Ratings based on 686 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from beijing

Beutiful location,nice staff

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Location, view, friendly staff
Cons: Everything is fine
Location: New day restraint nearby the hot sandwich is tasty,Safeway is only few hundreds yards from red lion
Waterfront,best view in port Angeles,best place to live near the Olympic park
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was close to the beach but overpriced!!!!!!!

Posted Sep 11, 2014
We stayed at this hotel because of the Red Lion name, it was a spendy room and when I pulled back the sheets for the night there was sand in the bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellingham, WA

The hotel was very clean and comfortable.

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: It was quiet, clean and roomy.
Cons: Friendlier staff!
Location: It was a business trip for me but it was close to a small sandy beach and very peaceful.
It was a pleasant hotel close to the water. The staff seemed a little unfriendly, not mean, but not very happy to do their jobs. The rooms were very very clean and welcoming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Olympia, Wa

Worth the Water view, Nice stay

Posted Sep 3, 2014
We were weary of booking Red Lion due to some reviews....but we're glad we did. While clearly an older hotel, it still has updated amenities. Flat screen tv, wifi, microwave & fridge. Had everything we needed. Clean beds, sheets, towels. Yes, as per some reviews...they have these soft very malleable pillows...so if you like firmer ones...bring your own. We didn't mind as we were able to double up taking from the other bed. Carpet for me could've been cleaner. Either a replacement is due or deeper cleaning. We brought slippers so we also didn't mind too much. We ourselves brought sand from the beach that was literally a 2 min. walk, so we probably didn't help that situation out either. Also a plus, small playground for our toddler, the port angeles pier, great small businesses & restaurants in the area. We've traveled lots, gone to many National & State parks & have had our share of stays in motels, hotels, b&b's & campsites. We don't over hype our expectations...because most important to us is a clean bed we can relax on after a long day enjoying the sites. Red Lion did that job for us. Course looking out the balcony & seeing the sun rise & set by the water is a bonus!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great Location, Hotel just OK

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Location. Easy to walk to the waterfront as well as many shops and restaurants.
Greeted by very friendly staff at check-in. Room itself was clean and appeared comfortable. Main issue with the room came at night with the AC on - the unit was VERY loud, but was too muggy/hot to not have on. Tried to order breakfast through room service and left order form outside on door handle prior to midnight (as directed), and noticed the next morning it was not picked up. Phoned the front desk and was informed that someone from the restaurant should have picked it up the previous night and since they didn't, the restaurant was contacted by the front desk to notify them of their miss. We ended up skipping breakfast at the hotel since the timing was off, which was disappointing. Finally, it would be nice if there was a designated place to take dogs to "do their business", since it's a "pet friendly" hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Decent hotel with decent amenities, Good location

Posted Sep 1, 2014
When booking through Expedia, you always end up in the back annex of the Hotel, no matter how much you pay for the room ... so be warned of this. It would be nice to be located in the main building of the hotel. Being in the back annex feels more like a motel than a 3 star hotel - because everyone can see into your room as the window for the room opens into the passageway. So you have to choose between having light in the room versus privacy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Good stay nice view. Restaurant was good too. Iceqn view was inexpensive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gig Harbor, WA

Close to ferry otherwise pretty poor

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: The location to the ferry.
Cons: Have management recapture control of their facilities to avoid such a commandeering plus do some needed upgrades to the rooms.
The management allowed their large parking lot to be commandeered by the Vintage Chevrolet Car Club who erected barriers that prevented the hotel guests from parking anywhere close to their rooms. When I asked the clerk what to do about accommodating our handicapped guests she shrugged her shoulders and suggested we try to park on the street. I removed the barricades and parked in one of the empty stalls, but was accosted by threats, catcalls, and belly bumping. I feared that the car would be damaged overnight, but the Chevy people apparently calmed down. It was a highly unpleasant experience. I am a 40 year veteran of the old car hobby and a seasoned member of 4 car clubs. Our tours are conducted with regard to the impression left on the general public. Apparently the VCCC is not so concerned. The only thing going for this hotel is its location to the Black Ball ferry. The beds are a poor excuse for support and are badly in need of replacement.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from western washington area

Stuck In Time

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Good mattress. Quick exit
Cons: The Property (land is Nice) tear the rest down and start over
Location: The ferry to go to Canada. I did not care for Port Angeles. It's just a mill town with a Industrial port to export and receive logs.
This was my first visit to Port Angeles. I thought location was the number one priority, I wanted to see the water. So, after looking the area over, decided the Red Lion was in the best place. I read the reviews. Most were mixed and on the low side. I'm not that picky, So decided to book. This was my first mistake. Honestly, I had fun, but the facility is just too old. The rooms have a strange odor. Like old clothes. my view room was of the parking lot. I guess they over booked. On a positive note, The bed was great.I slept great. The outdoor pool was freezing, but woke me up. I was only a couple of hours from a better town! Lots of homeless people in area. They seem to like the view and the docks. Sad to see this area in depression. Most restaurants are closed on Sunday in area. Limited parking. Stay away from water and drive to see it!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Location that's all this has got going for it.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: The Location
Cons: Redo rooms they are old and very dirty rugs. Talk to your staff train them to be a little friendlier.
Location: They have the Ferry Boat very close by. And a walking path that was nice to walk.
The only good thing about this Hotel is the Location to get the Ferry across to Canada. The rugs in the room looked like someone died on them. Dirty Dirty Dirty and old. The staff wasn't overly friendly,