Ratings based on 646 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
It should be able to find out same condition hotel with lower price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Average stay with mold smell in room. Motel was fairly clean and close to the port and ferry.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corvallis, Oregon

Waterfront Hotel or Curbside Hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Right on the water and next to the pier. Conveniently close to the National Park.
Cons: Clear advertising. The Breakfast Buffet was disappointing.
Location: Olympic National Park. & Victoria, BC.
I prefer to stay at Red Lion hotels because of the higher quality. I selected this hotel for this stay, because it was advertised as a waterfront hotel. When I checked in, however, they had us booked in a room in a building behind the waterfront hotel, with no view other than the parking lot and a 40' embankment next to Hwy. 101. When I complained about this, the staff offered a waterfront room at a higher rate that I originally bargained for. I didn't want to hassle this and just paid the higher rate. The room was quite nice, and being right on the water was quite an experience. So the only dissatisfaction is with the advertising. There must be a clear distinction made between a room in a waterfront hotel and a room behind a waterfront hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Rooms were nice.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
The room was very nice, furniture looked nearly new, and the twin queen beds were comfortable. The building exterior could use some sprucing up to match the nice room we had.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Good firm beds. Smoking in non-smoking rooms

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Location. the hotel is within a quick walk from several restaurants including Bella Italia. Beds. Surprisingly for a 3-star hotel, the bed was firm and comfortable. Very good omelets at the hotel's restaurant. Their Denver omelet was delicious. Cons: smoke smell. Even though the hotel is non-smoking only, the first two rooms we got had a strong smoke smell. I don't know if people smoked inside or the smoke got into the room from the outside (they were on the first floor), but either way, it was unbearable. Front-desk staff promptly gave us keys to two different rooms, on the same level. One of them had no smoke smell at all, while the other one had some, although it wasn't as bad as in the first two. Overall, only one out of 4 rooms we tried was completely smoke-free. AC problems. I didn't test the AC in the first two rooms, but in the second two, the AC unit only worked in one of the rooms. I learned from one of the staff that ACs were old are were being slowly fixed/replaced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria

Not Worth The High Price

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Good location, nice pool, and the second room was quite comfortable.
Cons: Fix or replace the outdated appliances. Just after we checked in another couple in the next room had the same loud AC experience and also got moved.
We checked into a rather dark and gloomy room with an air conditioner that made a loud howling noise. The service person who looked at it said it was too old to fix and should have been replaced, and suggested we ask for a better room. We did this and were moved to nicer room; its AC did not howl, but neither did it work. It did circulate the air a bit, so we decided to put up with it. When one pays almost $200 Canadian a night for a room one expects things to be in working order. We would not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2014 by Hannah, Hotel Management
Good afternoon~ Thank you for taking the time to review the Red Lion on Expedia. I apologize your stay did not start off a pleasant one. We are in the process up updating our AC units to assure this is not an issue in the future. I hope you will visit Red Lion again in the future. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: We were staying with our parents, so it was big enough for 4 adults and a kid (2 queen bed apartment)
Location: We visited "olympic game farm" in sequim and it was really fun.
We stayed for a day in red lion, and the experience was generally pleasant. The staff were nice, and location was very good. Rooms were clean, and the views were good (we chose the sea view). On the negative side, the facility can get little love. Our bath doors didn't close properly. Bed was uncomfortable for me. Overall, it was good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On the beach

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Waterfront location.
Location: Paved path along the waterfront for walking, jogging, biking, etc. Many dining choices within walking distance.
We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds and it met our needs. Space is tight with the desk at the foot of one of the beds. In room microwave and fridge are plusses for longer stays. The air conditioner was somewhat noisy when cranked up. The location, right on the waterfront, is a definite selling point. Overall, the room was pricy ( $200) for the amenities. Pets are $15/night extra.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Need free breakfast. Environment is not so clean. .…
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2014 by Karla, Hotel Management
We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to rate our hotel based on the experience during your stay. You are a valued guest and we do hope that you will stay with Red Lion Hotels again in the future
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
This motel was located next to the ferry system. The resurant food was excellent the staff was very friendly. It was a wonderful stay.