Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Weekenders

Charming

Posted Nov 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
It's age is why it's charming. It is a no-frills place - no cups, shampoo, lotion, hair dryer, etc in the room, but we knew that going in from prior reviews. Very good off-season price. Wonderful walk to Lake Michigan and back. Hot tub was very hot, which was nice. Would visit again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Ladies weekend

Posted Oct 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
The food was fantastic in the dining room. Wish I could say the same for the rooms. This formerly grand place needs to be renovated....ASAP! We reserved two lake view rooms with, per description, enough room to sleep five adults and a common area to play cards and games. Also two bathrooms. What we ended up with was a road view, three small rooms joined together with a sink hanging off the wall in two rooms, (no hand towels or soap) and a full bath in the third unit. Very ratty. I was quite embarrassed as I suggested this place and my husband graciously booked this and paid for it, off season and WAY overpriced.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Don and Karen

Quaint - relaxing!

Posted Oct 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
If you are looking for a quaint get-away - free from the hussle and bussle of everyday life - do yourself a favor and stay at the Portlage Lake Inn.This Inn is amazing! Relax in a white rocker on the wrap around porch and enjoy the view of the beautiful serene Portgage Lake. Staff are friendly and accommodating and not to forget to mention that the food is fabulous! We are already looking forward to our next visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great setting

Posted Oct 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
We endulged ourselfs in a fall color drive and I found this gem through hotels.com along Rt.22 While as others have stated it has seen better times its location and charm make up for it. While the service is friendly and responsive the room for example only had a bar of soap - nothing else (no shampoo, etc., no tissue, no hair dryer). Of the 2 heaters in the room (temperatures had dropped below 40's and we arrived in a hail/cold rain) only one was working but thankfully enough the set to full heat was plenty enough to keep us cozy. The elevator is the slowest in North America (they warn you and it is indeed a 3+ minutes round trip for calling it from and taking it to the third floor.) Nothing though beats the settings, looks, and view (if you happen to get a lake facing room.) We didn't use the restaurant and skipped breakfast there in the morning as it didn't seem to be anything special (no lunch or brunch even on Sunday.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
. The rooms need a little work, but you can't beat the location
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Not satisfied

Posted Sep 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
Room we got was not what we booked, it was missing basic amenities like Shampoo, TV, bed side lamps etc. rooms had a beds and chests(with stale hot dog buns from last stay) toilet was clogged.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Portage Point Inn

Posted Aug 8, 2012
Location: Nice view of the lake.
Hotel has not been maintained. Carpet in loose and stained, rooms are dreary and uncomfortable.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Lj

Posted Aug 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very interesting place and in it's day I am sure it was fabulous. We found it to be very run down and out of date. Not what we we expected for the area. Service was great. Friendly staff but slow!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
Great location for lake play time. Hotel is quaint but needs some maintenance. Owner and staff make up for shortcoming in hotel mtc.