Ratings based on 643 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BILLIE from WASHINGTON STATE

TOO LITTLE TIME.

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: CLOSE TO FERRIES
Cons: POSSIBLE WEBSIGHT .... I WAS EXPECTING MORE DELUX ACCOMADATIONS FOR PRICE.
Location: DIDN'T HAVE TIME FROM CHECKING IN TO CHECKING OUT TO EXPLORE
ENJOYED THE STAY AND WISHED MORE TIME TO EXPLORE THE AREA.... I NEED TO LEARN MORE ABOUT INTERNET AS OUR ROOM DIFFERENT THAT EXPECTED... I 'D HOPED FOR MORE WATER VIEW AND ACCOMADATIONS FOR THE PRICE. WOULD KNOW MORE ABOUT HOW TO BOOK ONLINE, BUT WOULD STAY AGAIN
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DO NOT BELIEVE THE PICTURES POSTED HERE

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Leaving it.
I rarely write reviews, but I figured I'd be a good samaritan and try to spare you the trouble of staying here. I looked at the pictures of the hotel here on Expedia and found them to look pretty nice. When I arrived with my gf, we found the hotel to be much akin to a Motel 6. Plus, the room that we were given was full of tobacco smoke. They switched us to another room...same problem. Even without this issue, though, the motel is not great. I would pay no more than $80 to stay here, comparable to other motels. Incidentally, we did not end up staying here, because it was so bad and instead went to the Port Angeles Inn. SO MUCH BETTER AND 30% CHEAPER! If you go there, though, make sure you get a room with a view.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J.H. from Texas

Needs a little maitnentce.

Posted Jun 14, 2014
My Mom and I stayed at the Red Lion for 4 nights. The room was nicely remodeled and had a very comfy bed. Our room was not serviced the second day we stayed but after a call to the office, fresh towels were brought. The water never stayed one temperature for showers and we was kept awake for most of the 3rd and 4th night due to thin walls and an upstairs neighbor who sounded like the were coming through the ceiling at any minute. I believe for the money spent for a room there the improvements should be made to the plumbing and possibly updating the outside of the hotel. That being said, it is the best looking hotel in Port Angeles and I would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Lakewood, WA

Nice for Victoria Walk-On Ferry

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Close to the ferry.
I booked the Red Lion as an overnight stay to catch the Black Ball Ferry to Victoria, BC as a walk-on passenger. This proved to be a great idea as the hotel is only a block from the ferry, I could leave my car on premise for $5 a day, and they have a great restaurant attached to the hotel. The room was quiet and clean. I definitely would use this hotel again and recommend it to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Great location right on Port Angeles Harbor

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: View, location.
Cons: Check-in at this hotel can be slow.
This is our second trip to this hotel; exactly the same experience both times. The building is older and shows its age in a few places but is overall well maintained and clean. The views from the harbor side rooms are fantastic. All waterfront attractions and some good dining options are in walking distance. The only thing I've noticed both times is that check-in was slow. There was a line both times and the process seemed to take several minutes with each person. Not a problem with the front desk personnel, they were pleasant and seemed very competent; maybe Red Lion's process/system is just a little slow. But overall good and we'll probably be back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Close to all the eatery in Port Angeles

Posted May 29, 2014
Location: Food! Kokopelli Grill
The staffs were great and always willing to help. They would call in 10 minutes after you check in to your room to see if everything is alright.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2014
Carpet was s bit dingy and hotel itself could use some tlc, but it was clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Spokane, WA

Better than I expected...

Posted May 12, 2014
Location: Hiway 101 Diner in Sequim was awesome. Excellent food and fun atmosphere. Highly recommended.
Room was clean and the decor was nice. Pool was very clean. Staff was very nice. Only complaint is the water pressure in shower was weak and the temperature was not hot enough. Otherwise, everything was nice. No bad smells as others have reported. Overall a good experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel in Port Angeles

Posted May 5, 2014
The Red Lion is a decent motel, quite large, convenient to the Olympic National Park and the ferry to Victoria. It is on the water (I didn't pay the extra for a water view). Lots of parking, access to the onsite restaurant and a number of local places. My room was a good size, nice shower. Not much more to say--spent less than 2 hours awake in my room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on the beach

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Great location, right on the beach, lots of restaurants in area, close to Highway connector. Very peaceful and relaxing.