improve internet connectivity, have a bar, remove gym partner reference on website
Location: Walk-able to just about anywhere. Since there was no exercise facilities, lake was close by for walking/running. Decent breakfast.
Air-conditioning/heating unit sounded like a rocket trying to take off. Unless you try connecting to the internet before 6am or after 11pm just forget it. Windows are old so once construction starts up at 5:30am downtown you might as well get up. Of the two elevators, only one was in use for guests - good luck getting down to the lobby for breakfast once everyone else was awake. Cant access room floors from the stairwell either.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington state

Govenor Hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: I liked the cleanliness of the whole facility. The renovation of the rooms was pleasing. Breakfast was varied and excellent.
Cons: Soundproofing! We had a fellow traveler that excited to the balcony and returned the the room multiple times slamming the glass door each time.
Location: Starbucks is right across the street. Within blocks you have your choice of several good restaurants, a farmer's market, and shops.
A nice hotel right in the middle of restaurants, shops, coffee bars, etc. Rooms are large and newly decorated. Housekeeping does an excellent job. Only drawback is soundproofing is poor--balcony doors closing, showers running all can be heard. Front staff are friendly and helpful. An excellent, varied breakfast is included.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What Renovation?

Posted Feb 16, 2015
This hotel was a joke. The pipes in my bathroom (sink) were held together with tape and paper towels. The walls had patches that weren't painted, glasses were dirty. I don't see how they can claim the hotel was recently renovated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A work in process

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: The rooms have one wall that is completely glass and look out on interesting views. Higher floors and lakeside are best.
Cons: Just keep moving forward with the remainder of the work.
The hotel is in the process of transitioning from one that had "seen better days" to a newer, hipper model that doesn't just bowl over the past, but tries to hold on to the better parts. Currently they're about 3/4 of the way there and the amenities probably only deserve a 3 out of 5, but I give it a 4 because the staff was quite good and the place is moving in the right direction. It's a bit scruffy, but clean, friendly and affordable which is what matters to me.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Puyallup WA

Decent Hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2015
The place is a little run down. The ice machines were all broken at the time of my stay. The room was clean and comfortable. Decent hotel for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

Nice hotel in Olympia, WA

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Comfortable bed, clean room, friendly staff, good breakfast.
Location: There's a cute little cupcake shop next door and a park across the street. The hotel is located close to the State Capitol Building.
The staff was kind and the accommodations were clean and comfortable. Great shower pressure, which is often a problem when I stay at hotels. The continental breakfast was delicious. I'm a bit of a coffee snob and usually don't like hotel coffee. I imbibed on four cups of coffee, as it was quite tasty. I will certainly stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Tri Cities Wa

Close to capitol where I spent the day

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Proximity to capitol and was able to park at the hotel for the day
Cons: Hospitality training, fix broken fixtures ( or replace ) offer food service even if it is partnering with surrounding vendors.
Toilet did not work correctly, I had to take the lid off and adjust flapper to make it stop running ( water waste ) Staff seemed disinterested. Ice machines were out of order. Furniture in room was beat up.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Hotel was alright did not get room i booked. But other than that I guess it was alright.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Covington, WA

Good downtown location, showing its years.

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Information on hotel amenities in the room. Updated furniture. Clearer parking instructions - my husband would have paid before going in to the hotel.
Location: Washington Center for the Performing Arts is 2 blocks away. Restaurants, coffee shops nearby. Lovely park in front of the hotel.
This was our first stay at the Governor. We have always stayed at the Phoenix Inn in the past, but that a little farther down Capitol, and we wanted to be close to the Washington Center for a show we were attending. That is the positive about this hotel. it has easy access to the downtown area. Parking was a bit confusing, as it was a pay lot. We made the correct assumption that we would get some kind of parking pass upon registration, but it would be nice to have this clear beforehand. It looked like there was a breakfast area, but no information was given to us regarding this option. Nothing in the room either. We had other plans, so didn't ask, but again - something should have been said. We were on the fifth floor lakeside and had a decent view of the lake if we weren't too close to the window - that view was more on the parking lot and concrete building behind the hotel. If we looked to the left standing at the window we could see the capitol building. The room was fine, clean white linens, nice shampoo and lotion, and plenty of towels. The furnishings showed wear - chips out of the desk, creaking headboards. The bathtub leaked and had been left plugged so there was water in it. The walls are not at all soundproof. We could hear the television in the next room. It was turned off before we went to sleep, but could have been an issue if it stayed on. Their shower was very loud in the morning as well. All in all, nothing that would prevent me from staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2015 by Ryan, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your in-depth review of our hotel. We greatly appreciate all of your feedback and will relay it to the appropriate team.